Sheehan gives Cork a lift ahead of final clash

CIARAN SHEEHAN has been named in the Cork team for Sunday’s Allianz Division 1 final against Dublin.

The forward had reportedly been a doubt due to an ankle injury picked up in a club championship game on Monday night. However, it’s understood the problem wasn’t as bad as first feared.

But while there was good news for Sheehan, Aidan Walsh and Paul Kerrigan have not been included in the starting line-up due to hamstring injuries.

All Star midfielder Walsh retired hurt in the U21s’ All-Ireland semi-final defeat to Galway last Saturday.

Kerrigan picked up his problem with Nemo Rangers last weekend.

In all, Conor Counihan’s team for Croke Park shows four changes from the team that beat Armagh.

As Eoin Cadogan is suspended, Jamie O’Sullivan comes into the full-back line.

Walsh’s midfield spot is taken by Nicholas Walsh while Donncha O’Connor, who grabbed two goals as a second-half substitute against Armagh, replaces Fiachra Lynch.

Kerrigan’s spot in the forward line is taken by Patrick Kelly, who is named at centre-forward.

Meanwhile, Barry Cahill has reverted to a more customary wing-back berth as Dublin show six changes to the team that drew with Galway for Sunday’s game.

The St Brigid’s man was rested for the game against Galway after picking up a shin injury in the home win over Down. He replaces Paul Casey in the half-back line, with Stephen Cluxton taking over in goal from Michael Savage in goal.

Michael Fitzsimons returns to the full-back line in the place of Nicky Devereux with Macauley chosen at midfield instead of Sean Murray.

Kevin McManamon and Tomás Quinn come into the forwards for Pat Burke and the banned Alan Brogan.

Bryan Cullen captains the team and now looks set to be handed the armband for the championship.

Meanwhile, Denis Glennon and Kieran Gavin have been included in the Westmeath team for the Division 3 final against Louth tomorrow.

Glennon (hip) and Gavin (ankle) were both forced off against Offaly.

CORK (v Dublin): K O’Halloran; R Carey, M Shields, J O’Sullivan; N O’Leary, J Miskella, P Kissane; A O’Connor, N Murphy; P O’Neill, P Kelly, F Goold; D Goulding, D O’Connor, C Sheehan.

DUBLIN (v Cork): S Cluxton; M Fitzsimons, P Brogan, P McMahon; B Cahill, G Brennan, K Nolan; D Bastick, MD Macauley; P Flynn, K McManamon, B Cullen; M Quinn, D Connolly, B Brogan.

WESTMEATH (v Louth): G Connaughton; F Boyle, K Gavin, J Gaffey; G Egan, A Finnan, D Harte; B Murtagh, D Corroon; P Sharry, David Glennon, C Lynam; P Greville, J Dolan, Denis Glennon.

Subs: D Quinn, R English, C Jordan, K Maguire, M Curley, D Daly, P Tormey, S Quinn, A Giles, K Martin, F Wilson.

KERRY (SH v Kildare, Christy Ring Cup): B Rochford; J Godley, T Murnane, C Harris; J Casey, M Conway, P O’Grady; D Dinneen, J Egan; M Boyle (Capt), G O’Brien, S Nolan; D O’Connell, A Boyle, J Flaherty.

More in this section

courtsgaaplace: galwayplace: croke parkperson: sheehanperson: ciarán sheehanperson: aidan walshperson: paul kerriganperson: walshperson: kerriganperson: conor counihanperson: eoin cadoganperson: jamie o’sullivanperson: nicholas walshperson: donncha o’connorperson: fiachra lynchperson: patrick kellyperson: barry cahillperson: paul caseyperson: stephen cluxtonperson: michael savageperson: michael fitzsimonsperson: nicky devereuxperson: macauleyperson: sean murrayperson: kevin mcmanamonperson: tomás quinnperson: pat burkeperson: alan broganperson: bryan cullenperson: denis glennonperson: kieran gavinperson: glennonperson: gavinperson: corkperson: k o’halloranperson: r careyperson: m shieldsperson: j o’sullivanperson: n o’learyperson: j miskellaperson: p kissaneperson: a o’connorperson: n murphyperson: p o’neillperson: p kellyperson: f gooldperson: d gouldingperson: d o’connorperson: c sheehanperson: dublinperson: s cluxtonperson: m fitzsimonsperson: p broganperson: p mcmahonperson: b cahillperson: g brennanperson: k nolanperson: d bastickperson: md macauleyperson: p flynnperson: k mcmanamonperson: b cullenperson: m quinnperson: d connollyperson: b broganperson: g connaughtonperson: f boyleperson: k gavinperson: j gaffeyperson: g eganperson: a finnanperson: d harteperson: b murtaghperson: d corroonperson: p sharryperson: david glennonperson: c lynamperson: p grevilleperson: j dolanperson: d quinnperson: r englishperson: c jordanperson: k maguireperson: m curleyperson: d dalyperson: p tormeyperson: s quinnperson: a gilesperson: k martinperson: f wilsonperson: kerryperson: j godleyperson: t murnaneperson: c harrisperson: j caseyperson: m conwayperson: p o’gradyperson: d dinneenperson: j eganperson: m boyleperson: g o’brienperson: s nolanperson: d o’connellperson: boyleperson: j flahertyevent: u21s’ all-irelandevent: christy ring cuporganisation: corkorganisation: dublinorganisation: nemo rangersorganisation: armaghorganisation: galwayorganisation: downorganisation: louthorganisation: offalyorganisation: westmeathorganisation: kildareorganisation: rochford

Join us for a special evening of Cheltenham chat on Friday March 12 at 6.30pm with racing legend and Irish Examiner columnist Ruby Walsh, Irish Examiner racing correspondent Tommy Lyons, and former champion jockey and tv presenter Mick Fitzgerald, author of Better than Sex.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Home Delivery


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.