O’Sullivan pleased with ‘very strong’ Munster side

SIX members of the All-Ireland winning Kerry team are included on the Munster team to play Connacht under lights in Ballyforan (Roscommon) tonight in the first of the Donnelly inter-provincial football semi-finals.

Mike McCarthy, Tom O’Sullivan, Aidan O’Mahony, Tommy Griffin, Kieran Donaghy and MF Russell have all made themselves available, along with Michael Shields, Ger Spillane, Conor McCarthy, Nicholas Murphy and Kevin O’Sullivan from Cork.

Waterford’s Gary Hurney leads the attack, while Fitzgerald (Tipperary) mans the goalkeeping position. Team manager Ger O’Sullivan (Cork) expressed his delight at the commitment shown by squad.

“Despite the loss of a number of key players due to other commitments, including county championships games, we have picked a very strong team. Every player is very keen to play,” said Ger.

“I know it’s a long way to have to travel. It means players having to take time off work on a Friday, but they all are prepared to make the journey. Players like James Masters, Donncha O’Connor and Alan Quirke were all desperately keen to play, but club commitments prevented them from making the journey. And, of course, with the wedding of Darragh Ó Sé tomorrow, we were unable to call on a number of other key Kerry players.

“Speaking with the other provincial managers during the week, we are all of the view that the competition should be used to kick start the new season.

“Despite the lack of interest among the public, the players are very keen and wanted it to stay. The timing of this year’s event is all wrong and it hasn’t any chance of surviving unless that can be got right”.

MUNSTER (v Connacht): P Fitzgerald (Tipperary); K O’Connor (Cork), M McCarthy (Kerry), T O’Sullivan (Kerry); M Shields (Cork), G Spillane (Cork), A O’Mahony (Kerry); N Murphy (Cork), T Griffin (Kerry); C McCarthy (Cork), G Hurney (Waterford), S Buckley (Limerick); K O’Sullivan (Cork), K Donaghy (Kerry), MF Russell (Kerry).

Subs: D O’Brien (Clare), P O’Neill (Cork), J Galvin (Limerick), G Quinlan (Clare), N Considine (Clare), B Lacey (Tipperary), A Morrissey (Tipperary), S Gallagher (Limerick), W Hennessy (Waterford).

CONNACHT (SF panel v Munster): D. Heaney, D. Clarke, D. Brady, K. McDonald, A. Dillon, C. Mortimer, G. Brady, P. Harte (Mayo); K. Fitzgerald, D. Burke, D. Meehan, A. Kerins, M. Meehan, F. Hanley, D. Savage, J. Bergin (Galway); G. Heneghan, S. Daly, G. Claffey, J. McDermott (Rocommon); E. O’Hara, S. Davey, M. Breheny (Sligo); B. McWeeney, J. Clancy (Leitrim).

LEINSTER (SF panel v Ulster): G Connaughton, M Ennis, A Mangan (Westmeath); A Fennelly, D Rooney, B Quigley, P Clancy (Laois); J Sheridan, C King (Meath); K Slattery (Offaly); C Moran, D Lally, C Keaney, B Cahill (Dublin); J Doyle, D Earley, P O’Neill (Kildare); M Carpenter, T Walsh (Carlow); D Clarke (Louth); M Forde, D Kinsella (Wexford); B Kavanagh, B McElvaney, D Reilly, D Sheridan (Longford).

ULSTER (v Leinster): P Hearty (Armagh), A Mallon (Armagh), B Owens (Fermanagh), F Bellew (Armagh), B Dunnion (Donegal), B Monaghan (Donegal), P Jordan (Tyrone), D Gordon (Down), N Gallagher (Donegal), D Clerkin (Monaghan), S Cavanagh (Tyrone), F Doherty (Derry), S Johnston (Cavan), S O’Neill (Tyrone, capt), P Bradley (Derry).

