Nash gets chance to impress selectors

CORK include only one senior panellist, Kevin Hartnett, on their U-21 team for tonight’s Munster’s hurling championship first round game against Waterford at Walsh Park.

The clash gives keeper Anthony Nash the opportunity to show off his talents to the Cork’s senior selectors. The Kanturk youngster is one of the principal reasons his club and Duhallow division are doing well at intermediate and senior level this season.

Waterford include two seniors, Liam Lawlor and Wayne Hutchinson in their starting 15. Waterford last beat Cork at this level in 1992 when they had two points to spare (1-10 to 0-11) in the semi-final before going on to beat Clare by the same margin (0-17 to 1-12) in the final.

Last year Cork were successful in the semi-final against Waterford at Páirc Uí Chaoimh, 0-17 to 1-8, before losing the final to Tipperary after a replay in Cork.

In the minor championships of the last three years, Cork defeated Waterford twice, 2002 and 2004.

Limerick include four senior panellists on their team to play Kerry in the same championship tonight at the Gaelic Grounds, David Breen, Pat Kirby, Alan O’Connor and Andrew O’Shaughnessy.

Both Kirby and O’Shaughnessy have won Harty Cup and All-Ireland colleges medals with St. Colmans College (Fermoy).

CORK (U21 HC v Waterford): A. Nash (Kanturk); P. Fitzgerald (Erins Own), D. McSweeney (Blarney), E. O’Sullivan (Ballyhea); S. O’Neill (Bishopstown), K. Hartnett (Russell Rovers), S. Cronin (St. Marys/UCC); M. Naughton (Cloyne), PJ Copps (Rathluirc); B. Barry (Killeagh), S. O’Sullivan (Na Piarsaigh), D. Cronin (Glen Rovers); M. O’Sullivan (Ballyhea), J. Bowles (Newtownshandrum), D. Dorris (Glen Rovers). Subs: S. Bowen (Erins Own), D. Cunningham (Glen Rovers), E. Cadogan (Douglas), A. Ryan (Midleton), A. Dunlea (Glen Rovers), P. Flynn (Ballyclough), G. Loughlin (Sarsfields), R. Conway (Bishopstown), M. Cussen (Sarsfields).

WATERFORD (u21 HC v Cork): D. Ryan (Mount Sion); J. O’Farrell (do)C. Walsh (St. Olivers), T. Power (Ballygunner); J. Kindergan (Abbeyside), L. Lawlor (Fourmilewater), W. Hutchinson (Ballygunner); A. Kearney (Tallow), K. Stafford (Mount Sion); J. Nagle (Dungarvan), M. Fives (Abbeyside), G. O’Connor (Ballygunner); M. Whelan (Clonea), S. Molumphy (Ballygunner Upper), J. Heneghan (Lismore).

Subs: S. Kelly (DLS), M. O’Brien (Tallow), B. Scanlon (Abbeyside), M. Gorman (do.), M. Walsh (Lismore), M. Hobsan (Mount Sion), P. Kelly (do.), P. Phelan (Abbeyside), P. Hogan (Ballygunner).

LIMERICK (U21 HC v Limerick): M. Fitzgerald (Doon); D. Moloney (do.), E. Benson (Dromin/Athlacca), S. Walsh (Glenroe); B. Hanley (Granagh/Ballingarry), W. McNamara (Adare), D. Breen (Na Piarsaigh); D. Moloney (Effin), M. Noonan (Adare); P. Kirby (Knockainey), P. McNamara (Murroe/Boher), P. Russell (Monaleen); A. O’Shaughnessy (Kilmallock), A. O’Connor (Ballybrown), E. Ryan (Kilmallock).

Subs: B. Murray (Patrickswell), P. Carroll (Feohanagh), M. Cleary (Knockainey), K. O’Mahony (Kilmallock), A. Hennessy (Na Piarsaigh), R. Ryan (Doon), A. O’Connell (Adare), P. Cregan (Croom), J. Barry (Pallasgreen).

KERRY (U21 HC v Limerick): M Ryall (Lixnaw); F Gillane (Causeway), K Dineen Abbeydorney), M Quilter Lixnaw); D Walsh Ballyheigue), M Cronin (Lixnaw), R Galvin Do)I McCarthy (Abbeydorney), B O’Grady (Ballyduff); D Dineen St. Brendans), T Murnane (Kilmoyley), J Egan (St. Brendans); K Fitzmaurice (Lixnaw), K Leahy (Causeway), S Maunsell (Kilmoyley).

