Canavan in and Harte happy with Tyrone switches

MICKEY HARTE is sticking with the successful half-time switches made in the drawn All- Ireland quarter-final thriller with Dublin for tomorrow’s replay in Croke Park.

That means sticking with Conor Gormley’s switch from midfield to centre-back and Enda McGinley’s move to midfield. And there’s a first start for Peter Canavan since the drawn Ulster final against Armagh.

Just nine players start in the same position they did a fortnight ago, but there are just two changes in personnel.

Gavin Devlin gives way to Gormley in the centre of the defence, while Mickey McGee comes in for a first start of the season at corner back for Shane Sweeney.

McGinley’s move to midfield leaves the way open for Canavan, now fully fit again after rib and shoulder problems, to slot in at corner forward.

Mayo have kept faith with the team which defeated Armagh in their quarter-final for Sunday’s MFC semi-final against Kerry in Croke Park.

As expected the Kerry selectors have named the same fifteen that thrashed Laois in the quarter-final for Sunday’s semi-final.

The Down minor selectors have made on change from the team which defeated Galway in the quarter-final for tomorrow’s All-Ireland semi-final against Offaly in Navan (6 p.m.). Hugh Magee comes in at left corner back in place of John McClorey.

Meanwhile 1991 Down All-Ireland winning captain Paddy O’Rourke has been re-appointed as Down senior and U21 football team manager.

Last year O’Rourke led Down to their first U21 All Ireland final appearance since 1984, but were defeated by Galway in a 10 goal thriller, while their seniors failed to Tyrone in the first round of the Ulster championship, defeated Fermanagh in round one of the Qualifiers before bowing out to Derry in the second round.

TYRONE (SFC v Dublin): P McConnell; R McMenamin, C Lawn, M McGee; D Harte, C Gormley, P Jordan; E McGinley, S Cavanagh; B Dooher, B McGuigan, R Mellon; P Canavan, S O’ Neill, O Mulligan.

DOWN (MFC v Offaly): M. McAllister; G. Magee, C. Garvey, H. Magee; G. McCartan, E. McConville, K. Duffin; J. Colgan, P. Fitzpatrick; D. Lavery, M. Clarke, S. Grant; C. Brannigan, R. Kelly, P. McCumiskey.

KERRY (MFC v Mayo): G. Kissane (Kerins O’Rahillys); C. O’Mahony (Ballydonoghue), K. Young (Renard), S. Enright (Tarbert); G. Duffy (Kerins O’Rahillys), M. Moloney (Dr. Crokes), S. Lynch (Spa); K. Brennan (Castleisland Desmonds), A. O’Sullivan (Tuosist); J. Falvey (Fossa), M. O’Donoghue (Spa), P. Curran (Waterville); T. Garvey (Dingle), P. O’Connor (Kenmare), K. O’Leary (Dr. Crokes).

MAYO (MFC v Kerry): S. Nallen; P. Healy, G. Caverty, D. Conway; C. Barrett, T. Cunniffe, D. Hughes; P. Collins, P. Hanley; A. Campbell, D. O’Connor, P. O’Connor; R. O’Boyle, D. Kilcullen, G. O’Boyle.

OFFALY (MFC v Down): D Bracken; J Guinan, D Larkin, D Horan; J Knight, R Dalton, G Grehan; R Connor, R Brady; N Darby, C Mahon, S Lonergan; W Mulhall, P Duffy, K Casey.

More in this section

courtsgaafootballplace: croke parkplace: navanperson: canavanperson: harteperson: mickey harteperson: conor gormleyperson: enda mcginleyperson: peter canavanperson: gavin devlinperson: gormleyperson: mickey mcgeeperson: shane sweeneyperson: mcginleyperson: hugh mageeperson: john mccloreyperson: paddy o’rourkeperson: o’rourkeperson: p mcconnellperson: r mcmenaminperson: c lawnperson: m mcgeeperson: d harteperson: c gormleyperson: p jordanperson: e mcginleyperson: s cavanaghperson: b dooherperson: b mcguiganperson: r mellonperson: p canavanperson: s o’ neillperson: o mulliganperson: m. mcallisterperson: g. mageeperson: c. garveyperson: h. mageeperson: g. mccartanperson: e. mcconvilleperson: k. duffinperson: j. colganperson: p. fitzpatrickperson: d. laveryperson: m. clarkeperson: s. grantperson: c. branniganperson: r. kellyperson: p. mccumiskeyperson: kerryperson: g. kissaneperson: kerins o’rahillysperson: c. o’mahonyperson: ballydonoghueperson: k. youngperson: renardperson: s. enrightperson: g. duffyperson: m. moloneyperson: dr. crokesperson: s. lynchperson: k. brennanperson: a. o’sullivanperson: tuosistperson: j. falveyperson: fossaperson: m. o’donoghueperson: p. curranperson: t. garveyperson: p. o’connorperson: k. o’learyperson: mayoperson: s. nallenperson: p. healyperson: g. cavertyperson: c. barrettperson: t. cunniffeperson: d. hughesperson: p. collinsperson: p. hanleyperson: a. campbellperson: d. o’connorperson: r. o’boyleperson: d. kilcullenperson: g. o’boyleperson: d brackenperson: j guinanperson: d larkinperson: d horanperson: j knightperson: r daltonperson: g grehanperson: r connorperson: r bradyperson: n darbyperson: c mahonperson: s lonerganperson: w mulhallperson: p duffyperson: k caseyevent: all- irelandevent: ulsterevent: all-irelandevent: 1991 down all-irelandevent: u21 all irelandevent: ulster championshipevent: mfcevent: mfc v mayoorganisation: dublinorganisation: armaghorganisation: mayoorganisation: kerryorganisation: laoisorganisation: down minororganisation: galwayorganisation: offalyorganisation: down seniororganisation: u21organisation: downorganisation: tyroneorganisation: fermanaghorganisation: derryorganisation: sfcorganisation: watervilleorganisation: dingle

Join us for a special evening of Cheltenham chat on Friday March 12 at 6.30pm with racing legend and Irish Examiner columnist Ruby Walsh, Irish Examiner racing correspondent Tommy Lyons, and former champion jockey and tv presenter Mick Fitzgerald, author of Better than Sex.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Home Delivery


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.