Carley recalled as Wexford bid to retain title

PAUL CARLEY is recalled to the Wexford team for Sunday’s Guinness Leinster SHC final against Kilkenny at Croke Park.

He takes over at right half-forward from Redmond Barry.

Rory McCarthy is switched back to midfield, while Des Mythen moves to left half- forward, with Michael Jacob now performing at top on the right.

Galway have made just one change for tomorrow’s All-Ireland hurling qualifier with Antrim at Pearse Stadium. Centre-forward David Forde has been ruled out with a stomach muscle injury which has forced Conor Hayes and his selectors to alter his central line of attack. Kevin Hayes, full-forward against Laois last time out, moves to centre half-forward.

And Niall Healy, who impressed when introduced in that 2-22 to 2-11 win over Laois, will start at full-forward. Injury also rules out Eugene Cloonan, Kevin Broderick and last year’s minor captain John Lee.

Waterford manager Justin McCarthy has announced an unchanged side from that which defeated Offaly in the first round of the All-Ireland qualifiers.

Laois have made three changes from the side which played Galway for tonight’s All Ireland SHC Qualifier against Limerick at Portlaoise. Darren Rooney replaces Pat Mahon at centre-back, Joe Phelan comes into midfield, James Young moves to wing-forward and Cahir Healy drops to the bench. John Walsh replaces Canice Coonan on the wing and Mark Rooney comes in at full-forward. Liam Tynan moves to centre-forward at the expense of John Rowney.

Kildare have rung the changes for tomorrow’s All Ireland SFC Qualifier against Sligo with midfield the only line untouched since the Laois game. Padraig Mullarkey returns at full-back, with Anthony Rainbow reverting to the corner to the gap left by the suspended James Lonergan.

At half-back Damien Hendy replaces the injured Glenn Ryan at the heart of the defence with David Lyons coming in for MIck Wright at wing-back. Ross Glavin mans the forty as Derek McCormack loses out due to a shoulder injury, while U21 star James Kavanagh gets his first championship start at left half-forward, with Ronan Sweeney moving to full-forward in place of the injured Stuart Mackenzie-Smith.

Meanwhile, the draw for the third round of the Bank of Ireland football qualifiers will be delayed for a week.

WEXFORD (SH v Kilkenny): D. Fitzhenry; K. Rossiter, D. Ryan, D. O’Connor; M. Travis, D. Ruth, D. Lyng; A. Fenlon, R. McCarthy; P. Carley, E, Quigley, D. Mythen; M. Jacob, M. Jordan, R. Jacob.

WATERFORD (SH v Dublin): S. Brenner; T. Feeney, F. Hartley, J. Murray; T, Brown, K. McGrath, E. Murray; B. Phelan,E. Kelly; D. Shanahan, M. Walsh, P. McGrath; J. Mullaney, D.Prendergast,E. McGrath.

KILDARE (SF v Sligo): E Murphy; A Rainbow, P Mullarkey, A MacLochlainn; D Lyons, D Hendy, K Ennis; M Foley, K Brennan; D Earley, R Glavin, J Kavanagh; T Fennin, R Sweeney, J Doyle, Capt.)

LAOIS (SH v Limerick): P Mullaney; B Campion, P Cuddy, M McEvoy; J Fitzpatrick, D Rooney, S Dwyer; J Walsh, J Phelan (Capt); J Walsh, L Tynan, J Young; T Fitzgerald, M Rooney, D Culleton.

DERRY (SH v Westmeath): K. Stevenson; F McCloy, L, Hinphey, AN Other; C. Brunton, A. N., Other, P. Sweeney; G. Biggs, R. Kennedy; R. Convery, G. Biggs, C. Quinn; S. McBride, J. Dwyer, F. McGuigan.

GALWAY (SH v Antrim): L. Donoghue; D. Joyce, S. Kavanagh, C. Coen; G. Mahon, D. Hardiman, O. Canning; T. Regan, D. Collins; R. Murray, K. Hayes, D. Tierney; D. Hayes, N. Healy, G Farragher.

DERRY (SF v Down): B. Gilles; K. McCuckin, K. McCloy, P. Kelly; P. Wilson, S. M. Lockhart, P. McFlynn; F. Doherty, B. Bradley; P. Murphy, E. Brolly, J. McBride; M. Gradon, P. Bramely, E. Muldoon.

