Limerick sextet seek revenge against Waterford

SCORING sensation Andrew O’Shaughnessy will put his Leaving Cert exams on hold tonight to concentrate on Limerick’s Munster U21 HC first round game against Waterford at Kilmallock.

Defending champions Limerick will also parade five other members of their senior side goalkeeper Timmy Houlihan, left half-back Maurice O'Brien, midfielder Niall Moran, wing-forward Pat Tobin, centre-forward Eoin Foley and left half-forward Patrick Kirby.

Limerick boast 12 of the squad that captured provincial and All-Ireland honours for the third time in succession last season and will start favourites to exact some measure of compensation for their seniors' defeat by Waterford last weekend.

Waterford will have four of their senior squad midfielder Michael Walsh, right half-forward Eoin Kelly, and corner-forwards Paul O'Brien and Shane Walsh on duty, while their side also includes two of the county's intermediate team, who have qualified for a Munster final clash with Cork, goalkeeper Ian O'Regan and left half back Kenny Stafford.

Clare, despite producing outstanding teams and contesting numerous finals, have never won a Munster U21 title. However, with eight senior panellists in their side this season the Banner County could make a bold bid for that elusive title.

Certainly if Pat Vaughan, Ger O'Grady, Barry O'Connell, David Kennedy, Brian Culbert, Daithi O'Connell, Fergal Lynch and Andrew Quinn turn on the style in Austin Stack Park tonight Clare should have little trouble in putting Kerry to the sword.

CLARE (U-21H v Kerry): P. Brennan (Tulla); T. Holland (Whitegate), R. O'Looney (Inagh), G. O'Grady (Crusheen); P. Vaughan (do.), B. O'Connell (Wolfe Tones), D. Clancy (Corofin); E. Burke (Kilmaley), M. Culbert (Sixmilebridge); D. Kennedy (St. Josephs Doora/Barefield), B. Culbert (Sixmilebridge), B. Loughnane (Wolfe Tones); F. Lynch (Clooney), A. Quinn (Tulla), D. O'Connell (Wolfe Tones).

KERRY (U21H v Clare): T Flynn; B Harris, P McCarthy, C Flynn; D Bowler, A Boyle, E Fitzgerald; D Young, P Randles; B Brick, E Sheehy, I McCarthy; B Donovan, G O'Brien, S Sheehan.

LIMERICK (U-21H V Waterford): T. Houlihan (Adare); J. O'Connor (Murroe/Boher), M. Clifford (Adare), D. McCarthy (Granagh/Ballingarry); G. Heagney (South Liberties), P. O'Dwyer (Kilmallock), M. O'Brien (Garryspillane); N. Moran (Ahane), R. Hayes (Desmonds); P. Tobin (Murroe/Boher), E. Foley (Patrickswell), B. Murray (do.); B. Geoghegan (do.), A. O'Shaughnessy (Kilmallock), P. Kirby (Knockainey)

More in this section

GaaHurlingPlace: KilmallockPlace: Austin Stack ParkPerson: Andrew O’ShaughnessyPerson: Timmy HoulihanPerson: Maurice O'BrienPerson: Niall MoranPerson: Pat TobinPerson: Eoin FoleyPerson: Patrick KirbyPerson: Michael WalshPerson: Eoin KellyPerson: Paul O'BrienPerson: Shane WalshPerson: Ian O'ReganPerson: Kenny StaffordPerson: Pat VaughanPerson: Ger O'GradyPerson: Barry O'ConnellPerson: David KennedyPerson: Brian CulbertPerson: Daithi O'ConnellPerson: Fergal LynchPerson: Andrew QuinnPerson: ClarePerson: P. BrennanPerson: T. HollandPerson: R. O'LooneyPerson: InaghPerson: G. O'GradyPerson: CrusheenPerson: P. VaughanPerson: B. O'ConnellPerson: D. ClancyPerson: E. BurkePerson: M. CulbertPerson: D. KennedyPerson: B. CulbertPerson: B. LoughnanePerson: F. LynchPerson: ClooneyPerson: A. QuinnPerson: D. O'ConnellPerson: KerryPerson: T FlynnPerson: B HarrisPerson: P McCarthyPerson: C FlynnPerson: D BowlerPerson: A BoylePerson: E FitzgeraldPerson: D YoungPerson: P RandlesPerson: B BrickPerson: E SheehyPerson: I McCarthyPerson: B DonovanPerson: G O'BrienPerson: S SheehanPerson: LimerickPerson: T. HoulihanPerson: J. O'ConnorPerson: BoherPerson: M. CliffordPerson: AdarePerson: D. McCarthyPerson: G. HeagneyPerson: P. O'DwyerPerson: M. O'BrienPerson: GarryspillanePerson: N. MoranPerson: AhanePerson: R. HayesPerson: DesmondsPerson: P. TobinPerson: MurroePerson: E. FoleyPerson: PatrickswellPerson: B. MurrayPerson: B. GeogheganPerson: A. O'ShaughnessyPerson: P. KirbyPerson: KnockaineyEvent: Munster U21 HCEvent: MunsterEvent: Munster U21Organisation: LimerickOrganisation: WaterfordOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: Banner CountyOrganisation: U-21HOrganisation: KerryOrganisation: TullaOrganisation: whitegateOrganisation: Wolfe TonesOrganisation: KilmaleyOrganisation: SixmilebridgeOrganisation: St. Josephs DooraOrganisation: U21HOrganisation: South LibertiesOrganisation: Kilmallock
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd