Kerry call on Enright for Limerick clash

KERRY defender Shane Enright will make his first senior championship start in Saturday’s Munster semi-final against Limerick, while manager Jack O’Connor has also recalled Anthony Maher at midfield for the Gaelic Grounds clash.

Enright is named at corner-back and replaces the suspended Tomás Ó Sé. Maher, who missed the opening win over Tipperary due to flu, is named at midfield instead of the injured Seamus Scanlon in the only other change.

Limerick boss Maurice Horan has handed out three championship debuts for the game. Barry Fitzpatrick will captain the team from left half-back, Thomas Lee starts at midfield while James Kelly will play at centre-forward. Kelly’s older brother Stephen and Mark O’Riordan were both injury doubts but they have been named at left half-forward and left corner-back respectively.

Ballymun Kickhams player James McCarthy will make his senior championship bow for Dublin at right half-back in Sunday’s Leinster SFC quarter-final against Laois. McCarthy’s inclusion sees Barry Cahill switch to midfield with Denis Bastick making way while Rory O’Carroll returns from studying in France to start at full-back instead of Paul Brogan. The final switch is in attack where Alan Brogan comes back from suspension to replace Tomas Quinn. The CCCC withdrew the charge against Philly McMahon for the tunnel bust-up with Cork’s Michael Shields in the league final and he takes his place in the Dublin side at corner-back. Laois are unchanged from the team that defeated Longford in the opening round.

Meanwhile Carlow footballer JJ Smith has had a whopping four-month ban confirmed by GAA disciplinary chiefs after he was sent off against Longford in an NFL Division 3 clash in March. Smith originally requested a personal hearing after he was reported for a headbutting offence on March 13 but has now decided not to appeal. And the Rathvilly clubman will not be eligible again for inter-county football until July 2 after his eight-week ban was doubled for a repeat offence within a 48-week period. Smith, red-carded against Derry in last year’s qualifiers, will now miss the Leinster SFC quarter-final clash with Louth on June 12 in Portlaoise and a potential provincial semi-final or an All-Ireland qualifier.

KERRY (SF v Limerick): B Kealy; S Enright, M Ó Sé, T O’Sullivan; A O’Mahony, E Brosnan, K Young; A Maher, B Sheehan; Darran O’Sullivan, Declan O’Sullivan, D Walsh; C Cooper, K Donaghy, K O’Leary. Subs: T Mac an tSaoir, P Galvin, D Bohane, BJ Keane, M Quirke, P Reidy, D Geaney, A O’Connell, N O’Mahony, P Crowley, D Casey, B McGuire, J Buckley.

LIMERICK (SF v Kerry): B Scanlon; S Lavin, S Gallagher, M O’Riordan; P Ranahan, J McCarthy, B Fitzpatrick; T Lee, J Donovan; S Buckley, J Kelly, S Kelly; G Collins, J Cooke, I Ryan. Subs: G Ryan, J Riordan, M Sheehan, M McCormack, E Joy, P Kinnerk, E Hogan, E O’Connor, J Mullane, S O’Carroll, L Costello.

DUBLIN (SF v Laois): S Cluxton; P McMahon, Rory O’Carroll, M Fitzsimons; J McCarthy, G Brennan, K Nolan; MD MacAuley, B Cahill; P Flynn, K McManamon, B Cullen; A Brogan, D Connolly, B Brogan.

LAOIS (SF v Dublin): E Culliton; C Healy, K Meaney, M Timmons; D Strong, S Julian, P O’Leary; C Begley, B Quigley; D Carroll, J O’Loughlin, N Donoher; R Munnelly, B Sheehan, MJ Tierney.

More in this section

courtsgaaplace: franceplace: portlaoiseperson: enrightperson: shane enrightperson: jack o’connorperson: anthony maherperson: tomás ó séperson: maherperson: seamus scanlonperson: maurice horanperson: barry fitzpatrickperson: thomas leeperson: james kellyperson: kellyperson: stephenperson: mark o’riordanperson: james mccarthyperson: mccarthyperson: barry cahillperson: denis bastickperson: rory o’carrollperson: paul broganperson: alan broganperson: tomás quinnperson: philly mcmahonperson: michael shieldsperson: jj smithperson: smithperson: kerryperson: s enrightperson: m ó séperson: t o’sullivanperson: a o’mahonyperson: e brosnanperson: k youngperson: a maherperson: b sheehanperson: darran o’sullivanperson: declan o’sullivanperson: d walshperson: c cooperperson: k donaghyperson: k o’learyperson: t mac an tsaoirperson: d bohaneperson: bj keaneperson: m quirkeperson: p reidyperson: d geaneyperson: a o’connellperson: n o’mahonyperson: p crowleyperson: d caseyperson: b mcguireperson: j buckleyperson: limerickperson: b scanlonperson: s lavinperson: s gallagherperson: m o’riordanperson: p ranahanperson: j mccarthyperson: b fitzpatrickperson: t leeperson: j donovanperson: s buckleyperson: j kellyperson: s kellyperson: g collinsperson: j cookeperson: i ryanperson: g ryanperson: j riordanperson: m sheehanperson: m mccormackperson: e joyperson: p kinnerkperson: e hoganperson: e o’connorperson: j mullaneperson: s o’carrollperson: l costelloperson: dublinperson: s cluxtonperson: p mcmahonperson: m fitzsimonsperson: g brennanperson: k nolanperson: md macauleyperson: b cahillperson: p flynnperson: k mcmanamonperson: b cullenperson: a broganperson: d connollyperson: b broganperson: e cullitonperson: c healyperson: k meaneyperson: m timmonsperson: d strongperson: s julianperson: p o’learyperson: c begleyperson: b quigleyperson: d carrollperson: j o’loughlinperson: n donoherperson: r munnellyperson: mj tierneyevent: munsterevent: leinster sfc quarterevent: leinster sfc quarter-finalevent: all-irelandorganisation: limerickorganisation: tipperaryorganisation: dublinorganisation: laoisorganisation: ccccorganisation: corkorganisation: longfordorganisation: gaaorganisation: rathvillyorganisation: derryorganisation: louthorganisation: sforganisation: kerry

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.