Joy for Killorglin as Keane’s goal kills off Abbey

PA JOY, who was introduced to the Kerry senior football championship by Laune Rangers this year, may have scored just one point for Intermediate School Killorglin in yesterday’s Corn Uí Mhuirí (Munster Colleges SFC) tie at Croagh but he engineered the decisive goal in this thrilling affair.

The goal, after 23 minutes, was beautifully executed by wing-forward Ryan Keane.

ISK, playing with the advantage of a strong wind, had been having difficulty converting their possession into scores when Joy escaped from the clutches of Ger Mulhare, who had been doing a fine job marking him, and drove a high ball into the danger area.

Abbey goalkeeper Ger Ryan came out to collect and got his fingers to the ball, as did three other defenders, but it fell into the arms of Keane who chipped it into the net to send ISK in at the break leading 1-4 to 0-1.

Despite wind advantage, Abbey were largely pinned back in their own half in the second half and while Paddy Dalton, Ger Mulhare and Diarmuid Hayes passed the ball around with precision, they found it difficult to penetrate the Killorglin rearguard in which midfielder Colin McGillycuddy and centre-back Edward O’Sullivan put them under sustained pressure.

Abbey were handed a golden opportunity midway through the first half when substitute Michael Foley was fouled as he tried to battle his way through the Killorglin defence but Thomas Hanley, who scored five of their six points, drove the penalty wide.

Two points from Hanley left just five between them as Abbey pressed forward looking for a goal, and it eventually came in the final minute when Mulhare, who had a superb game, collected the ball on the left wing and raced through the defence.

But the score came too late for Abbey and Intermediate School Killorglin advance to the knockout stages along with Group A leaders Tralee CBS.

Scorers for ISK: J. Flynn 0-4 (0-1 free), G. O’Grady 0-3 (0-2 frees), R. Keane 1-0 and P. Joy 0-1.

Scorers for Abbey CBS: T. Hanley 0-5 (0-4 frees), G. Mulhare 1-0, S. Leahy 0-1.

INTERMEDIATE SCHOOL KILLORGLIN: R O’Connor; N. O’Reilly, T. O’Callaghan, P. Kilkenny; J. Hoare, E. O’Sullivan, C. Clifford; J. Sherwood, C. McGillycuddy; M. O’Shaughnessy, B. Delaney, R. Keane; G. O’Grady, P. Joy, J. Flynn.

Subs: M. O’Sullivan for R. Keane, R. Lucey for M. O’Shaughnessy.

ABBEY CBS: G. Ryan; P. Dalton, S. Russell, M. Hanley; G. Mulhare, D. Hayes, J. O’Heney; S. O’Meara, J. Power; S. Leahy, T. Hanley, E. Landers; B. Lowry, J. O’Donovan, D. Heffernan.

Subs: M. Foley for B. Lowry, K. Burke for E. Landers, T. Heffernan for S. Leahy.

Referee: M. Harty (St. Mary’s, Rathkeale).

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.211 s