MacCárthaigh the ace for Naomh Abán

NAOMH ABÁN safely moved past Kiskeam in an exciting Cork Premier IFC fourth round replay at Macroom.

Guilty of letting control slip in the closing stages of the drawn game, Naomh Abán made no mistake this time.

A winning margin of five points mirrors the Gaeltacht men’s superiority, though it took a closing 10 minute flourish fto divide the sides. A masterly display of finishing from top marksman Shane MacCárthaigh, who contributed a 0-8, from play and placed balls proved crucial to the outcome.

Though David O’Leary pointed Kiskeam ahead inside 20 seconds, a slow burning affair developed with two well matched sides struggling for supremacy. Matters improved significantly during the second quarter, Mike Herlihy’s back to back points for Kiskeam sandwiched by a MacCarthaigh pair to tie matters for the fourth occasion.

The probing runs of Herlihy, well supported by Joseph Dennehy, Eamon O’Mahony and Niall Cronin, kept Kiskeam well in the picture. Yet they found it difficult to harvest scores. Naomh Abán finished the half in fine fettle, MacCárthaigh and Michéal Ó Laoire on target to force a 0-6 to o-4 interval advantage.

Again the sides traded points after the resumption, but the Ballyvourney outfit were hindered on inaccuracy up front that yielded a total of 14 wides by the end of the hour.And Kiskeam appeared to grab a timely morale booster in the 42nd min, David Scannell’s sideline ball found the Herlihy who made inroads from the end line to centre and the hard working Cronin flicked home to goal and secure a 1-5 to 0-7 grip.

Naomh Abán possessed the will to produce an immediate response as the play of Colm de hÍde, Antaine Ó’Loinsigh and Michéal Ó Laoighaire put an authorative stamp on the proceedings. Stepping forward, Micháeal O’Cronín, Artur Haskus and MacCárthaigh pointed to put some light between the pair.

Kiskeam pressed in search of a lifesaver with Scannell shooting across the face of the goalmouth. Any further advances were blotted out by a secure Naomh Ábán rearguard. At the opposite end, MacCárthaigh confirmed his side’s position in a quarter-final against Newmarket.

Scorers for Naomh Abán: S MacCárthaigh 0-8(0-3f, 0-1’45), M Ó Croinín 0-2, A Hankus 0-2, D Ó Suillebhain 0-2, M Ó Laoghaire 0-1.

Kiskeam scorers: M Herlihy 0-4, N Cronin 1-1, D O’Leary and B Dennehy 0-1 each.

NAOMH ABÁN: S Ó hUidhir; Amhlaoibh Ó Loinsigh, T Ó Scanaill, S Ó Mathuna; C de hIde, Antaine Ó Loinsigh, S Ó Riada; A Hankus, M Ó Laoghaire; D Croinín, M Ó Croinín, S Ó Laoire; D Ó Suilleabháin, J MacCárthaigh, Shane MacCárthaigh.

Sub: A Ó Cronín for J MacCarthaigh(54).

KISKEAM: D Cronin; D J Casey, D Lenihan, M Casey; A J O’Connor, J Dennehy, S Linehan; E O’Mahony, P O’Leary; N Cronin, B Dennehy S O’Leary; D Scannell, D O’Leary, M Herlihy.

Subs: G Casey for S O’Leary(38).

Referee: D Farrell (Mitchelstown).

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.