Armagh boss Kernan calls up Donaghy and Toner for Donegal showdown

ARMAGH have two newcomers in their side for the Ulster SFC first round clash with NFL champions Donegal at Ballybofey.

Brendan Donaghy from Clonmore is named at full-back in place of the injured Francie Bellew, while Kieran Toner from Granemore, makes his debut at midfield alongside captain Paul McCrane.

This game will also mark the return to intercounty football of Diarmuid Marsden, who is named at full forward. Marsden’s last championship outing with the Orchard County was in the 2004 All-Ireland quarter-final when Joe Kernan’s side crashed to a shock defeat against Fermanagh.

Marsden subsequently retired but with Ronan Clarke still out following a cruciate ligament operation Kernan has succeeded in coaxing Marsden back into the big-time.

Meanwhile Wicklow captain Paul Earls and Breandán Ó hAnnaidh have been declared fit for Sunday’s Leinster SFC first round replay with Louth in Parnell Park. As a consequence team manager Mick O’Dwyer has named an unchanged side from the drawn game.

Opponents Louth have made one change from their starting line-up last weekend. Mark Stanfield who replaced left half forward Joe O’Brien early on, is now the first team choice on the left flank of attack.

The Munster Council last night announced times for the provincial senior football championship semi-finals on Sunday, June 3.

All-Ireland champions Kerry open the defence of their title against Waterford at Fraher Field, Dungarvan at 2pm. The game will be broadcast live on RTÉ’s The Sunday Game.

The tie will be followed by a Munster JFC semi-final between Clare and Kerry at 3.45pm.

Munster SFC champions Cork face Tipperary at 3pm in the Gaelic Grounds Limerick. That game will be preceded by a junior game between the same counties with a 1.45pm throw-in.

ARMAGH (SFC v Donegal): P. Hearty; E. McNulty, B. Donaghy, A. Mallon; A. Kernan, K. McGeaney, C. McKeever; K. Toner, P. McGrane; P. McKeever, S. Kernan, M. O’Rourke; S. McDonnell, D. Marsden, O. McConville.

WICKLOW (SFC v Louth): B. Norman; C. Hyland, D. Power, A. Byrne; B. Ó hAnnaidh, D. Ó hAnnaidh, J.P. Dalton; J. Stafford, T. Walsh; P. Earls, L. Glynn, P. Dalton; T. Gill, D. Jackman, T. Hannon.

LOUTH (SFC v Wicklow): S. Reynolds; D. Brennan, C. Goss, A. Page; R. Finnegan, P. McGinnity (Capt), J. Carr; P. Keenan, R. Carroll; C. Grimes, M. Brennan, M. Stanfield; A. Hoey, S. Lennon, D. Clarke.

DERRY (SH v Down): J. McEldowney; S. McCullagh, M. Conway, R. McCloskey; P. O’Kane, L. Hinphey, S. Henry; K. Hinphey, R. Convery; G. O’Kane, C. Quinn, R. Kennedy; G. Kelly; D. McSorley, L. McGoldrick.

CLARE (IHC v Cork): B. McNamara (Scariff); T. Keogh (Sixmilebridge), K. Kennedy (St. Josephs Doora-Barefield), E. Collins (Killenena); B. McPhillips (Wolfe Tones), J. Reddan (Sixmilebridge), A. McNamara (Killenana); H. Hayes (Feakle), D. Kennedy (St. Josephs Doora-Barefield); M. Flaherty (Killenena), F. Flynn (Eie Og Inis), C. McMaho (Kilmaley); G. McPhillips (Wolfe Tones), P. Keyes (do.), B. McMahon (Kilmaley).

Subs: B. O’Donnell (Crusheen), A. Fleming (Clooney-Quinn), M. Hawes (Cratloe), C. Lafferty (Kilnamona), A. Browne (Cratloe), G. Ryan (Do.), S. Mloney (Clarecastle), C. Earlie (Tubber), C. Hassett (St. Josephs Doora-Barefield), E. Whelan (do).

