Hanrahan the unlikely hero in Waterford derby

Coláistí Na nDeise 2-10 De La Salle (Waterford)1-7

The corner back popped up on the fringe of the opposition square with just four minutes of normal time remaining to calmly despatch a goal which assured his side victory in this entertaining spectacle.

Having led by a point at half-time De La Salle seemed to be heading for their expected win when they held a two-point advantage after 50 minutes.

But then the game turned dramatically on a superb goal by Patrick Hurney after great work by the outstanding Mark O’Gorman. De La Salle started to crumble as their opponents surged forward.

With John Kindregan playing a starring role at full back and John Morrissey equally effective alongside him, the winners looked by far the better side in the opening quarter.

They eased an unflattering 0-5 to 0-2 in front by the 17th minute, but De La Salle were right back in contention a minute later when Sean Ivory set up Eoin O’Neill for a smartly taken equalising goal.

With James Quirke leading the charge in attack the city college finished the better and Quirke’s superbly taken point seconds before the break gave them a 1-4 to 0-6 going in at the break.

The introduction of substitute Brian Bannon after the break was to prove a master move for the winners.

Bannon rifled over a marvellous point in the 46th minute to again leave the minimum between the sides, although Quirke, now at centre forward, replied immediately with another fine score for De La Salle. But then came the strikes of Hurney and Hanrahan to put them in control.

Two more points followed from full forward Mark O’Gorman, for the perfect finish by their man of the match.

Scorers for Coláistí Na nDeise: M O’Gorman(0-5); P Hurney(1-0); S Hanrahan(1-0); J Nagle(0-2); M Fives, N O’Mhurchu, B Bannon(0-1) each.

De La Salle: J Quirke(0-5); E O’Neill(1-0); D Ellis, K Moran(0-1) each.

COLAÍSTÍ Na nDEISE: B Scanlon; J Morrissey, J Kindregan, S Hanrahan; M Flynn, B McCarthy, M Prendergast; P Phelan, J Mullen; M Fives, N O’Murchu. P Hurney; M O’Brien, M O’Gorman, J Nagle

Substitute: B Bannon for Phelan.

DE LA SALLE: E Martin; P Kelly, N Delahunty, D Greene; K Norris. M Doherty. D Heffernan; K Moran, D Ellis; S Ivory, K Kelly, M Power; T Power, J Quirke, E O’Neill

Substitutes: S Wall for M Power; A Dunne for Norris.

Referee: Willie Sweeney, Tipperary.

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up