Dubs go unchanged for Mayo semi-final clash

DUBLIN, as expected, have named the same team that hammered Westmeath for Sunday’s Bank of Ireland All-Ireland SFC semi-final clash with Mayo.

Mayo are due to announce their team after training tonight. Wing forward Billy Joe Padden is continuing to have treatment on his damaged hamstring, while corner forward Michael Conroy is reported to be “fine” after being forced off with concussion during last Sunday’s quarter-final victory over Laois.

However, Conroy will be under pressure to gain first-team recognition following Aidan Kilcoyne’s impressive showing on his introduction for his injured colleague.

Louth, who will select their team to play Leitrim in the Tommy Murphy cup final at Croke Park on Sunday have slight injury doubts about midfielder Sean O’Neill and defender Peter McGinnitty. Both picked up knocks while playing with their clubs Cooley Kickhams and Dundalk Gaels at the weekend.

Leitrim have also deferred the selection of their team because of injuries to John McKeown and Garry McCluskey.

McKeown has a dental problem, while McCluskey sustained a wrist injury in a club game.

Meanwhile Ronan Conway of Bishopstown has received his call up papers for next Saturday’s All-Ireland Intermediate Hurling Championship final clash with Kilkenny at Fraher Field, Dungarvan. In the only change from the team that defeated Tipperary in the Munster decider, Conway replaces Seamus Hayes of Courcey Rovers in the left-corner forward position.

Kilkenny are due to name their team tonight but report no injury problems.

DUBLIN (SFC v Mayo): S. Cluxton; I. Henry, B. Cahill, P. Griffen; P. Casey, B. Cullen, C. Coggins; C. Whelan, S. Ryan; C. Keeney, A. Brogan, R. Cosgrove; J. Sherlock, K. Bonner, T. Quinn.

CORK (IHC v Kilkenny): A. Nash (Kanturk); J. Hughes (Blarney), W. Twomey (Kilworth), T. Lordan (Courcey Rovers); B. Lombard (Ballinhassig), D. McSweeney (Blarney), V. Hurley (Courcey Rovers); M. O’Callaghan (Argideen Rangers), K. Hartnett (Russell Rovers); R. O’Dwyer (Ballymartle), D. Dineen (Ballinhassig), J. Russell (Grenagh); M. O’Sullivan (Ballyhea), R. O’Doherty (Ballincollig), R. Conway (Bishopstown).

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.206 s