Crowley makes Cork minor debut in Tipp showdown

DENIS CROWLEY makes his first appearance for the Cork minor footballers for their semi-final against Tipperary in Limerick tonight.

The towering Bishopstown youngster missed out on the round robin series of games after breaking his hand with the minor hurling team against Kerry. He comes in at centre-forward in place of Eric Hegarty.

A second change on the team sees Colm O’Neill replacing David Goold at right corner forward.

In one positional switch, Mark O’Brien moves to centre back with Anthony Fenton going to left half back.

Crowley was the principal reason Colaiste Spioraid Naoimh won this year’s Corn Uí Mhuirí title for the first time when the Bishopstown college defeated St Brendan’s in a replay.

There are four changes in personnel on the Kerry team from the side that trounced Limerick in the first round, for tonight’s Munster MFC semi-final against Clare in Tralee.

Gary Kissane is preferred to Gary O’Sullivan in goal; Jamie Wrenn comes in for Eamon Hickson in the half backline, while David Murphy and Michael Boyle replace Paddy Curran and Brian Looney respectively, in attack.

There are also several positional switches the most notable being the positioning of Mike O’Donoghue at left corner forward. He was one of the stars of the St. Brendans team in this year’s Corn Uí Mhuirí campaign, at midfield and played in that position against Limerick.

Gavin Duffy moves from wing back to centre back; Shane Enright moves out from right corner back to left half back, while Kieran Brennan goes from full forward out to partner Allan O’Sullivan at midfield.

Tipperary have made one change in their team fro the side that annihilated Waterford in the previous round, for tonight’s semi-final against Cork in Limerick. Trevor Kenneally comes in at full forward for Dwaine Burns.

KERRY (MFC v Clare): G. Kissane (Kerins O’Rahillys); C. O’Mahony (Ballydonoghue), M. Moloney (Dr. Crokes), K. Young (Renard); J. Wrenn (Dr. Crokes), G. Duffy (Kerins O’Rahillys), S. Enright (Tarbert); K. Brennan (Castleisland Desmonds), A. O’Sullivan (Tuosist); K. O’Leary (Dr. Crokes), D. Murphy (Legion), J. Falvey (Fossa); M. Boyle (Ballyduff), P. O’Connor (Kenmare), M. O’Donoghue (Spa). Subs. L. Sheehan (St. Marys), A. O’Sullivan (Dromid Pearses), E. MacGearailt (An Gaeltacht), B. Looney (Dr. Crokes), S. Lynch (Spa), P. Curran (Waterville), E. Hickson (Annascaul), T. Walsh (Kerins O’Rahillys), E. O’Neill (Renard).

CORK (MFC v Tipperary): T. O’Connor (Douglas); J. O’Callaghan (Doneraile), E. Cotter (Douglas), C. O’Brien (Nemo Rangers); S. Kiely (Macroom), M. O’Brien (Mallow), A. Fenton (St. Vincents); F. Lynch (Valley Rovers), A. Barry (Douglas); C. O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaighs), D. Crowley (Bishopstown), R. Kenny (Nemo Rangers); C. O’Neill (Ballyclough), D. Scannell (Kiskeam), D. Kearney (Nemo Rangers; Subs. D. Murray (Bantry), P. Carroll (Douglas), J. Moran (Carrigaline), R. O’Dwyer (St. Finbarrs), D. O’Donovan (Kilmacabee), D. Goold (Macroom), B. Daly (Newmarket), KJ O’Sullivan (Adrigole), E. Hegarty (St. Michaels).

TIPPERARY (MFC v Cork): M. O’Donnell (Killenaule); T. Ryan (Ardfinnan), W. O’Dwyer (Carrick Davins), C. Morrissey (Clonmel Og); K. Harney (Clonmel Commercials), T. Stapleton (Templederry), T. Dunne (Burgess); G. Hannigan (Shannon Rovers), R. Ryan (Eire Og/Annacarty); C. McGrath (Loughmore/Castleiney), D. Lyne (Moyle Rovers), D. Darcy (Shannon Rovers); T. Dalton (Arravale Rovers), T. Kenneally (Eire Og Nenagh), B. Jones (Arravale Rovers).

