Greville goal ends Westmeath wait

WESTMEATH finally claimed an Allianz NFL victory, at the 17th time of asking, with a three-point win over Tipperary at Semple Stadium yesterday.

The Lake County had not tasted a league victory since the 2008 Division 2 decider against Dublin and Pat Flanagan’s charges did it the hard way too, coming from five points down to secure this win with a last minute goal from Paul Greville.

Tipp led 2-9 to 0-10 after 56 minutes and appeared on course for a second win from three outings. But Westmeath clawed their way back when Tipp goalscorer George Hannigan turned villain with a foul on visiting corner-back John Gaffey. David Glennon slotted home the penalty before further points from Westmeath’s Francis Boyle and Glennon tied the scores at 1-12 to 2-9.

And in the 69th minute, Westmeath claimed victory when subs Denis Glennon and Conor Lynam set up Greville for a simple finish.

Goalkeeper Gary Connaughton also deserves a huge slice of credit for keeping Tipp at bay. He did concede a 22nd minute penalty for a foul on Barry Grogan, which the Tipp forward scored from, but he denied Brian Jones with a flying save in the first half.

And five minutes after the restart, Connaughton did well to keep out Timmy Dalton.

At half-time, the sides were level at 0-6 to 1-3.

Scorers for Tipperary: B Grogan 1-5 (1-0 pen, 3f, 1 45), G Hannigan 1-0, T Dalton, P Austin, B Fox & B Mulvihill 0-1 each.

Scorers for Westmeath: P Greville 1-3 (0-2f), David Glennon 1-1 (1-0 pen), D Dolan 0-3 (2f), F Wilson 0-2, F Boyle, S Quinn & D Corroon 0-1 each.

TIPPERARY: P Fitzgerald; C McDonald, P Codd, A Morrissey; C Aylward, L Egan, N Curran; S Grogan, B Jones; B Fox, G Hannigan, B Mulvihill; T Dalton, P Austin, B Grogan.

Subs: C Sweeney for Dalton (42), C McGrath for Codd (55), P Acheson for Mulvihill (57), B Coen for Hannigan (63).

WESTMEATH: G Connaughton; F Boyle, K Gavin, J Gaffey; M Curley, A Finnan, D Harte; D Duffy, B Murtagh; F Wilson, D Corroon, S Quinn; D Dolan, David Glennon, P Greville.

Subs: G Egan for Quinn (46), P Sharry for Wilson (46), Denis Glennon for Dolan (50), C Lynam for Murtagh (56), K Martin for Finnan (65).

Referee: P O’Sullivan (Kerry).

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Discover the

Install our free app today

Available on


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.