Nallen set to make record appearance

JAMES NALLEN will become the most capped Mayo player of all time when he makes his 123rd appearance in the famous green and red jersey at Omagh on Sunday.

Nallen will also captain the Mayo team which shows a number of changes from the side that defeated Dublin last weekend.

David Clarke takes over in goal from Ken O’Malley who has a dislocated thumb. Aidan Higgins comes in at right corner back with James Kilcullen losing out, while Gary Mullins is in at right half back instead of Peader Gardiner.

For the game Tyrone manager Mickey Harte has made two changes. Donal Carlin, who missed the drawn game with Kerry due to flu, returns to the defence, replacing Ciaran Gourley in the left corner.

Colm McCullagh, who was sent off in the closing stages of last weekend’s game in Tralee, is suspended, and his place at full forward goes to Colm Cavanagh, who scored the equalising point as a late substitute at Austin Stack Park.

Stephen O’Neill also missed that game due to flu, but is available again. He must content himself, however, with a place on the bench.

Ger Collins gets his first League start when Limerick take on Cork at Pairc Ui Rinn on Sunday.

Collins is chosen at right corner forward ahead of John Cooke.

Despite their fine win over Armagh last weekend Laois have made four changes for their local-derby clash with Kildare at Newbridge on Sunday.

Fergal Byron takes over from Joe Nolan in goal. Chris Bergin replaces David Mangan at right half forward. Billy Sheehan comes in at left half forward in place of Brendan Quigley while Ross Munnelly is at top of the right instead of Michael J. Tierney.

The Cork football selectors are unable to name a team for Sunday’s crucial National League game against Limerick in Pairc Uí Rinn, with a host of players involved with their clubs in county championship games and the county under 21 team involved in a Munster final the day before. Defeat would see Cork joining Fermangh in Division 3 of the league next season.

TYRONE (SF v Mayo): P. McConnell; R. McMenamin, P. Donnelly, D. Carlin; D. Harte, C. Gormley, Justin McMahon; Joe McMahon, R. Mellon; B. Dooher, M. Penrose, R. Mulgrew; N. Gormley, C. Cavanagh, O. Mulligan.

MAYO (SF v Tyrone); D. Clarke; A. Higgins, L. O’Malley, K. Higgins; G. Mullins, B. J. Padden, E. Devenny; P. Harte, J. Nallon; A. Moran, G. Brady, A. Kilcoyne; C. Mortimer, A. Dillon, M. Conroy.

LAOIS (SF v Kildare); F. Byron; P. McMahon, C. Ryan, J. Higgins; P. O’Leary, D. Rooney, B. McCormack; P. Clancy, N. Galvin; C. Bergin, C. Conroy, B. Sheehan; R. Munnelly, P. Lawlor, B. McDonald.

LIMERICK (SF v Cork): S. Kiely; D. Carroll, J. McCarthy, S. Gallagher; P. Aherne, P. Brown, P. Ranahan; T. Cahill, J. Galvin; S. Lavan, J. Ryan, S. Buckley; G. Collins, D. Horan, M. Reidy.

More in this section

GaaFootballPlace: OmaghPlace: TraleePlace: Austin Stack ParkPlace: Páirc Uí RinnPlace: NewbridgePerson: NallenPerson: James NallenPerson: David ClarkePerson: Ken O’MalleyPerson: Aidan HigginsPerson: James KilcullenPerson: Gary MullinsPerson: Peader GardinerPerson: Mickey HartePerson: Donal CarlinPerson: KerryPerson: Ciaran GourleyPerson: Colm McCullaghPerson: Colm CavanaghPerson: Stephen O’NeillPerson: Ger CollinsPerson: CollinsPerson: John CookePerson: Fergal ByronPerson: Joe NolanPerson: Chris BerginPerson: David ManganPerson: Billy SheehanPerson: Brendan QuigleyPerson: Ross MunnellyPerson: Michael J. TierneyPerson: P. McConnellPerson: R. McMenaminPerson: P. DonnellyPerson: D. CarlinPerson: D. HartePerson: Justin McMahonPerson: Joe McMahonPerson: R. MellonPerson: B. DooherPerson: M. PenrosePerson: R. MulgrewPerson: N. GormleyPerson: CavanaghPerson: MayoPerson: D. ClarkePerson: A. HigginsPerson: L. O’MalleyPerson: K. HigginsPerson: G. MullinsPerson: J. PaddenPerson: E. DevennyPerson: P. HartePerson: J. NallonPerson: A. MoranPerson: G. BradyPerson: A. KilcoynePerson: C. MortimerPerson: DillonPerson: F. ByronPerson: P. McMahonPerson: C. RyanPerson: J. HigginsPerson: P. O’LearyPerson: D. RooneyPerson: B. McCormackPerson: P. ClancyPerson: N. GalvinPerson: C. BerginPerson: ConroyPerson: R. MunnellyPerson: P. LawlorPerson: McDonaldPerson: LimerickPerson: S. KielyPerson: D. CarrollPerson: J. McCarthyPerson: S. GallagherPerson: P. AhernePerson: P. BrownPerson: T. CahillPerson: J. GalvinPerson: S. LavanPerson: J. RyanPerson: S. BuckleyPerson: G. CollinsPerson: D. HoranEvent: National leagueEvent: MunsterOrganisation: MayoOrganisation: DublinOrganisation: TyroneOrganisation: LimerickOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: ArmaghOrganisation: LaoisOrganisation: KildareOrganisation: FermanghOrganisation: SF
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.22 s