Kavanagh the hero as prison officers share spoils with Garda

Cork Garda 1-8

Prison Officers were by far the superior side in the opening half and led by five points at the interval. However, drawing inspiration from the promptings of outstanding forward Don Davis, the Cork Garda representatives staged a magnificent comeback.

The sides were level after the first quarter with Declan Lynch converting two frees for Cork Garda and Gary Kavanagh likewise for the visitors.

But the Prison Officers upped the tempo and raced into the lead with five points without reply. Kavanagh and corner forward Frank McEvoy were most conspicuous as the Prison Officers struck a purple patch to open up daylight between the teams.

In an isolated raid Cork Garda, short inter-county stars Johnny Crowley and Colin Crowley, came close to bridging the gap, but a close-range shot for goal by Don Davis went agonisingly wide and trailing by 0-8 to 0-3 at the interval the champions looked doomed.

However, Cork Garda came storming back after the break with three points in rapid succession from Lynch (who sent over his fourth from frees), James O’Shea and Mossie Leahy. McEvoy got one back for the Prison Officers but the sides were back on level terms in the 46th minute when O’Shea, playing on his home ground, scored a delightful opportunist goal.

Now the game really came to life. Declan Lynch pointed another free to edge Cork Garda into the lead. But seconds later left corner back Dan O’Sullivan levelled for the fourth time with 10-minutes remaining. A spectacular fisted point from midfield player John O’Sullivan tilted the balance in Cork Garda’s favour, but then came Kavanagh’s dramatic equaliser and these great rivals must meet again in Dublin on a date to be decided.

Scorers for Cork Garda: J. O’Shea 1-1; D. Lynch 0-5 (0-5 from frees); J. O’Sullivan, and M. Leahy 0-1 each.

Dublin Prison Officers. G. Kavanagh 0-5 (0-2 from frees); F. McEvoy 0-3; D. O’Sullivan, C. Roddy and C. Heffernan 0-1 each.

CORK GARDA: K. O’Dwyer; J. Kingston, B. McCarthy, K. Long; J. Bugler, T. O’Sullivan, J. Smiddy; J. O’Sullivan, P. Hegarty; D. Lynch, D. Davis, J. O’Donoghue; M. Leahy, R. McGrath, J. O’Shea. Subs. C. McPolin for Leahy; M. O’Donoghue for Bugler.

DUBLIN PRISON OFFICERS: A. Birmingham; T. Gavigan, R. Cox, D. O’Sullivan; E. Stapleton, H. Barry, P. Forde; P. Durcan, P. Carty; C. Roddy, G. Kavanagh, K. Gannon; D. Kelliher, C. Heffernan, F. McEvoy. Subs. P. Mullaly for Forde; K. Murphy for Roddy.

Referee: M. Meade (Limerick).

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd