Rampant Sars U-21s crush Midleton

Sarsfields 3-17 Midleton 1-5

Seven days after bridging a 51-year gap to collect their senior title, and with their minors safely in the county decider, it was the turn of their U21’s to collect hurling honours in Carrigtwohill yesterday.

They did so in emphatic style, beating Midleton by 18 points in the East Cork U21HC final and qualifying to meet Glen Rovers in the county semi-final, a repeat of their senior semi-final tie last month. There was a 35 minute delay before throw-in due to a refereeing mix-up, with Carrigtwohill official Peter Hogan having to step into the breach, yet Sarsfields wasted little time getting into their stride.

Parading seven of their senior side, they led 1-6 to 0-2 after 20 minutes, the goal coming from wing-forward Daniel Roche.

With captain Pat Barry unerring from placed balls, Sarsfields built a hefty interval lead of 1-10 to 0-5 with Midleton having relied on centre-back Padraig O’Shea’s frees for scores. In the second-half Sarsfields maintained their dominance, with centre-back Craig Leahy commanding, and Cian McCarthy and substitute Eoin O’Sullivan both grabbing goals. By the end of the third quarter it was 3-13 to 0-5 and the Sars win was sealed, though Midleton did bag a late Eoin Walsh goal.

Scorers: Sarsfields: P Barry 0-9 (0-7f), C McCarthy 1-2, D Roche, E O’Sullivan 1-0 each, D Kearney, C O’Sullivan, R O’Driscoll 0-2 each,

Midleton: P O’Shea 0-3 (0-3f), E Walsh 1-0, J O’Mahony, J Keane 0-1 each.

SARSFIELDS: W O’Flynn; E Whooley, G O’Kelly-Lynch, C Smith; D Kenneally, C Leahy, D O’Donnell; D Kearney, C O’Sullivan; C Harrington, P Barry, D Roche; R O’Driscoll, C McCarthy, W Kearney. Subs: E O’Sullivan for W Kearney.

MIDLETON: M Downey; C Leahy, A Kearney, P O’Brien; S Murphy, P O’Shea, J Nagle; S O’Farrell, P O’Keeffe; J O’Mahony, E Walsh, L O’Farrell; C Mulcahy, J Keane, P Haughney.

Referee: Peter Hogan (Carrigtwohill)

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up