Gleeson goal paves the way for Doon victory

CLEAN crisp hurling all the way, there was nothing between the sides until Doon CBS midfielder Eamonn Gleeson struck for a 46th minute goal which enabled the Limerick college get their Dr Harty Cup campaign off to a winning start at Mitchelstown yesterday.

Over the hour, Doon were the smarter hurlers and buoyed by two splendid wing backs in Michael Buckley and Mike Treacy and with centre-back Liam Reale in top form, they always had Glanmire’s measure.

Glanmire were slow to settle and despite the strong breeze at their backs in the opening quarter trailed 0-3 to 0-2.

However Glanmire did come more into the game in the second quarter as points from Gray and Martin Hickey and a brace from O’Sullivan (10) had them clear. But with Reale outstanding Doon were always able to keep in touch and trailed by just two points at the break, 0-8 to 0-6.

No question the standard improved in the second-half, but such was the strength of the wind it was palpable Glanmire’s lead was never going to be enough.

And once Ger McPartland and substitute Dean O’Dwyer had Doon level the writing was on the wall for Glanmire. Entering the final 15 minutes they trailed by just a point – 0-11 to 0-10 — but once Gleeson ghosted through for the all important goal the writing was on the wall.

To their credit Glanmire never gave up the chase, but O’Sullivan’s late 21 yard free which billowed the net was too little too late.

Scorers for Doon CBS: J. O’Neill 0-9 (0-7 frees), E. Gleeson 1-0, D. O’Dwyer 0-2, S. Power, L. Reale (free), G. McPartland, M. Treacy 0-1 each.

Scorers for Glanmire CC: E. O’Sullivan (B) 1-4 (1-3 frees), D. Roche 0-3, M. Hickey 0-2, G. Gray, J. Sheehan 0-1 each.

DOON CBS: D. Martin; S. Shanahan, C. McNamara, J. Furlong; M. Buckley, L. Reale, M. Treacy; E. Gleeson, B. Fitzgerald; S. Power, P. Doyle, G. McPartland; R. O’Donnell, J. O’Neill, M. Barry.

Subs: D. O’Dwyer for Doyle, J. Hayes for Buckley, S. Kennedy for Barry, G. Ryan for Power.

GLANMIRE CC: C. Dooley; D. Murphy, J. Cashman, S. Corbett; G. O’Kelly-Lynch, C. Brosnan, I. O’Mahony; M. Hickey, E. O’Sullivan (M); E. O’Sullivan (B), D. Roche, S. Crowley; D. Collins, G. Gray, A. Power.

Subs: F. O’Leary for Collins, Collins for Murphy, J. Sheehan for Power. S. Landers for O’Leary.

Referee: D. Farrell (Mitchelstown).

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up