Tipp look to senior stars for U-21 clash

TIPPERARY have named nine senior panellists in their starting 15 for tomorrow night’s opening defence of their provincial crown in the Munster U-21HC quarter-final against Cork in Semple Stadium at 7:30pm.

Full-back Padraig Maher, centre-forward Seamus Callanan and left half-forward Noel McGrath all started in Tipperary’s senior triumph last Sunday, while midfielder Gearóid Ryan was introduced as a second-half substitute.

The other senior players in the U-21 line-up are right half-back Brendan Maher, centre-back Thomas Stapleton, midfielder Seamus Hennessy, right corner-forward Pa Bourke and full-forward Padraig Maher. Tipp boss Declan Carr has named a strong side with 11 survivors from the side that were defeated in last year’s All-Ireland U21 final by Kilkenny, but Thurles Sarsfields defender Michael Cahill is ruled out of the equation due to a hamstring injury.

Cork manager John Considine has included four senior panellists in his team. Left corner-back Conor O’Sullivan and full-forward Patrick Horgan both started in Sunday’s senior match against Tipperary. Paudie O’Sullivan, who was introduced as a second-half substitute to Cork’s senior attack, is set to start at centre-back here while right half-forward Brian Corry was on the bench in Semple Stadium on Sunday.

Paudie O’Sullivan, Horgan and Corry were all involved last year when Cork lost out against Clare in the Munster U21 semi-final, along with left half-back Stephen White and midfielder Leigh Desmond.

TIPPERARY U21H: B McCormack (Thurles Sarsfields); D Maher (Burgess), P Maher (Thurles Sarsfields), K Maher (Lorrha); B Maher (Borrisoleigh), T Stapleton (Templederry Kenyons), T McGrath (Ballingarry); S Hennessy (Kilruane McDonaghs), G Ryan (Templederry Kenyons); M Gleeson (Thurles Sarsfields), S Callanan (Drom & Inch), N McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney); P Bourke (Thurles Sarsfields), P Maher (Lorrha), S Burke (JK Brackens).

CORK U21H: C Cronin (Lisgoold); K Murphy (Erins Own), J Herlihy (Newtownshandrum), C O’Sullivan (Sarsfields); A Walsh (Kanturk), P O’Sullivan (Cloyne), S White (Ballygarvan); L Desmond (Youghal), W Egan (Kilbrin); B Corry (Ballymartle), L McLoughlin (Kanturk), R White (Carrigtwohill); R O’Driscoll (Sarsfields), P Horgan (Glen Rovers), A Walsh (Killeagh).

Subs: D McCarthy (Ballymartle), C O’Driscoll (Oliver Plunketts), J Moran (Carrigaline), G O’Connor (St Finbarrs), P Gould (Na Piarsaigh), C McCarthy (Sarsfields), T Murray (Bishopstown), L O’Farrell (Midleton), R Clifford (Newtownshandrum).

More in this section

courtsgaahurlingplace: semple stadiumplace: tipperaryperson: padraig maherperson: seamus callananperson: noel mcgrathperson: gearoid ryanperson: brendan maherperson: thomas stapletonperson: seamus hennessyperson: pa bourkeperson: declan carrperson: michael cahillperson: john considineperson: conor o’sullivanperson: patrick horganperson: paudie o’sullivanperson: brian corryperson: horganperson: corryperson: stephen whiteperson: leigh desmondperson: bperson: d maherperson: burgessperson: p maherperson: k maherperson: lorrhaperson: maherperson: t stapletonperson: t mcgrathperson: s hennessyperson: kilruane mcdonaghsperson: g ryanperson: kenyonsperson: m gleesonperson: thurles sarsfieldsperson: s callananperson: inchperson: n mcgrathperson: loughmore-castleineyperson: p bourkeperson: sarsfieldsperson: s burkeperson: jk brackensperson: c croninperson: lisgooldperson: k murphyperson: j herlihyperson: c o’sullivanperson: a walshperson: kanturkperson: p o’sullivanperson: cloyneperson: s whiteperson: ballygarvanperson: l desmondperson: youghalperson: w eganperson: kilbrinperson: b corryperson: ballymartleperson: l mcloughlinperson: r whiteperson: r o’driscollperson: p horganperson: killeaghperson: d mccarthyperson: c o’driscollperson: oliver plunkettsperson: j moranperson: g o’connorperson: p gouldperson: na piarsaighperson: c mccarthyperson: t murrayperson: l o’farrellperson: r cliffordevent: munster u-21hc quarter-finalevent: all-ireland u21 finalevent: munster u21organisation: corkorganisation: kilkennyorganisation: thurles sarsfieldsorganisation: tipperaryorganisation: clareorganisation: borrisoleighorganisation: templederryorganisation: ballingarryorganisation: thurlesorganisation: erins ownorganisation: newtownshandrumorganisation: sarsfieldsorganisation: glen roversorganisation: ballymartleorganisation: st finbarrsorganisation: bishopstown
Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up