More in this section

GaaPlace: DonegalPlace: BallybofeyPlace: ClonmorePlace: GranemorePlace: Parnell ParkPlace: Fraher FieldPlace: DungarvanPlace: Gaelic GroundsPerson: KernanPerson: DonaghyPerson: TonerPerson: Brendan DonaghyPerson: Francie BellewPerson: Kieran TonerPerson: Paul McCranePerson: Diarmuid MarsdenPerson: MarsdenPerson: Joe KernanPerson: Ronan ClarkePerson: Paul EarlsPerson: Breandán Ó hAnnaidhPerson: Mick O’DwyerPerson: Mark StanfieldPerson: Joe O’BrienPerson: P. HeartyPerson: E. McNultyPerson: B. DonaghyPerson: A. MallonPerson: A. KernanPerson: K. McGeaneyPerson: C. McKeeverPerson: K. TonerPerson: P. McGranePerson: P. McKeeverPerson: S. KernanPerson: M. O’RourkePerson: S. McDonnellPerson: D. MarsdenPerson: McConvillePerson: B. NormanPerson: C. HylandPerson: D. PowerPerson: A. ByrnePerson: B. Ó hAnnaidhPerson: D. Ó hAnnaidhPerson: J.P. DaltonPerson: J. StaffordPerson: T. WalshPerson: P. EarlsPerson: L. GlynnPerson: P. DaltonPerson: T. GillPerson: D. JackmanPerson: T. HannonPerson: S. ReynoldsPerson: D. BrennanPerson: C. GossPerson: A. PagePerson: R. FinneganPerson: P. McGinnityPerson: J. CarrPerson: P. KeenanPerson: R. CarrollPerson: C. GrimesPerson: M. StanfieldPerson: A. HoeyPerson: S. LennonPerson: D. ClarkePerson: DerryPerson: J. McEldowneyPerson: S. McCullaghPerson: ConwayPerson: R. McCloskeyPerson: P. O’KanePerson: L. HinpheyPerson: S. HenryPerson: K. HinpheyPerson: R. ConveryPerson: G. O’KanePerson: QuinnPerson: R. KennedyPerson: G. KellyPerson: D. McSorleyPerson: B. McNamaraPerson: ScariffPerson: T. KeoghPerson: K. KennedyPerson: St. Josephs DooraPerson: E. CollinsPerson: KillenenaPerson: B. McPhillipsPerson: J. ReddanPerson: SixmilebridgePerson: A. McNamaraPerson: KillenanaPerson: H. HayesPerson: FeaklePerson: D. KennedyPerson: St. Josephs Doora-BarefieldPerson: M. FlahertyPerson: F. FlynnPerson: Eie Og InisPerson: C. McMahoPerson: KilmaleyPerson: G. McPhillipsPerson: P. KeyesPerson: B. McMahonPerson: B. O’DonnellPerson: CrusheenPerson: A. FlemingPerson: Clooney-QuinnPerson: M. HawesPerson: CratloePerson: C. LaffertyPerson: KilnamonaPerson: A. BrownePerson: G. RyanPerson: S. MloneyPerson: ClarecastlePerson: C. EarliePerson: TubberPerson: C. HassettPerson: E. WhelanEvent: Ulster SFCEvent: 2004 All-Ireland quarter-finalEvent: Leinster SFCEvent: JFCEvent: LouthOrganisation: Orchard CountyOrganisation: FermanaghOrganisation: WicklowOrganisation: LouthOrganisation: Munster CouncilOrganisation: All-IrelandOrganisation: KerryOrganisation: WaterfordOrganisation: RTÉOrganisation: ClareOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: TipperaryOrganisation: SFCOrganisation: DonegalOrganisation: SHOrganisation: IHCOrganisation: Wolfe Tones
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.245 s