Counihan stays with same side

CONOR COUNIHAN has named an unchanged side from the team that beat Monaghan a fortnight ago for Cork’s Allianz NFL Division 1 game tomorrow night against Down.

Counihan stays with same side

As they look for a third win from four games, last year’s All-Ireland winning manager has kept faith with his charges for the rematch of last year’s final. The team for Páirc Uí Rinn includes 11 of the team that overcame James McCartan’s Down, with goalkeeper Alan Quirke and captain Graham Canty out through injury (as are Anthony Lynch and John Miskella).

Noel O’Leary is back from his four-week suspension and is expected to be named among the substitutes while Paul Kerrigan has only recently returned to the panel after Nemo’s All-Ireland club semi-final defeat to St Brigid’s last month.

Kerry have delayed naming their team for the visit of Galway until this evening but the indications are Tom O’Sullivan will be named as a substitute and Killian Young will fill in for the suspended Marc Ó Sé at full-back.

For tomorrow evening’s game against Antrim, Tyrone manager Mickey Harte has made five changes to the team that lost last weekend’s McKenna Cup final to Derry. Harte alternates his goalkeepers with John Curran coming in for Pascal McConnell while Stephen O’Neill returns to the attack. Dermot Carlin, Davy Harte and Colm Cavanagh come in for Colm McCarron, Aidan McCrory and Martin Swift.

Armagh captain Steven McDonnell is a slight doubt for his county’s trip to play Mayo in Castlebar on Sunday.

The Killeavy man sustained a back injury last weekend but remains hopeful of starting as his team-mate Billie Joe Padden faces his native county for the first time in Orchard colours.

Laois veteran Colm Parkinson has left Justin McNulty’s panel after only returning to the inter-county set-up in January following his inter-county retirement in 2009. The Portlaoise man has not featured in the O’Moore’s opening three Division 2 wins.

McNulty faces off with his former Armagh team-mate Kieran McGeeney in Newbridge on Sunday and the latter will have Daryl Flynn available after he served his five-month suspension. Eamonn Callaghan is expected to be in the shake-up for a start in the Division 2 derby.

Former Mayo corner-forward Austin O’Malley is set to make his first bow for Mick O’Dwyer’s Wicklow in this Sunday’s Division 3 clash with Longford after transferring clubs from Dublin to the Garden County.

Offaly boss Tom Cribben is hoping centre-back Ross Brady will be cleared to resume football today after being out for five weeks with a broken jaw.

CORK (SF v Down): K O’Halloran; R Carey, E Cadogan, M Shields; C O’Driscoll, P Kissane, D O’Sullivan; A O’Connor, A Walsh; F Goold, P Kelly, P O’Neill; D Goulding, C Sheehan, D O’Connor.

TYRONE (v Antrim): J Curran; PJ Quinn, D McCaul, D Carlin; D Harte, C Gormley, R McMenamin; K Hughes, A Cassidy; C Cavanagh, B McGuigan, S Cavanagh; M Penrose, S O’Neill, O Mulligan.

WEXFORD (SF v Westmeath): A Masterson; N Murphy, G Molloy, J Wadding; B Malone, D Murphy, A Doyle; R Quinlivan, D Waters; S O’Neill, R Barry, C Morris; C Lyng, S McLoughlin, B Brosnan.

WICKLOW (NFL v Longford) : J Flynn; P Higgins, S Kelly, C Hyland; P Dalton, B McGrath, D Hayden; R Finn, J Stafford; T Hannon, A O’Malley, JP Dalton; P Earls, S Furlong, L Glynn.

MAYO (U21 v Roscommon): R Hennelly; S McHale, K Keane, K Rodgers; C Crowe, D Kirby, E O’Reilly; S Nally, D Geraghty; M Forde, C Freeman, A Farrell; C Dempsey, A O’Shea, C O’Connor.

TIPPERARY (SF v Waterford): P Fitzgerald; A Morrissey, P Codd, C McDonald, N Curran, L Egan, D Dwyer, B Jones, S Grogan, B Fox, G Hannigan, P Acheson, C Sweeney, P Austin, B Grogan.

More in this section

courtsgaaplace: galwayplace: castlebarplace: newbridgeplace: dublinplace: garden countyperson: counihanperson: conor counihanperson: james mccartanperson: alan quirkeperson: graham cantyperson: anthony lynchperson: john miskellaperson: noel o’learyperson: paul kerriganperson: nemoperson: kerryperson: tom o’sullivanperson: killian youngperson: marc ó séperson: mickey harteperson: harteperson: john curranperson: pascal mcconnellperson: stephen o’neillperson: dermot carlinperson: davy harteperson: colm cavanaghperson: colm mccarronperson: aidan mccroryperson: martin swiftperson: steven mcdonnellperson: killeavyperson: billie joe paddenperson: colm parkinsonperson: justin mcnultyperson: o’mooreperson: mcnultyperson: kieran mcgeeneyperson: daryl flynnperson: eamonn callaghanperson: austin o’malleyperson: mick o’dwyerperson: wicklowperson: tom cribbenperson: ross bradyperson: k o’halloranperson: r careyperson: e cadoganperson: m shieldsperson: c o’driscollperson: p kissaneperson: d o’sullivanperson: a o’connorperson: f gooldperson: p kellyperson: p o’neillperson: d gouldingperson: c sheehanperson: d o’connorperson: tyroneperson: j curranperson: pj quinnperson: d mccaulperson: d carlinperson: d harteperson: c gormleyperson: r mcmenaminperson: k hughesperson: a cassidyperson: c cavanaghperson: b mcguiganperson: s cavanaghperson: m penroseperson: s o’neillperson: o mulliganperson: n murphyperson: g molloyperson: j waddingperson: b maloneperson: d murphyperson: a doyleperson: r quinlivanperson: d watersperson: r barryperson: c morrisperson: c lyngperson: s mcloughlinperson: b brosnanperson: j flynnperson: p higginsperson: s kellyperson: c hylandperson: p daltonperson: b mcgrathperson: d haydenperson: r finnperson: j staffordperson: t hannonperson: a o’malleyperson: jp daltonperson: p earlsperson: s furlongperson: l glynnperson: mayoperson: r hennellyperson: s mchaleperson: k keaneperson: k rodgersperson: c croweperson: d kirbyperson: e o’reillyperson: s nallyperson: d geraghtyperson: m fordeperson: c freemanperson: a farrellperson: c dempseyperson: a o’sheaperson: c o’connorperson: p fitzgeraldperson: a morrisseyperson: p coddperson: c mcdonaldperson: n curranperson: l eganperson: d dwyerperson: b jonesperson: s groganperson: b foxperson: g hanniganperson: p achesonperson: c sweeneyperson: p austinperson: b groganevent: mckenna cup finalorganisation: monaghanorganisation: corkorganisation: allianzorganisation: downorganisation: páirc uí rinnorganisation: st brigidorganisation: antrimorganisation: tyroneorganisation: armaghorganisation: mayoorganisation: longfordorganisation: offalyorganisation: sforganisation: wexfordorganisation: wickloworganisation: nflorganisation: u21organisation: roscommonorganisation: waterford

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Discover the

Install our free app today

Available on


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.