Cork boss rings changes for Tipp clash

CORK boss Brian Cuthbert has made six changes for tomorrow night’s Munster MFC semi-final against Tipperary in Semple Stadium at 7pm from the team that scraped to victory over Clare in their quarter-final in Ennis four weeks ago.

In defence, dual players Diarmuid Lester and Jamie Wall are drafted into the left flank, at corner-back and wing-back respectively, while there are four new faces in attack. Kevin Hallissey starts at right half-forward, Mark Sugrue plays at centre-forward, Kevin Sheehan is at right corner-forward and Shane Duggan is full-forward.

There are several positional alterations as well, with Matthew O’Shea moving to full-back, Jamie Burns switching to centre-back and John O’Rourke moving to form a new midfield partnership with Damien Cahalane.

The six players to drop out of the team are Sean O’Shea, David O’Donovan, Darragh O’Carroll, Conor O’Sullivan, Daniel McEoin and Tomas Hegarty, with McEoin the only one of that sextet to be named amongst the substitutes.

Kerry minor manager Pat O’Driscoll has made two switches for their semi-final against Limerick tomorrow night in Newcastlewest, at 7pm. Gary O’Leary and Shaun Keane, who missed the opening round win against Tipperary due to commitments with St Brendan’s during their Hogan Cup run, are drafted into the attack at left half-forward and full-forward respectively.

Marcus Mangan and Barry Dwyer are the two players to make way, with Chris O’Leary, Padraig Boyle and Tom Moriarty the new faces amongst the substitutes.

CORK MF: D Hanrahan (Douglas); D Crowley (Clann na nGael), M O’Shea (Glengarriff), D Lester (Bishopstown); T Clancy (Clonakilty), J Burns (St Finbarr’s), J Wall (Kilbrittain); D Cahalane (Castlehaven), J O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers); K Hallissey (Éire Óg), M Sugrue (Bandon), A Cronin (Nemo Rangers); K Sheehan (Mallow), S Duggan (Na Piarsaigh), B Hurley (Castlehaven).

Subs: S Masters (Kilmichael), D Murphy (Ballincollig), J Goggin (St Finbarr’s), R Ryan (Bishopstown), D O’Mahony (Carrigtwohill), L Connolly (Nemo Rangers), D Ring (Canovee), D McEoin (Ilen Rovers), S Ryan (Newcestown).

KERRY MF: P McCarthy (Rathmore); P Kilkenny (Glenbeigh-Glencar), D Culhane (Ballylongford), F McNamara (Austin Stacks); J Walsh (Knocknagoshel), L Bastible (John Mitchels), J Hickson (Annascaul); D Somers (St Senans), G Durrant (Dingle); M Reen (Rathmore), T Hickey (Desmonds), G O’Leary (Kilcummin); G O’Grady (Glenbeigh-Glencar), S Keane (Legion), E O’Connor (St Michael’s-Foilmore).

Subs: D Horgan (St Mary’s), B Dwyer (Waterville), A Thompson (Kerins O’Rahillys), T Morley (Templenoe), C O’Leary (Kilcummin), P Boyle (Ballyduff), T Moriarty (Legion), C Cox (Listowel Emmets), D Daly (St Mary’s).

More in this section

courtsgaafootballplace: semple stadiumplace: ennisplace: newcastlewestplace: bishopstownperson: brian cuthbertperson: diarmuid lesterperson: jamie wallperson: kevin hallisseyperson: mark sugrueperson: kevin sheehanperson: shane dugganperson: matthew o’sheaperson: jamie burnsperson: john o’rourkeperson: damien cahalaneperson: sean o’sheaperson: david o’donovanperson: darragh o’carrollperson: conor o’sullivanperson: daniel mceoinperson: tomás hegartyperson: mceoinperson: pat o’driscollperson: gary o’learyperson: shaun keaneperson: marcus manganperson: barry dwyerperson: chris o’learyperson: pádraig boyleperson: tom moriartyperson: d hanrahanperson: d crowleyperson: m o’sheaperson: d lesterperson: t clancyperson: j burnsperson: j wallperson: d cahalaneperson: j o’rourkeperson: k hallisseyperson: ógperson: m sugrueperson: a croninperson: k sheehanperson: s dugganperson: b hurleyperson: s mastersperson: d murphyperson: j gogginperson: r ryanperson: d o’mahonyperson: l connollyperson: d ringperson: d mceoinperson: s ryanperson: kerryperson: p mccarthyperson: pperson: d culhaneperson: f mcnamaraperson: austin stacksperson: j walshperson: knocknagoshelperson: l bastibleperson: john mitchelsperson: j hicksonperson: annascaulperson: d somersperson: g durrantperson: m reenperson: rathmoreperson: t hickeyperson: desmondsperson: g o’learyperson: kilcumminperson: g o’gradyperson: glenbeigh-glencarperson: s keaneperson: e o’connorperson: michael’s-foilmoreperson: d horganperson: mary’sperson: b dwyerperson: a thompsonperson: kerins o’rahillysperson: t morleyperson: templenoeperson: c o’learyperson: p boyleperson: ballyduffperson: t moriartyperson: c coxperson: listowel emmetsperson: d dalyevent: tippevent: munster mfc semievent: hogan cuporganisation: corkorganisation: tipperaryorganisation: clareorganisation: kerryorganisation: limerickorganisation: st brendan’sorganisation: clann na ngaelorganisation: clonakiltyorganisation: st finbarr’sorganisation: castlehavenorganisation: carbery rangersorganisation: éireorganisation: bandonorganisation: nemo rangersorganisation: malloworganisation: na piarsaighorganisation: kilmichaelorganisation: ballincolligorganisation: bishopstownorganisation: carrigtwohillorganisation: canoveeorganisation: ilen roversorganisation: newcestownorganisation: rathmoreorganisation: kilkennyorganisation: glenbeigh-glencarorganisation: ballylongfordorganisation: storganisation: st mary’s
Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up