Counihan makes six changes for semi-final clash with Waterford

CORK boss Conor Counihan has made six changes for Sunday’s Munster SFC semi-final against Waterford from the team that defeated Clare in last month’s quarter-final.

Douglas duo Eoin Cotter and Eoin Cadogan have been named in the corner-back positions, with experienced pairing John Miskella and Paudie Kissane drafted into the half-back line. Ray Carey, Jamie O’Sullivan, Noel O’Leary and Denis O’Sullivan are the quartet to make way. Elsewhere Fiachra Lynch starts at left half-forward, while Paul Kerrigan is named at left corner-forward, as Pearse O’Neill and David Goold drop out of the team.

Cotter and Lynch will both be making their starting debuts at senior intercounty championship level.

Brian Dooher will lead Tyrone out for their Ulster SFC clash with Monaghan on Sunday in his 16thchampionship campaign, after being named at right half-forward in the starting line-up by manager Mickey Harte last night.

Corner-forward Mark Donnelly is the only Red Hands championship newcomer while Philip Jordan is included at wing back, having toyed with retirement a few weeks back. Full-back Justin McMahon has been ruled out by injury, but his brother Joe is a surprise inclusion in the substitutes, despite suffering a broken jaw in a club game recently.

Galway manager John McIntyre has handed out two championship debuts for tomorrow night’s Leinster SHC clash with Westmeath in Mullingar. Johnny Coen and Barry Daly, who formed a midfield partnership in last September’s All-Ireland U21 decider, are named at right half-back and right half-forward, respectively.

The Kildare team to play Meath in Sunday’s Leinster SFC quarter-final shows two changes from the one that cruised to victory over Wicklow. Eamonn Callaghan and James Kavanagh both return to the line-up in attack, with Pádraig O’Neill and Ronan Sweeney missing out. Defender Mikey Conway makes a long-awaited return to championship fare after being named amongst the substitutes, having not played since damaging his cruciate knee ligament against Wicklow in the final round of the 2009 All-Ireland qualifiers.

Kerry manager John Meyler has made two changes for tomorrow’s Christy Ring Cup final against Wicklow with Padraig O’Grady replacing Tom Murnane in defence while Mike Conway comes into the full-forward line instead of James Flaherty.

The Kingdom junior footballers have made three switches for their Munster semi-final against Limerick tomorrow evening with Colin O’Mahony, Mike Coakley and Michael Brennan all introduced instead of Brian McGuire, Adrian Greaney and JB Spillane.

CORK (SF v Waterford): A Quirke; E Cotter, M Shields, E Cadogan; G Canty, J Miskella, P Kissane; A O’Connor, A Walsh; C Sheehan, P Kelly, F Lynch; D Goulding, D O’Connor, P Kerrigan.

TYRONE (SF v Monaghan): P McConnell; M Swift, C McCarron, R McMenamin; D Harte, C Gormley, P Jordan; A Cassidy, S Cavanagh; B Dooher, B McGuigan, P Harte; M Penrose, S O’Neill, M Donnelly.

GALWAY (SH v Westmeath): J Skehill; D Joyce, D Collins, F Moore; J Coen, J Lee, A Cullinane; D Burke, K Hynes; B Daly, C Donnellan, A Smith; D Hayes, J Gantley, A Callinan.

KILDARE (SF v Meath): S Connolly; A Mac Lochlainn, M Foley, H McGrilllen; G White, B Flanagan, E Bolton; T O’Connor, H Lynch; M O’Flaherty, E O’Flaherty, E Callaghan; A Smith, J Doyle, J Kavanagh.

KERRY (SH v Wicklow): B Rochford; P O’Grady, J Godley, E Fitzgerald; C Harris, J Casey, A Keane; D Dineen, J Griffin; D O’Connell, G O’Brien, M Boyle; S Nolan, M Conway, J Egan. Subs: JB O’Halloran, J Flaherty, L Boyle, J Fitzgerald, A Royle, B Murphy, P Costelloe, C Harty, P Boyle, P Monson, P O’Keeffe, A Boyle, D Wallace, B Brosnan, D Fitzell, D Delaney, A Fealy, J Leahy.

KERRY (JF v Limerick): S O’Ciardubháin; K O’Dwyer, S Brosnan, C O’Mahony; E Hickson, B Costello, J Walsh; M Coakley, A Garnett; G Sayers, M Murphy, M Brennan; G O’Grady, B Poff, A Fitzgerald. Subs: P O’Sullivan, F Courtney, P Kennelly, P Kilkenny, T McGoldrick, P O’Connor, K O’Connor, E Walsh.

LIMERICK (JF v Kerry): C Wallace; M Fitzgerald, A O’Sullivan, D Finnerty; C Ryan, P Martin, E Mulcahy; E Horan, P Horan; B O’Sulliavn, J Bourke, T Scanlon; R Lynch, G Noonan, T Collins.

