O’Carroll ruled out of Model showdown

RORY O’CARROLL has been ruled out of the Dublin side for tomorrow night’s Bord Gáis Energy Leinster U21HC final against Wexford due to his involvement with the Dublin senior footballers in next Saturday’s All-Ireland qualifier against Armagh.

O’Carroll was cleared to play at centre-back in the U21 provincial semi-final victory over Kilkenny last month but will not feature in tomorrow night’s clash. O’Carroll is replaced in the Dublin defence by Rob O’Loughlin who starts at right half-back, with Martin Quilty moving in to take up the centre-back berth.

The other change by manager Richard Stakelum sees Barry O’Rorke introduced to the attack at right corner-forward instead of David Quinn, while senior star David Treacy has shaken off a hamstring injury to start at full-forward.

Wexford manager Tony Dempsey has made three changes for the match from their team that defeated Carlow at the semi-final stage. Senior player Andrew Shore, who was dropped for that game for a breach of discipline, returns to the side at centre-back, Michael O’Regan comes into the team at centre-back and Shane Tomkins starts at centre-forward. Padraig Donnelly, Paul Morris and John Leacy are the three players to make way. Positional changes see Matthew O’Hanlon go to full-back, Liam Óg McGovern switch to right half-forward, Harry Kehoe move to left half-forward and Emmet Kent shift to right corner-forward.

Cork boss Ger Fitzgerald has made two changes in personnel to his attack for tomorrow evening’s Munster U21HC semi-final in Páirc Uí Chaoimh at 7.30pm from the side that triumphed over Waterford at the quarter-final stage.

Cian McCarthy is ruled out through suspension and is replaced by his Sarsfields club colleague Daniel Roche at centre-forward, while Robert White comes into the team at right corner-forward with Luke O’Farrell moving inside to full-forward and Tony Murphy the player to make way.

Tipperary manager Tommy Dunne has named a strong side for the clash with seven of his starting 15 currently members of Liam Sheedy’s senior Premier setup. In defence, Michael Cahill is selected at left corner-back, Padraig Maher captains the team from centre-back and Brendan Maher will play at left half-back. Senior players Seamus Hennessy and Noel McGrath form the midfield partnership while in attack Patrick Maher will start at centre-forward and Michael Heffernan is named at left corner-forward.

DUBLIN U21H: F McGarry; R Walsh, D Kelly, O Gough; R O’Loughlin, M Quilty, P Kelly; C Clinton, P Buckeridge; S Stapleton, L Rushe, D Plunkett; B O’Rorke, D Treacy, N McMorrow.

WEXFORD U21H: M Fanning; B McCormack, M O’Hanlon, E Doyle; S Murphy, A Shore, M O’Hanlon; E Moore, M O’Regan; L Óg McGovern, S Tomkins, H Kehoe; E Kent, J Gahan, J Reck.

CORK U21H: D McCarthy; S McDonnell, E Keane, C O’Sullivan; J Nagle, W Egan, L McLoughlin; S O’Farrell, D Kearney; M Collins, D Roche, M Bowles; R White, L O’Farrell, R Clifford.

TIPPERARY U21H: J Logue; K O’Gorman, J Coghlan, M Cahill; J Barry, Padraig Maher, B Maher; S Hennessy, N McGrath; D Maher, Patrick Maher, P Murphy; A Ryan, J O’Dwyer, M Heffernan.

More in this section

courtsgaaplace: páirc uí chaoimhperson: o’carrollperson: rory o’carrollperson: rob o’loughlinperson: martin quiltyperson: richard stakelumperson: barry o’rorkeperson: david quinnperson: david treacyperson: tony dempseyperson: andrew shoreperson: michael o’reganperson: shane tomkinsperson: pádraig donnellyperson: paul morrisperson: john leacyperson: matthew o’hanlonperson: liam óg mcgovernperson: harry kehoeperson: emmet kentperson: ger fitzgeraldperson: cian mccarthyperson: daniel rocheperson: robert whiteperson: luke o’farrellperson: tony murphyperson: tommy dunneperson: liam sheedyperson: michael cahillperson: padraig maherperson: brendan maherperson: seamus hennessyperson: noel mcgrathperson: patrick maherperson: michael heffernanperson: f mcgarryperson: r walshperson: d kellyperson: o goughperson: r o’loughlinperson: m quiltyperson: p kellyperson: c clintonperson: p buckeridgeperson: s stapletonperson: l rusheperson: d plunkettperson: b o’rorkeperson: d treacyperson: n mcmorrowperson: m fanningperson: b mccormackperson: m o’hanlonperson: e doyleperson: s murphyperson: a shoreperson: e mooreperson: m o’reganperson: l og mcgovernperson: s tomkinsperson: h kehoeperson: e kentperson: j gahanperson: d mccarthyperson: s mcdonnellperson: e keaneperson: c o’sullivanperson: j nagleperson: w eganperson: l mcloughlinperson: s o’farrellperson: d kearneyperson: m collinsperson: d rocheperson: m bowlesperson: r whiteperson: l o’farrellperson: r cliffordperson: j logueperson: k o’gormanperson: j coghlanperson: m cahillperson: j barryperson: b maherperson: s hennessyperson: n mcgrathperson: d maherperson: p murphyperson: a ryanperson: j o’dwyerperson: m heffernanevent: energy leinster u21hc finalevent: u21 provincialevent: munster u21hc semi-finalorganisation: dublinorganisation: wexfordorganisation: armaghorganisation: kilkennyorganisation: carloworganisation: waterfordorganisation: sarsfields
Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up