Cork select strong side for Kerry test

REIGNING champions Cork have named four members of this year’s county minor football squad for tonight’s Munster Vocational Schools SAFC final against Kerry in Rathmore at 5pm.

The match was switched from Austin Stack Park to Rathmore yesterday following a pitch inspection at the Tralee venue. Cork manager Hughie Murphy has selected Shane Masters in goal, Stephen O’Mahony at midfield, Mark Sugrue at centre-forward and Sean Ryan at right corner-forward, all of whom featured during Cork’s run to last September’s All-Ireland minor decider. In addition Murphy has named Kerry minor Jeff O’Donoghue, a student at McEgan College in Macroom, at full-forward.

“We’ve had far few sessions than we’d hoped to have”, revealed Murphy. “We haven’t even managed to have a challenge game due to club commitments our players have had at minor and U21 level. In contrast Kerry have had two games, beating Tipperary and a very good Limerick side. They’ll be tough opposition for us.”

Kerry boss Donal Rooney has delayed naming his team due to an injury concern over attacker Padraig Boyle while defender Gordon Buckley is definitely out. Their challenge will be spearheaded by Kerry minor duo Thomas Hickey and Fergal McNamara, Cian McGearailt and Darren O’Brien.

CORK VOC: S Masters (MICC); J Ryan (Clonakilty CC), E Delaney (St Brogan’s), N McCarthy (Kinsale CS); L O’Neill (Col Treasa), D O’Connell (Col Ghobnatáin), TJ Brosnan (Boherbue CC); S O’Mahony (Schull CS), M Howard (St Peter’s Col); M Vaughan (Millstreet CS), M Sugrue (St Brogan’s), C Flanagan (Davis Col); S Ryan (St Brogan’s), J O’Donoghue (McEgan Col), J Corkery (Coachford Col).

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up