Subs: T Fealy (Abbeydorney), T Brosnan (Lixnaw), J Maunsell (Abbeydorney), D Fahy (do.), , M Barry (Crotta O’Neills), S Griffin (St. Brendans), N O’Sullivan (do.), D Moriarty (do.), J O’Sullivan (Kilmoyley).

More in this section

CourtsGaaHurlingPlace: Walsh ParkPlace: Páirc Uí ChaoimhPlace: TipperaryPlace: LismorePerson: NashPerson: Kevin HartnettPerson: Anthony NashPerson: KanturkPerson: Liam LawlorPerson: Wayne HutchinsonPerson: KerryPerson: David BreenPerson: Pat KirbyPerson: Alan O’ConnorPerson: Andrew O’ShaughnessyPerson: KirbyPerson: O’ShaughnessyPerson: A. NashPerson: P. FitzgeraldPerson: D. McSweeneyPerson: E. O’SullivanPerson: S. O’NeillPerson: K. HartnettPerson: S. CroninPerson: M. NaughtonPerson: PJ CoppsPerson: B. BarryPerson: S. O’SullivanPerson: D. CroninPerson: M. O’SullivanPerson: J. BowlesPerson: D. DorrisPerson: S. BowenPerson: D. CunninghamPerson: E. CadoganPerson: A. RyanPerson: A. DunleaPerson: P. FlynnPerson: G. LoughlinPerson: R. ConwayPerson: M. CussenPerson: D. RyanPerson: J. O’FarrellPerson: C. WalshPerson: T. PowerPerson: J. KinderganPerson: L. LawlorPerson: W. HutchinsonPerson: A. KearneyPerson: K. StaffordPerson: J. NaglePerson: M. FivesPerson: G. O’ConnorPerson: M. WhelanPerson: S. MolumphyPerson: J. HeneghanPerson: S. KellyPerson: M. O’BrienPerson: TallowPerson: B. ScanlonPerson: M. GormanPerson: M. WalshPerson: M. HobsanPerson: P. KellyPerson: P. PhelanPerson: P. HoganPerson: LimerickPerson: M. FitzgeraldPerson: D. MoloneyPerson: E. BensonPerson: S. WalshPerson: B. HanleyPerson: W. McNamaraPerson: AdarePerson: D. BreenPerson: Na PiarsaighPerson: EffinPerson: M. NoonanPerson: P. KirbyPerson: KnockaineyPerson: P. McNamaraPerson: MurroePerson: BoherPerson: P. RussellPerson: MonaleenPerson: A. O’ShaughnessyPerson: A. O’ConnorPerson: E. RyanPerson: B. MurrayPerson: PatrickswellPerson: P. CarrollPerson: FeohanaghPerson: M. ClearyPerson: K. O’MahonyPerson: A. HennessyPerson: R. RyanPerson: DoonPerson: A. O’ConnellPerson: P. CreganPerson: CroomPerson: J. BarryPerson: M RyallPerson: F GillanePerson: K Dineen AbbeydorneyPerson: M Quilter LixnawPerson: D Walsh BallyheiguePerson: M CroninPerson: R Galvin DoPerson: I McCarthyPerson: B O’GradyPerson: BallyduffPerson: D Dineen St. BrendansPerson: T MurnanePerson: J EganPerson: K FitzmauricePerson: K LeahyPerson: S MaunsellPerson: T FealyPerson: AbbeydorneyPerson: T BrosnanPerson: J MaunsellPerson: D FahyPerson: M BarryPerson: Crotta O’NeillsPerson: S GriffinPerson: N O’SullivanPerson: D MoriartyPerson: J O’SullivanPerson: KilmoyleyEvent: Harty CupOrganisation: WaterfordOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: ClareOrganisation: LimerickOrganisation: All-IrelandOrganisation: St. Colmans CollegeOrganisation: U21 HCOrganisation: KanturkOrganisation: Erins OwnOrganisation: BlarneyOrganisation: BallyheaOrganisation: BishopstownOrganisation: Russell RoversOrganisation: St. MarysOrganisation: UCCOrganisation: RathluircOrganisation: KilleaghOrganisation: Na PiarsaighOrganisation: Glen RoversOrganisation: NewtownshandrumOrganisation: DouglasOrganisation: MidletonOrganisation: BallycloughOrganisation: SarsfieldsOrganisation: Mount SionOrganisation: St. OliversOrganisation: BallygunnerOrganisation: AbbeysideOrganisation: DungarvanOrganisation: DLSOrganisation: DoonOrganisation: DrominOrganisation: AthlaccaOrganisation: GranaghOrganisation: BallingarryOrganisation: KilmallockOrganisation: LixnawOrganisation: CausewayOrganisation: St. Brendans
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.