Same again for Kilkenny

KILKENNY are expected to name an unchanged team tonight for Sunday’s All-Ireland hurling semi-final against Wexford.

Richie Power is pushing hard for Aidan Fogarty’s place in attack after scoring 1-1 in a substitute’s role against Galway but sources have indicated that Cody will persevere with Fogarty.

Elsewhere, former Hurler of the Year JJ Delaney should hold off the challenge of James Ryall at left half back and Brian Hogan will start ahead of John Tennyson at centre half back.

Team selector Martin Fogarty said: “On any given day we sit down and pick a team as we see fit for a given match. We thrash things around and get a feel for a particular day – we’re always leaving lads off who we would love to put on but that’s a good way to be.

“How do you divide lads? It’s very difficult. How you do divide Tennyson from Hogan, Lyng from Mullally, Lyng from Fennelly?”

Meanwhile, substitute Donncha Cody, son of team manager Brian, is definitely ruled out with a shoulder injury. Fogarty revealed: “It didn’t come right yet. We’re not sure how he picked up the injury, if it was in training or in a match. It could be one of these injuries that doesn’t surface for a while.”

Not unexpectedly, Cork’s minor hurling selectors have given a vote of confidence to the team which trounced Galway in last Sunday’s quarter final for tomorrow’s ESB All-Ireland semi-final against Dublin in Portlaoise (7 pm).

The only change on the Dublin team from that which defeated Kilkenny 2-14 to 1-10 in the Leinster final sees Alan McMullan come in to partner Darren Whelan at midfield.

Meanwhile the dates for the All-Ireland U-21 hurling championship semi-finals have been announced. Newly crowned Munster champions Cork will play Galway in the All-Ireland semi-final in Thurles, on Saturday, August 18 at 3.30pm with Dublin playing Derry in Newry the same day at 6 pm. Derry shocked favourites Antrim in the Ulster final on Wednesday night winning 2-16 to 1-18.

DUBLIN (MHC v Cork): F McGarry (Ballyboden St Enda’s); O Gough (Cuala), E Walsh (Ballyboden St Enda’s), P Schutte (Cuala); P Buckeridge (Ballyboden St Enda’s), R O’Carroll (Kilmacud Crokes), P Kelly (Lucan Sarsfields); A McMullan (Ballyboden St Enda’s), D Whelan (Crumlin); J Cooper (Na Fianna), D Treacy (Cuala), B O’Rourke (Kilmacud Crokes); N McMurrow (Ballyboden St Enda’s), P Garbutt (Nh Barrog), W Brogan (Na Fianna).

CORK (MHC v Dublin): D McCarthy (Sliabh Rua); C Hurley (Carrigaline), A Kearney (Midleton), K Murphy (Erins Own); L McLoughlin (Kanturk), J Herlihy (Newtownshandrum), C O’Donovan (Valley Rovers); S Farrell (Midleton), D O’Sullivan (Ballinascarthy); P Gould (Na Piarsaigh), M Bowles (Newtownshandrum), M O’Mahony (Sliabh Rua); L O’Farrell (Midleton), D Stack (Buttevant), R Clifford (Newtownshandrum).

GALWAY (MFC v Carlow): O Higgins (Corofin); D Rhattigan (Dunmore McHales), C Forde (Killererin), K Kelly (Ballinasloe); C Doherty (Tuam Stars), D O’Reilly (Oughterard), T Fahy (Killererin); P Conroy (St. James), A Griffin (Leitir Mor); JJ Greaney (Oughterard), T Walsh (Renvyle), E O’Mahony (Salthill-Knocknacarra); J Ryan (Killerrin-Clonberne), M Martyn (Cortoon Shamrocks), D Reddington (Dunmore McHales).

More in this section

CourtsGaaHurlingPlace: MullallyPlace: FennellyPlace: PortlaoisePlace: ThurlesPlace: NewryPerson: Richie PowerPerson: Aidan FogartyPerson: CodyPerson: FogartyPerson: JJ DelaneyPerson: James RyallPerson: Brian HoganPerson: John TennysonPerson: Martin FogartyPerson: TennysonPerson: HoganPerson: LyngPerson: Donncha CodyPerson: BrianPerson: Alan McMullanPerson: Darren WhelanPerson: F McGarryPerson: O GoughPerson: E WalshPerson: P SchuttePerson: P BuckeridgePerson: R O’CarrollPerson: P KellyPerson: A McMullanPerson: D WhelanPerson: J CooperPerson: D TreacyPerson: B O’RourkePerson: N McMurrowPerson: P GarbuttPerson: W BroganPerson: CorkPerson: D McCarthyPerson: C HurleyPerson: A KearneyPerson: K MurphyPerson: L McLoughlinPerson: J HerlihyPerson: C O’DonovanPerson: S FarrellPerson: D O’SullivanPerson: P GouldPerson: M BowlesPerson: M O’MahonyPerson: L O’FarrellPerson: D StackPerson: R CliffordPerson: O HigginsPerson: D RhattiganPerson: Dunmore McHalesPerson: C FordePerson: KillererinPerson: K KellyPerson: BallinasloePerson: C DohertyPerson: Tuam StarsPerson: D O’ReillyPerson: OughterardPerson: T FahyPerson: P ConroyPerson: St. JamesPerson: A GriffinPerson: Leitir MorPerson: JJ GreaneyPerson: T WalshPerson: RenvylePerson: E O’MahonyPerson: SalthillPerson: KnocknacarraPerson: J RyanPerson: Killerrin-ClonbernePerson: M MartynPerson: Cortoon ShamrocksPerson: D ReddingtonEvent: -IrelandEvent: ESB All-Ireland semi-finalEvent: LeinsterEvent: All-Ireland U-21 Hurling ChampionshipEvent: All-IrelandOrganisation: Kilkenny KilkennyOrganisation: WexfordOrganisation: GalwayOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: DublinOrganisation: KilkennyOrganisation: DerryOrganisation: MHCOrganisation: Ballyboden St Enda’sOrganisation: CualaOrganisation: Kilmacud CrokesOrganisation: Lucan SarsfieldsOrganisation: CrumlinOrganisation: Na FiannaOrganisation: Nh BarrogOrganisation: Sliabh RuaOrganisation: CarrigalineOrganisation: MidletonOrganisation: Erins OwnOrganisation: KanturkOrganisation: NewtownshandrumOrganisation: Valley RoversOrganisation: BallinascarthyOrganisation: Na PiarsaighOrganisation: Corofin
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.