More in this section

CourtsGaaHurlingPlace: Croke ParkPlace: Pearse StadiumPlace: PortlaoisePerson: CarleyPerson: Paul CarleyPerson: Redmond BarryPerson: Rory McCarthyPerson: Des MythenPerson: Michael JacobPerson: David FordePerson: Conor HayesPerson: Kevin HayesPerson: Niall HealyPerson: Eugene CloonanPerson: Kevin BroderickPerson: John LeePerson: Justin McCarthyPerson: Darren RooneyPerson: Pat MahonPerson: Joe PhelanPerson: James YoungPerson: Cahir HealyPerson: John WalshPerson: Canice CoonanPerson: Mark RooneyPerson: Liam TynanPerson: John RowneyPerson: Padraig MullarkeyPerson: Anthony RainbowPerson: James LonerganPerson: Damien HendyPerson: Glenn RyanPerson: David LyonsPerson: Mick WrightPerson: Ross GlavinPerson: Derek McCormackPerson: James KavanaghPerson: Ronan SweeneyPerson: Stuart Mackenzie-SmithPerson: D. FitzhenryPerson: K. RossiterPerson: D. RyanPerson: D. O’ConnorPerson: M. TravisPerson: D. RuthPerson: D. LyngPerson: A. FenlonPerson: R. McCarthyPerson: P. CarleyPerson: QuigleyPerson: D. MythenPerson: M. JacobPerson: JordanPerson: S.Person: T. FeeneyPerson: F. HartleyPerson: J. MurrayPerson: T, BrownPerson: K. McGrathPerson: E. MurrayPerson: B. PhelanPerson: E. KellyPerson: D. ShanahanPerson: M. WalshPerson: P. McGrathPerson: J. MullaneyPerson: D.PrendergastPerson: E. McGrathPerson: KildarePerson: E MurphyPerson: A RainbowPerson: P MullarkeyPerson: A MacLochlainnPerson: D LyonsPerson: D HendyPerson: K EnnisPerson: M FoleyPerson: K BrennanPerson: D EarleyPerson: R GlavinPerson: J KavanaghPerson: T FenninPerson: R SweeneyPerson: J DoylePerson: P MullaneyPerson: B CampionPerson: P CuddyPerson: M McEvoyPerson: J FitzpatrickPerson: D RooneyPerson: S DwyerPerson: J WalshPerson: J PhelanPerson: L TynanPerson: J YoungPerson: T FitzgeraldPerson: M RooneyPerson: D CulletonPerson: DerryPerson: K. StevensonPerson: F McCloyPerson: LPerson: HinpheyPerson: C. BruntonPerson: N.Person: P. SweeneyPerson: G. BiggsPerson: R. KennedyPerson: R. ConveryPerson: C. QuinnPerson: S. McBridePerson: J. DwyerPerson: F. McGuiganPerson: GalwayPerson: L. DonoghuePerson: D. JoycePerson: S. KavanaghPerson: C. CoenPerson: G. MahonPerson: D. HardimanPerson: O. CanningPerson: T. ReganPerson: D. CollinsPerson: R. MurrayPerson: K. HayesPerson: D. TierneyPerson: D. HayesPerson: N. HealyPerson: B. GillesPerson: K. McCuckinPerson: K. McCloyPerson: P. KellyPerson: P. WilsonPerson: S. M. LockhartPerson: P. McFlynnPerson: F. DohertyPerson: B. BradleyPerson: P. MurphyPerson: E. BrollyPerson: J. McBridePerson: M. GradonPerson: P. BramelyPerson: E. MuldoonEvent: Guinness Leinster SHC finalEvent: All-Ireland HurlingEvent: All-IrelandEvent: All Ireland SHC QualifierEvent: All Ireland SFC QualifierOrganisation: WexfordOrganisation: KilkennyOrganisation: GalwayOrganisation: AntrimOrganisation: LaoisOrganisation: WaterfordOrganisation: OffalyOrganisation: LimerickOrganisation: KildareOrganisation: SHOrganisation: Dublin
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.201 s