Former senior kingpins Carrick Davins back in the top ranks

FORMER senior kingpins Carrick Davins were crowned Tipperary IHC champions for the first time yesterday.

Davins, who won senior titles in 1966 and 1967, produced a strong second half performance against Arravale Rovers at Semple Stadium to collect the title. Davins led 0-6 to 0-5 at half-time but outscored Rovers 1-7 to 1-1 in the second half to run out six-point winners.

Davins looked the more dangerous attacking side throughout and finished the game with all six of their starting forwards on target from play, as Rovers went 27 minutes without a score in the second half. Rovers, intermediate champions in 1997, managed just 1-4 from play over the hour but got off to an ideal start within two minutes of the restart.

John O’Donnell, originally named to start, replaced James Mulhair at half-time and wasted little time in making an impact, goaling with his very first touch. That score handed Rovers a 1-5 to 0-6 lead but Davins reeled off 1-6 without reply thereafter to move seven points clear. Ger Robinson’s goal with six minutes remaining ended the game as a contest, opening up an unassailable 1-12 to 1-5 lead for Davins, who can now look forward to a crack at town rivals Carrick Swan in next year’s senior championship.

Scorers for Arravale Rovers: T Dalton 0-4 (2f), J O’Donnell 1-0, D Lowry & S O’Meara 0-1 each.

Scorers for Carrick Davins: M Cronin 0-4f, G Robinson 1-1, N Butler & W O’Dwyer 0-2 each, L Mackey (f), S Butler, J Butler & J Murphy 0-1 each.

ARRAVALE ROVERS: T Gleeson; G O’Dwyer, P Ryan, S Spillane; B Jones, R O’Connor, G Mulhair; T Dalton, D Lowry; P Dalton, D Kiely, J Mulhair; B Lowry, D Ryan, M O’Dwyer.

Subs: J O’Donnell for J Mulhair (h/t), J Hayes for D Ryan (46), S O’Meara for B Lowry (54).

CARRICK DAVINS: E McGrath; K Condon, R McGrath, J Coady; L Mackey, M Ryan, S Cronin; P Murphy, M Cronin; G Robinson, W O’Dwyer, N Butler; S Butler, J Butler, J Murphy.

Subs: P Tobin for J Murphy (57), M Hackett for S Butler (60), E Power for Coady (60+3).

Referee: J Cleary (Knockshegowna).

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up