More in this section

CourtsGaaFootballPlace: TraleePlace: LimerickPerson: CrowleyPerson: Denis CrowleyPerson: Eric HegartyPerson: Colm O’NeillPerson: David GooldPerson: Mark O’BrienPerson: Anthony FentonPerson: Coláiste Spioraid NaoimhPerson: Gary KissanePerson: Gary O’SullivanPerson: Jamie WrennPerson: Eamon HicksonPerson: David MurphyPerson: Michael BoylePerson: Paddy CurranPerson: Brian LooneyPerson: Mike O’DonoghuePerson: Gavin DuffyPerson: Shane EnrightPerson: Kieran BrennanPerson: Allan O’SullivanPerson: Trevor KenneallyPerson: Dwaine BurnsPerson: KerryPerson: G. KissanePerson: Kerins O’RahillysPerson: C. O’MahonyPerson: BallydonoghuePerson: M. MoloneyPerson: Dr. CrokesPerson: K. YoungPerson: RenardPerson: J. WrennPerson: G. DuffyPerson: S. EnrightPerson: TarbertPerson: K. BrennanPerson: DesmondsPerson: A. O’SullivanPerson: TuosistPerson: K. O’LearyPerson: D. MurphyPerson: LegionPerson: J. FalveyPerson: FossaPerson: M. BoylePerson: BallyduffPerson: P. O’ConnorPerson: KenmarePerson: M. O’DonoghuePerson: L. SheehanPerson: St. MarysPerson: Dromid PearsesPerson: E. MacGearailtPerson: B. LooneyPerson: S. LynchPerson: P. CurranPerson: E. HicksonPerson: AnnascaulPerson: T. WalshPerson: E. O’NeillPerson: T. O’ConnorPerson: DouglasPerson: J. O’CallaghanPerson: DonerailePerson: E. CotterPerson: C. O’BrienPerson: S. KielyPerson: MacroomPerson: M. O’BrienPerson: MallowPerson: A. FentonPerson: F. LynchPerson: A. BarryPerson: C. O’DriscollPerson: MacCarthaighsPerson: D. CrowleyPerson: R. KennyPerson: C. O’NeillPerson: BallycloughPerson: D. ScannellPerson: D. KearneyPerson: D. MurrayPerson: P. CarrollPerson: J. MoranPerson: R. O’DwyerPerson: D. O’DonovanPerson: D. GooldPerson: B. DalyPerson: KJ O’SullivanPerson: AdrigolePerson: E. HegartyPerson: TipperaryPerson: M. O’DonnellPerson: KillenaulePerson: T. RyanPerson: ArdfinnanPerson: W. O’DwyerPerson: C. MorrisseyPerson: K. HarneyPerson: T. StapletonPerson: T. DunnePerson: G. HanniganPerson: R. RyanPerson: AnnacartyPerson: C. McGrathPerson: D. LynePerson: D. DarcyPerson: T. DaltonPerson: T. KenneallyPerson: B. JonesEvent: Munster MFC semiOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: TipperaryOrganisation: BishopstownOrganisation: KerryOrganisation: St Brendan’sOrganisation: LimerickOrganisation: ClareOrganisation: St. BrendansOrganisation: Corn Uí MhuiríOrganisation: WaterfordOrganisation: SpaOrganisation: WatervilleOrganisation: Nemo RangersOrganisation: St. VincentsOrganisation: Valley RoversOrganisation: BantryOrganisation: CarrigalineOrganisation: St. FinbarrsOrganisation: KilmacabeeOrganisation: NewmarketOrganisation: CarrickOrganisation: Clonmel OgOrganisation: Clonmel CommercialsOrganisation: TemplederryOrganisation: Shannon RoversOrganisation: LoughmoreOrganisation: CastleineyOrganisation: Moyle RoversOrganisation: Arravale RoversOrganisation: Éire Óg Nenagh
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd