Carbery derail Nemo’s five-in-a-row title bid

NEMO Rangers five-in-a-row title dream ended when they crashed out of the Cork SFC at the quarter-final stage at the hands of West Cork divisional outfit Carbery in Bandon last night.

The decisive moment arrived in the 50th minute at a stage when Carbery lead 1-9 to 1-8. A high ball into the Nemo Rangers goalmouth was fatally dropped by netminder Brian Morgan and it rebounded off full-forward Hugh Curran before finding the net.

Scorers for Carbery: T Twomey 1-2 (1-0 pen), H Curran 1-1, D O’Donovan 0-4 (0-2f), C O’Driscoll 0-3 (0-3f), G Canty 0-1.

Nemo Rangers: J Masters 0-6 (0-1f), A Cronin 1-1, D Mehigan, C O’Shea 0-1 each.

CARBERY: P White (Newcestown); J O’Donovan (Bandon), S Levis (Muintir Bhaire), K Harrington (Bantry Blues); S Keohane (St Marys), M Fehily (Diarmuid O’Mathuna’s), O Sexton (Kilbrittain); A O’Connor (St Colums), G Canty (Bantry Blues); C Keane (Newcestown), T Deasy (Tadgh MacCarthaigh), C O’Driscoll (Tadgh MacCarthaigh); T Twomey (Newcestown), H Curran (Newcestown), K Coffey (St Oliver Plunketts). Subs: K O’Driscoll (Tadgh MacCarthaigh) for Keane (inj) (30), D O’Donovan (Kilmacabea) for Deasy (half-time), D O’Sullivan (Ballinascarthy) for Fehily (half-time), R Hourihane for T Twomey (inj) (57).

NEMO RANGERS: B Morgan; N Geary, S Twomey, B O’Regan; C O’Brien, M Cronin, C O’Shea; D Mehigan, D Kavanagh; S O’Brien, A Cronin, P Kerrigan; W Morgan, J Masters, A Morgan. Subs: B Twomey for W Morgan (51), D Breen for A Morgan (57).

Referee: Pat O’Leary (Kilmurry)

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.