Subs: J Reilly (Cavan), R McCluskey (Fermanagh), P Brady (Cavan), A Kernan (Armagh), E McGee (Donegal), M McGrath (Fermanagh), E Lennon (Monaghan), P Finlay (Monaghan), E Bradley (Derry), K McGourty (Antrim), C Toye (Donegal), K Lacey (Donegal).

More in this section

GaaFootballPlace: BallyforanPlace: RoscommonPlace: CorkPlace: TipperaryPlace: LeitrimPlace: WestmeathPlace: KildarePlace: DonegalPerson: O’SullivanPerson: Mike McCarthyPerson: Tom O’SullivanPerson: Aidan O’MahonyPerson: Tommy GriffinPerson: Kieran DonaghyPerson: MF RussellPerson: Michael ShieldsPerson: Ger SpillanePerson: Conor McCarthyPerson: Nicholas MurphyPerson: Kevin O’SullivanPerson: Gary HurneyPerson: FitzgeraldPerson: Ger O’SullivanPerson: GerPerson: James MastersPerson: Donncha O’ConnorPerson: Alan QuirkePerson: Darragh Ó SéPerson: P FitzgeraldPerson: K O’ConnorPerson: M McCarthyPerson: T O’SullivanPerson: M ShieldsPerson: G SpillanePerson: A O’MahonyPerson: N MurphyPerson: T GriffinPerson: C McCarthyPerson: G HurneyPerson: S BuckleyPerson: K O’SullivanPerson: K DonaghyPerson: D O’BrienPerson: P O’NeillPerson: J GalvinPerson: G QuinlanPerson: N ConsidinePerson: B LaceyPerson: A MorrisseyPerson: S GallagherPerson: W HennessyPerson: D. HeaneyPerson: D. ClarkePerson: D. BradyPerson: K. McDonaldPerson: A. DillonPerson: C. MortimerPerson: G. BradyPerson: P. HartePerson: K. FitzgeraldPerson: D. BurkePerson: D. MeehanPerson: A. KerinsPerson: M. MeehanPerson: F. HanleyPerson: D. SavagePerson: J. BerginPerson: G. HeneghanPerson: S. DalyPerson: G. ClaffeyPerson: J. McDermottPerson: E. O’HaraPerson: S. DaveyPerson: M. BrehenyPerson: B. McWeeneyPerson: J. ClancyPerson: G ConnaughtonPerson: M EnnisPerson: A ManganPerson: A FennellyPerson: D RooneyPerson: B QuigleyPerson: P ClancyPerson: J SheridanPerson: C KingPerson: K SlatteryPerson: C MoranPerson: D LallyPerson: C KeaneyPerson: B CahillPerson: J DoylePerson: D EarleyPerson: M CarpenterPerson: T WalshPerson: D ClarkePerson: M FordePerson: D KinsellaPerson: B KavanaghPerson: B McElvaneyPerson: D ReillyPerson: D SheridanPerson: P HeartyPerson: A MallonPerson: B OwensPerson: F BellewPerson: B DunnionPerson: B MonaghanPerson: P JordanPerson: D GordonPerson: N GallagherPerson: D ClerkinPerson: S CavanaghPerson: F DohertyPerson: S JohnstonPerson: S O’NeillPerson: P BradleyPerson: J ReillyPerson: R McCluskeyPerson: P BradyPerson: A KernanPerson: E McGeePerson: M McGrathPerson: E LennonPerson: P FinlayPerson: E BradleyPerson: K McGourtyPerson: C ToyePerson: K LaceyEvent: DONNELLYOrganisation: MunsterOrganisation: All-IrelandOrganisation: KerryOrganisation: ConnachtOrganisation: WaterfordOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: LimerickOrganisation: ClareOrganisation: TipperaryOrganisation: SFOrganisation: MayoOrganisation: SligoOrganisation: OffalyOrganisation: WexfordOrganisation: LongfordOrganisation: LeinsterOrganisation: ArmaghOrganisation: FermanaghOrganisation: DonegalOrganisation: TyroneOrganisation: MonaghanOrganisation: DerryOrganisation: CavanOrganisation: Antrim
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.