Waterford IT run Limerick close

Limerick 1-19 Waterford IT 3-10

The Tralee-based garda showed he will be a decided asset to the Shannonsiders this season, but coach Joe McKenna won’t be pleased at the way his side let a 10-point lead slip in the second half of a keenly-contest match.

Limerick forged 1-15 to 0-8 in front after 45 minutes, but the students put in a storming finish which yielded 2-2 and the home side were grateful for the final whistle.

The game was a personal triumph for Mark Keane, who has opted to concentrate on hurling for the coming year. He was Limerick’s top scorer with 1-10, 0-8 from placed balls, while WIT’s Brian Dowling was five points behind him on 1-6.

Limerick, who play Cork next Sunday in a tournament game, are now unbeaten after five matches but will have to show a big improvement, particularly in attack, if they are to be serious championship contenders.

After Limerick had taken a commanding 0-5 to 0-1 lead by the 10th minute, WIT recovered superbly to be just two points adrift at the break, 0-8 to 0-6, principally due to Dowling’s free-taking.

Mark Keane grabbed the game’s opening goal in the 35th minute but the Waterford students weren’t about to roll over and after Willie Ryan drove a penalty over the bar, Brian Dowling found the net from a 20-metre free.

The home side’s cause wasn’t helped by the sending off of Brian Geary and a marvellous hand passing movement put Conor Phelan in for a third WIT goal with a minute left.

Scorers for Limerick: M Keane 1-10 (0-6 frees, 0-2 65s); M O’Brien, D Ryan, C Fitzgerald 0-2 each; O Moran, TJ Ryan, N Moran 0-1 each.

Scorers for WIT: B Dowling 1-6 (0-6 frees); W Ryan 1-1; C Phelan 1-0; A Cullinane, M Walsh, C O’Brien 0-1 each.

LIMERICK: T Houlihan; D Reale, K Breen, M Foley; O Moran, B Geary, M O’Riordan; P O’Grady, N Collins; C Fitzgerald, M O’Brien, D Ryan; M Fitzgerald, TJ Ryan, M Keane. Subs: B Begley for TJ Ryan; N Curtis for M Fitzgerald; P Cregan for C Fitzgerald; N Moran for Collins; J Deere for M O’Brien.

WIT: M Hickey; K Lanigan, K Moran, H Moloney; J Mahon, K Brady, L Lawlor; D Hoctor, M Walsh; E Reid, C Phelan, A Cullinane; N Gleeson, W Ryan, B Dowling. Subs: R McLoughney for Gleeson; C O’Brien for Hoctor; G Nolan for Moloney.

Referee: G Hoey (Clare).

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.203 s