McCarthy poised for Cork return against Galway

CORK attacker Niall McCarthy is set to make his comeback from injury in Sunday’s senior hurling challenge against Galway. The match, which is a repeat of the recent NHL Division 1 final between the counties, takes place in Castlelyons at 5pm.

McCarthy has recovered from the broken finger he sustained in the league tie against Waterford at Walsh Park in March. McCarthy’s return is a boost for manager Denis Walsh who will be without injured duo Michael Cussen and Eoin Cadogan, although Cadogan looks set to be winning the race to be fit in time for the Munster SHC opener against Tipperary in Páirc Ui Chaoimh on May 30.

Cork have finalised their panel ahead of that game with Youghal’s Leigh Desmond, an All-Ireland IHC medal winner last year, and Carrigaline’s Tony Murphy, who has impressed for CIT in the Fitzgibbon Cup, being drafted into the squad. Glen Rovers defender David Cunningham, Ballinhassig attacker Fintan O’Leary and Russell Rovers defender Kevin Hartnett have been released but management are set to continue to keep the squad open for any players who stake a claim for a place.

KERRY (SH v Westmeath): B Rochford; C Harris, T Murnane, J Fitzgerald; J Godley, L Boyle, A Keane; M Conway, J Griffin; J Egan, M Boyle, D O’Connell; JM Dooley, G O’Brien, S Nolan.

Subs: JB O’Halloran, B O’Leary, A Healy, C Harty, J Flaherty, E Sheehy, N Young, J McCarthy, S Young, R Kenny, D Fitzelle, S Brick, J Casey, P Monson, S Maunsell, D Twomey, R Nolan, N Leen, A Boyle, A McCarthy.

DERRY (MF v Armagh): D McKinless; R Ferris, R Moore, K McKaigue; T Rafferty, N Rocks, C Rocks; C Mullan, A Devlin; C Spiers, B Quigg, T Martin; R Bell, F Bell, C Devlin.

GALWAY (JF v Roscommon): P O’Maolalaoidh; E O’Sullivan, P Gleeson, K Kelly; A Coen, J Burke, C Hands; M Aspell, J Fair; C Coleman, B Donnellan, M Murphy; B Óg O’Callaráin, JP Steede, É Póil.

More in this section

courtsgaaplace: castlelyonsplace: walsh parkplace: páirc uí chaoimhperson: mccarthyperson: niall mccarthyperson: denis walshperson: michael cussenperson: eoin cadoganperson: cadoganperson: leigh desmondperson: tony murphyperson: david cunninghamperson: fintan o’learyperson: kevin hartnettperson: kerryperson: c harrisperson: t murnaneperson: j fitzgeraldperson: j godleyperson: l boyleperson: a keaneperson: m conwayperson: j griffinperson: j eganperson: m boyleperson: d o’connellperson: jm dooleyperson: g o’brienperson: s nolanperson: jb o’halloranperson: b o’learyperson: a healyperson: c hartyperson: j flahertyperson: e sheehyperson: n youngperson: j mccarthyperson: s youngperson: r kennyperson: d fitzelleperson: s brickperson: j caseyperson: p monsonperson: s maunsellperson: d twomeyperson: r nolanperson: n leenperson: a boyleperson: a mccarthyperson: derryperson: d mckinlessperson: r ferrisperson: r mooreperson: k mckaigueperson: t raffertyperson: n rocksperson: c rocksperson: c mullanperson: a devlinperson: c spiersperson: b quiggperson: t martinperson: r bellperson: f bellperson: c devlinperson: p o’maolalaoidhperson: e o’sullivanperson: p gleesonperson: k kellyperson: a coenperson: j burkeperson: c handsperson: m aspellperson: j fairperson: c colemanperson: b donnellanperson: m murphyperson: b óg o’callaráinperson: jp steedeperson: é póilevent: munster shcevent: fitzgibbon cuporganisation: corkorganisation: galwayorganisation: waterfordorganisation: tipperaryorganisation: carrigalineorganisation: glen roversorganisation: russell roversorganisation: westmeathorganisation: rochfordorganisation: armagh

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up