Limerick hit back to dump holders

Limerick Schools 0-12 Coláiste An Spioraid Naomh 0-9

Limerick Schools maintained their perfect record and progressed to the quarter-finals.

However, the Limerick mentors will be concerned with a wides tally of 12, a statistic not punished by an understrength CSN.

In fact, for much of the first half it appeared as if such an upset was not on the cards. Padraig Kennedy opened the scoring for the amalgamation in the first minute but they went 23 minutes without another score as the Cork side took control.

They had the equalising point from Denis Maher ­ his first of five ­ in the fourth minute, and might have had a goal were it not for the anticipation of Ciaran Carbery, who blocked a shot from Paul Honohan after a wonderful through ball from Kieran Corbett. Sean Flood got to the rebound but his shot, too, was blocked before Alan O’Neill eventually pointed.

Paul Honohan, Kieran Corbett, and midfielder Mike Power all had points before Pat Mullins had Limerick’s second point from a free six minutes from half-time.

Denis Maher added a point for CSN but two points from Pat Mullins ­ one from a free and the other a delightful score from long range ­ cut the margin to two points, (0-6 to 0-4), at the break.

Limerick schools stepped up a gear in the third quarter. With man of the match Jamsie Carroll, leading by example in defence, Pat Mullins lording it at midfield and Eoin O’Brien, along with Padraig Kennedy, running riot in attack, they were on level terms four minutes into the second half and took the lead a minute later.

Points from Joe O¹Connor and Brian Shannon, who came on as a blood sub for Padraig Behan just after he himself had been replaced, had them three points clear and coasting.

Scorers: Limerick Colleges: P. Mullins 0-4 (0-3 frees), E. O’Brien 0-3, P. Kennedy 0-2, J. Murphy, J. O’Connor and B. Shannon 0-1 each. Colaiste Spioraid Naomh: D. Maher 0-5 (0-3 frees), M. Power, A. O’Neill, K. Corbett and P. Honohan 0-1 each.

LIMERICK COLLEGES: C. Carbery (St. Clement’s); K. Nolan (Ard Scoil Ris), M. Cahill (St. Clement’s), K. Hartnett (St. Munchin’s); J. Carroll (Ard Scoil Ris), P. Corrigan (Ard Scoil Ris), M. McCormack (Ard Scoil Ris); P. Behan (Crescent Comprehensive), P. Mullins (Limerick CBS); P. Kennedy (Ard Scoil Ris), J. Murphy (St. Clement’s), B. Canty (Ard Scoil Ris); B. Shannon (St. Nessan’s), J. O’Connor (St. Munchin’s), E. O’Brien (St. Clement’s). Subs: S. Considine (CBS) for B. Canty; S. O’Sullivan (Ard Scoil ris) for B. Shannon; C. Purtil (Crescent Comprehensive) for P. Behan.

COLÁISTE AN SPIORAID NAOMH: M. Collins; A. Burns, R. Mawe, S. Power; P. hayes, J. Neville, C. Jones; M. Power, A. Seymour; A. O’Neill, K. Corbett, C. Lottrell; S. Flood, P. Honohan, D. Maher. Subs: J. O’Sullivan for P. Honohan; O. Forde for C. Jones; M. O’Donovan for S. Flood; S. Cremin for C. Lottrell.

Referee: Davy Carroll (Galtee Rangers).

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd