Bergin’s brace boosts Roscrea

TWO quick-fire second-half goals from full-forward Jamie Bergin settled Saturday’s Munster Vocational Schools SAHC final as Roscrea VS claimed the title for the second time in three seasons.

Roscrea, beaten All-Ireland finalists in 2009, lost to Limerick’s Hazelwood College in last year’s provincial semi-final but returned to claim Munster honours with a win over Borrisokane CC in an all-Tipperary affair at Dolla.

First-half goals from Daniel Cleary and Offaly minor star Eoin Ryan, courtesy of a blistering 20m free, helped Roscrea lead 2-6 to 0-7 at half-time.

Borrisokane, led by full-forward and leading scorer Shane Dooley, hit the opening point of the second half to hint at a possible revival but those hopes were crushed by a brace of Bergin goals.

Bergin bagged his first two minutes after the restart and in the 36th minute he beat Borrisokane goalkeeper Eanna McLoughney to a long ball and finished to the net with an overhead finish.

Those goals from Bergin, who scored 2-3, pushed Roscrea ten points clear – 4-6 to 0-8 – and there was no way back for Borrisokane, who last won this competition in 2007.

Borrisokane were over-reliant on Dooley, who scored 1-9, 0-8 from frees, with his goal arriving in stoppage time.

Roscrea were simply too clinical for their outclassed opponents as five of their six starting forwards scored from play, while Borrisokane managed just 1-3 from play during the hour.

Scorers for Borrisokane CC: S Dooley 1-9 (0-8f), T Cleary & G Power 0-1 each.

Scorers for Roscrea VS: J Bergin 2-3, E Ryan 1-4f, D Cleary 1-0, J Wall 0-2, J Sampson & B Toohey 0-1 each.

BORRISOKANE CC: E McLoughney; S Moriarty, J Costello, A Darcy; A Tierney, E Hogan, S Nevin; P Gavin, B Davis; P McSherry, T Cleary, N O’Meara; G Power, S Dooley, E Williams.

Subs: M Harty for Power (43), D Sweeney for McSherry (55), A Flynn for Gavin (59), R Raleigh for Williams (60).

ROSCREA VS: D Ryan; J Feeney, C Bergin, E Greene; J Ryan, M Collier, M Campion; J Cleary, J Sampson; B Toohey, E Ryan, D Murphy; D Cleary, J Bergin, J Wall.

Subs: B Teehan for Cleary (43), E Flynn for Murphy (58), R McNicholas for Campion (60), C Sheedy for Wall (60+2), C Hassett for Feeney (60+3).

Referee: S Hourigan (Limerick).

More in this section

Join us for a special evening of Cheltenham chat on Friday March 12 at 6.30pm with racing legend and Irish Examiner columnist Ruby Walsh, Irish Examiner racing correspondent Tommy Lyons, and former champion jockey and tv presenter Mick Fitzgerald, author of Better than Sex.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Home Delivery


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.