Ryan sisters fire Déise to title

WATERFORD overcame Cork’s second team to be crowned Munster IFC champions and lift their third successive trophy in the curtain-raiser to the senior final.

Munster Ladies IFC

Cork went ahead 0-3 to 0-0 six minutes in but Waterford soon sprung to life with points from siblings Sinead and Michelle Ryan, and Linda and Aileen Wall.

The Reds were contained for most of the half and Waterford led 1-9 to 0-4 at the break courtesy of a goal by midfielder Michelle McGrath.

Despite a comeback by Cork in the second half thanks to Roisín O’Sullivan, Aisling Hutchinson and free-taker Claire Keohane, the experience of the 2010 All-Ireland champions told. They now take on Fermanagh in the All-Ireland round-robin series, while Cork continue their quest for glory in the Aisling McGing Memorial Cup.

Scorers for Waterford: S Ryan 0-7, M McGrath 1-2, L Wall, A Wall, M Ryan (2fs) 0-3 each.

Scorers for Cork: C Keohane 0-5 (4fs), R O’Sullivan, L Cronin, O Finn 0-2 each, S Twohig, J Luddy, E Ryan 0-1 each.

WATERFORD: A Jordan; N Dunphy, G Kenneally, G Enright; M Wall, M Foley, L Ryan; E Power, M McGrath; M Liston, M Ryan, T Fitzgerald; L Wall, S Ryan, A Wall.

Subs: K Hannon for M Liston (49), F Morrissey for T Fitzgerald, L Hogan for M Foley (both 57).

CORK: M O’Brien; S O’Reilly, N O’Keeffe, E Harrington; P Murphy, R O’Mahony, R O’Sullivan; A Hutching, J Luddy; S Twohig, E Ahern, L Cronin; O Finn, E Ryan, C Keohane.

Subs: L Curtin for P Murphy (25), D Downey for E Ahern (HT), K Coakley for E Ryan (53).

Referee: J Mullins (Limerick).

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.224 s