More in this section

CourtsGaaPlace: DouglasPlace: MullingarPerson: CounihanPerson: Conor CounihanPerson: Eoin CotterPerson: Eoin CadoganPerson: John MiskellaPerson: Paudie KissanePerson: Ray CareyPerson: Jamie O’SullivanPerson: Noel O’LearyPerson: Denis O’SullivanPerson: Fiachra LynchPerson: Paul KerriganPerson: Pearse O’NeillPerson: David GooldPerson: CotterPerson: LynchPerson: Brian DooherPerson: TyronePerson: Mickey HartePerson: Mark DonnellyPerson: Philip JordanPerson: Justin McMahonPerson: JoePerson: John McIntyrePerson: Johnny CoenPerson: Barry DalyPerson: Eamonn CallaghanPerson: James KavanaghPerson: Padraig O’NeillPerson: Ronan SweeneyPerson: Mikey ConwayPerson: John MeylerPerson: Padraig O’GradyPerson: Tom MurnanePerson: Mike ConwayPerson: James FlahertyPerson: Colin O’MahonyPerson: Mike CoakleyPerson: Michael BrennanPerson: Brian McGuirePerson: Adrian GreaneyPerson: JB SpillanePerson: CorkPerson: A QuirkePerson: E CotterPerson: M ShieldsPerson: E CadoganPerson: G CantyPerson: J MiskellaPerson: P KissanePerson: A O’ConnorPerson: C SheehanPerson: P KellyPerson: F LynchPerson: D GouldingPerson: D O’ConnorPerson: P KerriganPerson: P McConnellPerson: M SwiftPerson: C McCarronPerson: R McMenaminPerson: D HartePerson: C GormleyPerson: P JordanPerson: A CassidyPerson: S CavanaghPerson: B DooherPerson: B McGuiganPerson: P HartePerson: M PenrosePerson: S O’NeillPerson: M DonnellyPerson: J SkehillPerson: D JoycePerson: D CollinsPerson: F MoorePerson: J CoenPerson: J LeePerson: A CullinanePerson: D BurkePerson: K HynesPerson: B DalyPerson: C DonnellanPerson: A SmithPerson: D HayesPerson: J GantleyPerson: A CallinanPerson: KildarePerson: S ConnollyPerson: A Mac LochlainnPerson: M FoleyPerson: H McGrilllenPerson: G WhitePerson: B FlanaganPerson: E BoltonPerson: T O’ConnorPerson: H LynchPerson: M O’FlahertyPerson: E O’FlahertyPerson: E CallaghanPerson: J DoylePerson: J KavanaghPerson: KerryPerson: B RochfordPerson: P O’GradyPerson: J GodleyPerson: E FitzgeraldPerson: C HarrisPerson: J CaseyPerson: A KeanePerson: D DineenPerson: J GriffinPerson: D O’ConnellPerson: G O’BrienPerson: M BoylePerson: S NolanPerson: M ConwayPerson: J EganPerson: JB O’HalloranPerson: J FlahertyPerson: L BoylePerson: J FitzgeraldPerson: A RoylePerson: B MurphyPerson: P CostelloePerson: C HartyPerson: P BoylePerson: P MonsonPerson: P O’KeeffePerson: A BoylePerson: D WallacePerson: B BrosnanPerson: D FitzellPerson: D DelaneyPerson: A FealyPerson: J LeahyPerson: S O’CiardubháinPerson: K O’DwyerPerson: S BrosnanPerson: C O’MahonyPerson: E HicksonPerson: B CostelloPerson: J WalshPerson: M CoakleyPerson: A GarnettPerson: G SayersPerson: M MurphyPerson: M BrennanPerson: G O’GradyPerson: B PoffPerson: A FitzgeraldPerson: P O’SullivanPerson: F CourtneyPerson: P KennellyPerson: P KilkennyPerson: T McGoldrickPerson: P O’ConnorPerson: K O’ConnorPerson: E WalshPerson: LimerickPerson: C WallacePerson: M FitzgeraldPerson: A O’SullivanPerson: D FinnertyPerson: C RyanPerson: P MartinPerson: E MulcahyPerson: E HoranPerson: P HoranPerson: B O’SulliavnPerson: J BourkePerson: T ScanlonPerson: R LynchPerson: G NoonanPerson: T CollinsEvent: Munster SFCEvent: Ulster SFCEvent: Red HandsEvent: Leinster SHCEvent: Leinster SFCEvent: 2009 All-IrelandEvent: Christy Ring CupEvent: MunsterOrganisation: WaterfordOrganisation: ClareOrganisation: KildareOrganisation: MeathOrganisation: KerryOrganisation: LimerickOrganisation: SFOrganisation: MonaghanOrganisation: WestmeathOrganisation: Wicklow
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.206 s