Hartnett and Mahony shine as UCC’s slick display secures Freshers crown

PLAYING a far crisper brand of hurling, UCC outplayed CIT to win the Freshers Division 1 Hurling League final at CIT yesterday.

From the minute Bud Hartnett fired in a third-minute goal, UCC were in control and, with a no-nonsense defence on top of their game, CIT struggled for scores, only the accuracy of Burgess youngster Stephen Murray from placed balls keeping them in the contest.

Hartnett, who suffered a facial injury when scoring the goal, cut loose again in the second-half with four sweet points and with Ballygunner’s Paudie Mahony firing over eight points (seven frees) UCC had the ammunition to lift the Hurley Cup.

Hartnett struck after taking a long free from James Barry, and it set the tone as the UCC forward division proved a handful for the CIT defence, who gave them far too much room.

A free from Mahony and a point from play by Niall Kennedy earned them a 1-2 to 0-3 cushion after the opening quarter, though Kevin Hallissey had the sweetest of the points for CIT.

The UCC half-back line of James Barry, Dara Fives and Patrick O’Mahony were superb and, with Stephen Maher unbeatable behind them, CIT found scores hard to come by.

Hallissey though was a constant thorn in the UCC defence and every time he was fouled Murray punished then with unerring free taking — four points in the first-half and three in the second period.

A couple of nice points from Kennedy seemed to be setting UCC up for a comfortable half-time lead until Hallissey grabbed a Niall Doherty delivery and fired home a goal which saw his side trailing by just a point, 1-7 to 1-6, at the break.

CIT were always game and went ahead in the 36th minute after points from Hallissey and Murray. But once UCC stepped on the gas there was only going to be one winner.

Leading 1-10 to 1-9 entering the final quarter, UCC powered home, Hartnett and Mahony doing real damage despite a fine display by full-back Eddie Finn.

CIT were unable to trouble a well organised UCC defence, Hallissey not getting enough clean ball to make his presence felt.

Scorers for UCC: P Mahony 0-8 (0-7 frees), B Hartnett 1-4, N Kennedy 0-3, P Lupton and C Curran 0-1 each.

Scorers for CIT: S Murray 0-7 (frees), K Hallissey 1-2, JM O’Callaghan and K Fitzpatrick 0-1 each.

UCC: D O’Gorman (St Finbarr’s); D O’Mahony (Carrigtwohill), F O’Mahony (Midleton), S Maher (Thurles Sars); J Barry (Upperchurch), D Fives (Cappoquin), P O’Mahony (Midleton); D McCormack (Borrisoleigh), D Murray (Dunhill); N Kennedy (Piarsaigh, Limerick), P Mahony (Ballygunner), E O’Connor (Blarney); B Hartnett (Russell Rvs), P Lupton (Drom-An-Inch), D Ring (Cloughduv).

Subs: C Curran (Dungarvan) for O’Connor (18m), B Murray for McCormack (ht), E Healy (Aghada) for D Murray (46m).

CIT: D Curran (Cappoquin); S Lordan (Courcey Rvs), E Finn (Ballinhassig), J Cronin (Lisgoold); P O’Keeffe (Midleton), C Joyce (Na Piarsaigh), N O’Doherty (Grenagh); S Casey (Moyle Rovers), D Drake (Carrigaline); C Buckley (Clyda (Rvs), D Lordan (Courcey Rvs), JM O’Callaghan (Argideen Rngs); K, Hallissey (Eire Og), J O’Connell (Rathnure), S Murray (Burgess).

Subs: K Fitzpatrick (Ballymartle) for O’Callaghan (42m), D Collins ( St Vincent ’s) for O’Keeffe (52m).

Referee: D. Kirwan ( Eire Og).

More in this section

CourtsGaaPerson: HartnettPerson: MahonyPerson: Bud HartnettPerson: BurgessPerson: Stephen MurrayPerson: BallygunnerPerson: Paudie MahonyPerson: James BarryPerson: Niall KennedyPerson: Kevin HallisseyPerson: Dara FivesPerson: Patrick O’MahonyPerson: Stephen MaherPerson: HallisseyPerson: MurrayPerson: KennedyPerson: Niall DohertyPerson: Eddie FinnPerson: PPerson: B HartnettPerson: N KennedyPerson: P LuptonPerson: C CurranPerson: S MurrayPerson: K HallisseyPerson: JM O’CallaghanPerson: K FitzpatrickPerson: D O’GormanPerson: D O’MahonyPerson: CarrigtwohillPerson: F O’MahonyPerson: S MaherPerson: Thurles SarsPerson: J BarryPerson: D FivesPerson: CappoquinPerson: P O’MahonyPerson: D McCormackPerson: D MurrayPerson: PIARSAIGHPerson: P MahonyPerson: E O’ConnorPerson: BlarneyPerson: D RingPerson: O’ConnorPerson: B MurrayPerson: McCormackPerson: E HealyPerson: D CurranPerson: S LordanPerson: E FinnPerson: J CroninPerson: LisgooldPerson: P O’KeeffePerson: C JoycePerson: N O’DohertyPerson: S CaseyPerson: D DrakePerson: C BuckleyPerson: D LordanPerson: KPerson: Éire ÓgPerson: J O’ConnellPerson: O’CallaghanPerson: D CollinsPerson: O’KeeffePerson: D. KirwanEvent: Freshers Division 1 Hurling LeagueEvent: Hurley CupOrganisation: UCCOrganisation: CITOrganisation: CIT.Organisation: St Finbarr’sOrganisation: UpperchurchOrganisation: DunhillOrganisation: Drom-An-InchOrganisation: CappoquinOrganisation: Na PiarsaighOrganisation: GrenaghOrganisation: Moyle RoversOrganisation: CarrigalineOrganisation: ClydaOrganisation: RvsOrganisation: CourceyOrganisation: ArgideenOrganisation: BallymartleOrganisation: St Vincent ’s
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.22 s