Rebels make two changes for Déise final clash

CORK boss Johnny Keane has made two changes for tonight’s Munster IHC decider against Waterford (Páirc Uí Chaoimh, throw-in 7.30pm).

U21 stars Leigh Desmond and Lorcan McLoughlin have both been drafted into the starting line-up at midfield and left half-forward respectively. Their introduction does result in some positional switches, with Barry Coleman moving to right corner-back in place of the injured Pat Fitzgerald while Stephen Moylan goes to left corner-forward, with Brendan Ring dropping down to the bench.

Luke Farrell, a late call-up before the semi-final win over Clare in place of Eamonn Collins, retains his place at full-forward after an impressive display. Waterford manager Liam Óg Daniels has announced the same starting 15 from the semi-final rout of Limerick for tonight’s provincial decider.

There were some injury concerns about the fitness of Patrick Kearney who scored three goals in the 5-15 to 0-7 defeat of the Shannonsiders, but the Ballyduff Upper club man is named in his usual corner forward spot to face the Rebels.

Kearney is a key operator in the Waterford line-up, and is joined by club colleagues Jamie Kearney and Brendan Hannon, who all featured in the Ballyduff Upper county-winning outfit in 2007.

Cork have impressed in the campaign to date, with senior panellist Anthony Nash in goal and strong defenders in captain Darragh McSweeney and Ross Cashman.

Up front, there is plenty of scoring potential in Rory Dwyer, McLoughlin, Farrell and Stephen Moylan. With home advantage as well, Cork can take the honours.

CORK IH: A Nash (Kanturk); B Coleman (Ballyhea), D McSweeney (Blarney), B Murphy (Fr O’Neills); J Carey (Dripsey), R Cashman (Kilbrittain), G O’Leary (Fr O’Neills); E Dillon (Milford), L Desmond (Youghal); R Dwyer (Ballymartle), M O’Sullivan (Dripsey), L McLoughlin (Kanturk); M O’Sullivan (Ballyhea), L Farrell (Midleton), S Moylan (Douglas).

Subs: D McCarthy (Ballymartle), P O’Leary (Blarney), E Clancy (Fermoy), W Egan (Kilbrin), B Ring (Youghal), E Collins (Valley Rovers), A Mannix (Kilworth), B Lawton (Castlemartyr), B Fitzgerald (Douglas).

WATERFORD IH: I O’Regan (Mt Sion); B Wall (Fourmilewater), J O’Leary (Ballyduff Lower), K Flynn (Mt Sion); J Coffey (Stradbally), S Kearney (Lismore), W Henley (Tallow); D Murphy (Roanmore), P Fitzgerald (Ballyduff Lower); P Hurney (Abbeyside), D Howard (Lismore), J Kearney (Ballyduff Upper); B Hannon (Ballyduff Upper), L Lawlor (Fourmilewater), P Kearney (Ballyduff Upper).

More in this section

courtsgaahurlingplace: mt sionperson: johnny keaneperson: leigh desmondperson: lorcan mcloughlinperson: barry colemanperson: pat fitzgeraldperson: stephen moylanperson: brendan ringperson: luke farrellperson: eamonn collinsperson: liam óg danielsperson: patrick kearneyperson: kearneyperson: jamie kearneyperson: brendan hannonperson: anthony nashperson: darragh mcsweeneyperson: ross cashmanperson: rory dwyerperson: mcloughlinperson: farrellperson: cork ihperson: a nashperson: kanturkperson: b colemanperson: d mcsweeneyperson: blarneyperson: b murphyperson: fr o’neillsperson: j careyperson: dripseyperson: r cashmanperson: kilbrittainperson: g o’learyperson: e dillonperson: l desmondperson: youghalperson: r dwyerperson: ballymartleperson: m o’sullivanperson: l mcloughlinperson: ballyheaperson: l farrellperson: midletonperson: s moylanperson: douglasperson: d mccarthyperson: p o’learyperson: e clancyperson: fermoyperson: w eganperson: kilbrinperson: b ringperson: e collinsperson: roversperson: a mannixperson: kilworthperson: b lawtonperson: castlemartyrperson: b fitzgeraldperson: i o’reganperson: b wallperson: j o’learyperson: ballyduff lowerperson: k flynnperson: j coffeyperson: stradballyperson: s kearneyperson: lismoreperson: w henleyperson: tallowperson: d murphyperson: roanmoreperson: p fitzgeraldperson: p hurneyperson: d howardperson: j kearneyperson: ballyduff upperperson: b hannonperson: l lawlorperson: p kearneyevent: munster ihcorganisation: corkorganisation: waterfordorganisation: páirc uí chaoimhorganisation: clareorganisation: limerickorganisation: shannonsidersorganisation: ballyduff upperorganisation: rebelsorganisation: milford
Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up