Limerick squeeze into final

WATERFORD will reflect ruefully on a Munster junior football championship semi-final they all but gifted to Limerick at Fraher Field, Dungarvan, yesterday.

The Shannonsiders squeezed through to the provincial decider, but despite the close scoring, the game never rose above mediocrity.

The opening half was particularly poor with Limerick threatening to assert total dominance. Three Ray Lynch points gave them early control, and Waterford had to wait 19 minutes before full forward Edmond Hogan finally got them on target with a long-range point.

The home side dominated the remainder of the half territorially, but woeful finishing cost them several scores and Limerick retired in front at the break, 0-4 to 0-3.

Waterford got off to a flyer on the restart however with midfielder Patrick Lynch landing a superb equaliser inside three minutes, and 90 seconds later they were in front for the first time when veteran Connie Power lashed home the game’s only goal. Lynch and Hogan linked up before Power rattled the net for a 1-4 to 0-4 advantage.

Eight minutes later however came the game’s defining moment when Waterford fullback Michael Supple was dismissed on a second yellow card. Within five minutes of Supple’s departure Limerick were back in front through points from Edmond O’Donnell (free), Derry McCarthy, and Brendan Teehan (free) and it was a lead they would never relinquish.

Waterford battled gamely and but for a plethora of wides they might have drawn. Four wides on the trot, however, left Limerick off the hook.

Scorers for Limerick: R. Lynch (0-3, 0-2 frees); T. Collins, E. O’Donnell (f), D. McCarthy, B. Teehan (f), J. O’Connell, R. Browne (0-1).

Scorers for Waterford: C. Power (1-1); E. Hogan (0-2); P. Lynch, T. Connors (0-1).

LIMERICK: P. Ivess; D. Woods. K. O’Connor. E. Mulcahy; E. O’Donnell. B. Teehan. E. Barry; E. Horan. M. Behan; T. Collins. J. O’Connell. D. McCarthy; L. Costelloe. T. Butler. R. Lynch; Subs: D. Finnerty for Woods (35); R. Browne for Costelloe (39); M. Galvin for O’Connell (39); W. Enright for Collins (55); M. Lyons for McCarthy (60).

WATERFORD: D. Mulhearne; J. Moore. M. Supple M. Crotty; T. O’hUallachain. D. Hickey. M. Prendergast; S. Dempsey. P. Lynch; C. Guiry. C. Power. J. J. Hutchinson; J. Wall. E. Hogan. J. Veale. Subs: A. North for Guiry (42); G. Dunphy for Moore (47); T. Connors for Veale (49); D. Casey for Power (52); M. Ferncombe for Wall (56).

Referee: D. O’Mahony, Tipperary.

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.203 s