Three Tipp debutants as Limerick stick to tried and trusted

No new faces on the Limerick team for next Sunday’s Munster SHC semi-final clash with Tipperary at the Gaelic Grounds.

But Tipp manager Michael ‘Babs’ Keating has introduced three new senior championship debutantes in the shape of Eamon Buckley, James Woodlock and Ryan O’Dwyer.

Buckley and Woodlock, both from the Drum-Inch club, are named at right corner back and midfield respectively, with the Cashel club’s O’Dwyer, down to play at centre forward.

Woodlock, O’Dwyer and Darragh Egan who will line out at left half forward were all members of last season’s Under 21 side that lost to Kilkenny in the All-Ireland final after a replay.

In a surprise move, team captain Benny Dunne is moved to centre back with Conor O’Mahony taking over the left half back position. O’Mahony was at centre back all through the League with Dunne on the left flank of defence.

Limerick Manager Ritchie Bennis has stuck by the old guard but regular wing back Pat Lawlor moves to midfield with Ollie Moran once again taking over the centre half forward duties.

Right half back Moss O’Riordan passed a fitness test last night on his injured hand and was automatically included in the starting line-up.

Offaly have made one change from the side that defeated Laois for their Leinster SHC semi final clash with reigning All-Ireland champions Kilkenny at Portlaoise on Sunday.

David Franks replaces Brendan O’Meara at left corner back.

Kilkenny, who are due to name their team on Friday night, have an injury doubt surrounding versatile forward Ritchie Power, who is currently carrying a hamstring injury. Manager Brian Cody has introduced last season’s outstanding minor Ritchie Hogan to the squad.

Nigel Higgins returns to the Wexford team for Saturday’s Leinster SHC semi-final showdown with Dublin at Nowlan Park, after having been out of action for the past two years. Higgins is selected at right corner forward with Darren Stamp at full forward.

Monaghan manager, Seamus McEneaney hands championship debuts to three players in the team announced for Sunday’s clash with Down in Newry.

Donal Morgan at corner back, Ciaran Hanratty and Shane Smith in attack are the new faces but there’s no place for Rory Woods or Dermot McArdle. Woods picked up an injury in a recent club championship game with Donaghmoyne while Dermot McArdle has been out for some time following an operation.

LIMERICK (SHC v Tipperary): B. Murray; D. Reale, S. Lucey, S. Hickey; M. O’Riordan, B. Geary, M. Foley; P. Lawlor, D. O’Grady; N. Moran, O. Moran, M. O’Brien, A. O’Shaughnessy, S.O’Connor, B. Foley.

TIPPERARY (SHC v Limerick): B. Cummins; E. Buckley, P. Curran, D. Fitzgerald; E. Corcoran, B. Dunne, C. O’Mahony; S. McGrath, J. Woodlock; J. Carroll, R. O’Dwyer, D. Egan; E. Kelly, L. Corbett, W. Ryan.

OFFALY (SHC v Kilkenny): B. Mullins; C. Hernon, P. Clancy, D. Franks; G. Oakley, D. Kennedy, K. Brady; B. Teehan, B. Murphy; D. Hannify, R. Hannify, D. Molloy; B. Carroll, J. Bergin, D. Murray.

WEXFORD (SHC v Dublin): D. Fitzhenry; M. Travers, D. Ruth, P. Roche; R. Kehoe, K. Rossiter, C. Kenny; D. Lyng, E. Quigley; M. Jacob, D. O’Connor, P. Carley; N. Higgins, D. Stamp, R. Jacob.

MONAGHAN (SFC v Down): S. Duffy, C. Flanagan, G. McQuaid, D. Morgan; D. Mone, V. Corey, J. Paul Mone; E.. Lennon, P. Finlay; D. Clerkin, S. Gollogly, D. Freeman; C. Hanratty, S. Smith, T. Freeman.

More in this section

GaaPlace: Gaelic GroundsPlace: PortlaoisePlace: Nowlan ParkPlace: NewryPerson: Michael ‘Babs’ KeatingPerson: Eamon BuckleyPerson: James WoodlockPerson: Ryan O’DwyerPerson: BuckleyPerson: WoodlockPerson: O’DwyerPerson: Darragh EganPerson: Benny DunnePerson: Conor O’MahonyPerson: O’MahonyPerson: DunnePerson: Ritchie BennisPerson: Pat LawlorPerson: Ollie MoranPerson: Moss O’RiordanPerson: David FranksPerson: Brendan O’MearaPerson: Ritchie PowerPerson: Brian CodyPerson: Ritchie HoganPerson: Nigel HigginsPerson: HigginsPerson: Darren StampPerson: Seamus McEneaneyPerson: Donal MorganPerson: Ciaran HanrattyPerson: Shane SmithPerson: Rory WoodsPerson: Dermot McArdlePerson: WoodsPerson: DonaghmoynePerson: LimerickPerson: B. MurrayPerson: D. RealePerson: S. HickeyPerson: M. O’RiordanPerson: GearyPerson: FoleyPerson: P. LawlorPerson: D. O’GradyPerson: N. MoranPerson: MoranPerson: A. O’ShaughnessyPerson: S.O’ConnorPerson: B. FoleyPerson: B. CumminsPerson: E. BuckleyPerson: P. CurranPerson: D. FitzgeraldPerson: E. CorcoranPerson: B. DunnePerson: C. O’MahonyPerson: S. McGrathPerson: J. WoodlockPerson: J. CarrollPerson: D. EganPerson: E. KellyPerson: L. CorbettPerson: W. RyanPerson: B. MullinsPerson: C. HernonPerson: P. ClancyPerson: D. FranksPerson: G. OakleyPerson: D. KennedyPerson: K. BradyPerson: B. TeehanPerson: MurphyPerson: D. HannifyPerson: R. HannifyPerson: D. MolloyPerson: B. CarrollPerson: J. BerginPerson: D. MurrayPerson: D. FitzhenryPerson: M. TraversPerson: D. RuthPerson: P. RochePerson: R. KehoePerson: K. RossiterPerson: C. KennyPerson: D. LyngPerson: QuigleyPerson: M. JacobPerson: D. O’ConnorPerson: N. HigginsPerson: S. DuffyPerson: C. FlanaganPerson: G. McQuaidPerson: D. MorganPerson: D. MonePerson: V. CoreyPerson: J. Paul MonePerson: E.. LennonPerson: P. FinlayPerson: D. ClerkinPerson: S. GolloglyPerson: D. FreemanPerson: C. HanrattyPerson: S. SmithEvent: Munster SHC semiEvent: All-IrelandEvent: Leinster SHCOrganisation: LimerickOrganisation: TipperaryOrganisation: TippOrganisation: Drum-InchOrganisation: CashelOrganisation: KilkennyOrganisation: OffalyOrganisation: LaoisOrganisation: WexfordOrganisation: DublinOrganisation: SHCOrganisation: SFC
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.237 s