Cork minors ring changes for Galway tie

THE Cork team to play Galway in the All-Ireland minor hurling semi-final on Sunday shows three changes in personnel from the side that snatched victory from Tipperary in the Munster final.

Ger O’Driscoll replaces Padraig Cotter in defence, while Eoin Murphy and Peter O’Brien come in for Carthach Keane and Fintan O’Leary in attack.

All three were introduced as substitutes in the Munster final, where Murphy’s last minute goal denied Tipperary their fourth consecutive title.

Kildorrery’s Peter O’Brien played a starring role for Cistercian College (Roscrea) in the All-Ireland Colleges “B” SHC earlier this year.

A prolific free-taker, O’Brien chalked up 13 points in his school’s thrilling one-point victory over Nenagh CBS in the All-Ireland semi-final.

He scored three points in the final against St Pat’s (Maghera).

Ger O’Driscoll, making his championship debut at right corner-back, and Kevin Canty were members of the St Brogan’s team which won the All-Ireland Vocational Schools double in May.

Positional switches see Brendan Coleman move from corner-back to left half-back, with team captain Shane O’Neill moving to centre-back.

Goalkeeper Ken O’Halloran, Niall Horgan, Eoin Cadogan and Kevin Canty are members of the county minor football team.

The Galway mentors have also made a number of changes from the side that trounced Antrim.

Galway’s John Hughes, who received a straight red card against Antrim, is ruled out and his place is taken by Keith Kilkenny.

The other changes see Gerard Mahon in at full- back for Vincent Flaherty and Vincent Coone and Joe Canning are preferred to Kenneth Walsh and Adrian Murphy in attack.

CORK (MHC v Galway): K. O’Halloran (Bishopstown); G. O’Driscoll (Newcestown), N. Horgan (Glen Rovers), M. McCarthy (Blarney); E. Cadogan (Douglas), S. O’Neill (Bishopstown), B. Coleman (Ballinhassig); R. Conway (Bishopstown), G. O’Leary (Fr. O’Neills); P. Cronin (Bishopstown), E. Murphy (Erins Own), C. Naughton (Newtown); P. O’Brien (Kildorrery), K. Canty (Valley Rovers), B. Ring (Youghal). Subs. A. Kennedy (Sarsfields), P. Cotter (St. Catherines), M. O’Connor (Cobh), E. Dillon (Milford), M. Walsh (Kildorrery), R. O’Connell (St. Catherines), C. Keane (Newcestown), P. Horgan (Glen Rovers), F. O’Leary (Ballinhassig).

GALWAY (MHC v Cork): M. Herlihy (Kilnadeema-Leitrim); P. Loughnane (Cappataggle), G. Mahon (Kinvara), C. O’Donovan (Athenry); M. Ryan (Kilconieron), J. Lee (Liam Mellowes), K. Kilkenny (Kiltomer); A. Carey (do.), D. Kennedy (Adrahan); K. Coen (Ballindereen), K. Hynes (Sarsfields), V. Coone (Mullagh); J. Canning (Portumna), K. Wade (Sarsfields), B. Hanley (Carnmore). Subs. D. Starr (Tommie Larkins), V. Flaherty (Mycullen), S. Burke (Kilnadeema-Leitrim), D. Whyte (Tommie Larkins), B. Dooley (Loughrea), A. Murphy (Annaghdown), B. Murphy (Turloughmore), K. Walsh (Liam Mellowes), E. Collins (Clarenbridge), K. Haverty (Loughrea).

More in this section

GaaHurlingPlace: TipperaryPlace: BallinhassigPerson: Ger O’DriscollPerson: Padraig CotterPerson: Eoin MurphyPerson: Peter O’BrienPerson: Carthach KeanePerson: Fintan O’LearyPerson: MurphyPerson: O’BrienPerson: NenaghPerson: Kevin CantyPerson: Brendan ColemanPerson: Shane O’NeillPerson: Ken O’HalloranPerson: Niall HorganPerson: Eoin CadoganPerson: John HughesPerson: Keith KilkennyPerson: Gerard MahonPerson: Vincent FlahertyPerson: Vincent CoonePerson: Joe CanningPerson: Kenneth WalshPerson: Adrian MurphyPerson: K. O’HalloranPerson: G. O’DriscollPerson: N. HorganPerson: M. McCarthyPerson: E. CadoganPerson: S. O’NeillPerson: B. ColemanPerson: R. ConwayPerson: G. O’LearyPerson: P. CroninPerson: E. MurphyPerson: C. NaughtonPerson: P. O’BrienPerson: K. CantyPerson: B. RingPerson: A. KennedyPerson: P. CotterPerson: M. O’ConnorPerson: E. DillonPerson: M. WalshPerson: R. O’ConnellPerson: C. KeanePerson: P. HorganPerson: F. O’LearyPerson: M. HerlihyPerson: P. LoughnanePerson: G. MahonPerson: KinvaraPerson: C. O’DonovanPerson: M. RyanPerson: KilconieronPerson: J. LeePerson: Liam MellowesPerson: K. KilkennyPerson: KiltomerPerson: A. CareyPerson: D. KennedyPerson: AdrahanPerson: K. CoenPerson: BallindereenPerson: K. HynesPerson: V. CoonePerson: J. CanningPerson: K. WadePerson: B. HanleyPerson: D. StarrPerson: Tommie LarkinsPerson: V. FlahertyPerson: S. BurkePerson: KilnadeemaPerson: D. WhytePerson: B. DooleyPerson: LoughreaPerson: A. MurphyPerson: AnnaghdownPerson: B. MurphyPerson: TurloughmorePerson: K. WalshPerson: E. CollinsPerson: ClarenbridgePerson: K. HavertyEvent: All-IrelandEvent: MunsterEvent: All-Ireland semi-Organisation: CorkOrganisation: GalwayOrganisation: TipperaryOrganisation: Cistercian CollegeOrganisation: RoscreaOrganisation: All-Ireland Colleges “BOrganisation: St Pat’sOrganisation: MagheraOrganisation: St BroganOrganisation: AntrimOrganisation: MHCOrganisation: NewcestownOrganisation: Glen RoversOrganisation: BlarneyOrganisation: BishopstownOrganisation: Fr. O’NeillsOrganisation: Erins OwnOrganisation: NewtownOrganisation: KildorreryOrganisation: Valley RoversOrganisation: YoughalOrganisation: SUBSOrganisation: SarsfieldsOrganisation: St. CatherinesOrganisation: CobhOrganisation: MilfordOrganisation: KilnadeemaOrganisation: LeitrimOrganisation: CappataggleOrganisation: AthenryOrganisation: MullaghOrganisation: Carnmore
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.202 s