Bride overcome Inniscarra challenge to claim first title

BRIDE ROVERS, from the village of Rathcormack, won the Permanent TSB Cork County IHC for the first time at Pairc Uí Chaoimh yesterday with a 1-15 to 1-5 victory over Inniscarra.

Held on a tight rein by Inniscarra in the opening quarter Bride Rovers powered to the front with a goal from wing forward Pat Walsh in the 17th minute and never looked back.

Scorers: Bride Rovers: P. Walsh 1-1; J. O’Driscoll 0-3 (0-1 from free); B. Hazelwood 0-3 (0-2 from frees); P. Murphy 0-2; S. Ryan 0-2; T. Broderick 0-2; D. Ryan and P. Cotter 0-1 each.

Inniscarra: M. O’Sullivan 1-1; D. O’Riordan 0-2 (0-1 from free); P. O’Riordan and D. Holland 0-1 each.

In the preceding game St Colums wrote the greatest chapter in their history when they captured the Permanent TSB county Junior B hurling title beating Lisgoold 3-11 to 1-12.

Scorers: St. Colums: G. McCarthy 2-0, P. Healy 1-1, W. O’ Connor 0-3 (frees), S. Cronin and G. McCarthy 0-2 each, A. O’ Connor and S. Harrington 0-1 each.

Lisgoold: M. O’ Connell 1-5 (1-0 pen., 0-5 frees, T. McCaulliffe 0-2, J. O’ Shea, C. Smart and B. Clifford 01 each.

GIVING an exhibition of powerful attacking football, personified by prolific corner-forward Kevin O’Sullivan, Ilen Rovers obliterated the Glanmire challenge 2-18 to 3-5 in the Permanent TSB IFC semi-final at Newcestown yesterday.

This was a display that Glanmire were not expecting from their West Cork opponents who were waiting 13 weeks for this fixture and, only in very small patches, did Ilen show any signs of rustiness from their long lay-off.

Scorers: Ilen Rovers: K. O’Sullivan 1-7 (0-1 free); F. Collins 1-1; D. Duggan 0-3; J. Whooley, E. Sheehy, F. O’Driscoll 0-2 each; D. Murphy 0-1.

Glanmire: M. Hopkins 2-1 (1-0 pen; 0-1 45’); K. Goggin 0-4 (0-2 frees); B. O’Callaghan 1-0.

Tasty stuff from Carbery Rangers in the glorious Newcestown sunshine yesterday as they swept into the Permanent TSB Cork County JFC semi-final (1-16 to 1-9) with a controlled display of football which Ballygarvan couldn’t match.

Some terrific points and splendid end to end movement made for a very competitive contest but once Declan Hayes got a touch to Seamus Hayes’ delivery in the 44th minute, for a goal Carbery always threatened, Ballygarvan were fighting a losing battle despite getting a terrific start to the game.

Scorers for Carbery Rangers: J. Hayes 0-5 (0-3 frees), D. Hayes 1-0, M. Moore 0-3, N. Hayes, S. Hayes, J. Murphy (frees) 0-2 each, M. O’Sullivan, G. Wycherley 0-1 each.

Ballygarvan: K. Ashman 1-2, J. Spillane, D. Sweeney (frees) 0-2 each, S. O’Leary, C. O Conchubhair, A. Murphy 0-1 each.

Beara, apart from a brief period in the early stages, outclassed Ballincollig in yesterday’s Cork County Premier MFC, county section, final at Bantry 0-14 to 1-6.

Kicking three unanswered points before the break, where they held a 0-6 to 0-5 advantage, Beara restarted with six points on the trot to set up a county final meeting with city winners Douglas.

Scorers: Beara: K “Ger” O’Sullivan 0-7 (0-6 frees), A O’Sullivan 0-3, D Lowney 0-2, C O’Sullivan, P O’Sullivan 0-1 each.

Ballincollig; P Kelly 1-0, C Weste 0-2 (0-1 frees, 0-1 ‘45), M.J Ahern, B Cotter, D McCarthy, A Donovan (free) 0-1 each.

Approaching the end of the third quarter at Brinny yesterday Grenagh, with an eight-point lead, seemed set for an historic place in the Cork County JAHC final for the first time.

But the mid Corkmen were to score only once more in the last quarter as Rangers, with two-goal Michael Walsh and Michael O’Callaghan producing the goods, earned the West Cork men another day out, the game ending 0-13 to 2-7.

Scorers: Grenagh: D. Dorgan 0-6 (0-5 frees), A. O’Neill 0-2, T. Kenny 0-2 (0-1 65 0-1 free), J. Russell, D. Daly, P. McDonnell 0-1 each.

Argideen Rangers: M. Walsh 2-4, B. Harte, N. Cooney (free), M. O’Callaghan 0-1 each.

Glen Rovers took a big step in the right direction by fashioning a magnificent 11-point triumph over Na Piarsaigh in the Cork City Division U-21 A hurling championship at Pairc Uí Rinn yesterday winning 2-13 to 1-5.

Scorers: Glen Rovers:. D. Dorris 1-2; D. Busteed 1-0; B. Corcoran 0-6 (0-6 from frees); G. Callanan 0-4 (0-3 from frees; 0-1 from 65); G. Moylan 0-1.

Na Piarsaigh: J. Gardiner 1-2 (1-1 from frees; 0-1 from 65); S. O’Sullivan, A Brady and A. Ó ’hAilpín (free) 0-1 each.

More in this section

CourtsGaaPlace: RathcormackPlace: Páirc Uí ChaoimhPlace: NewcestownPlace: BantryPlace: Páirc Uí RinnPerson: Bride RoversPerson: InniscarraPerson: Pat WalshPerson: P. WalshPerson: J. O’DriscollPerson: B. HazelwoodPerson: P. MurphyPerson: S. RyanPerson: T. BroderickPerson: D. RyanPerson: P. CotterPerson: M. O’SullivanPerson: D. O’RiordanPerson: P. O’RiordanPerson: D. HollandPerson: LisgooldPerson: G. McCarthyPerson: P. HealyPerson: W. O’ ConnorPerson: S. CroninPerson: A. O’ ConnorPerson: S. HarringtonPerson: M. O’ ConnellPerson: T. McCaulliffePerson: J. O’ SheaPerson: C. SmartPerson: B. CliffordPerson: Kevin O’SullivanPerson: K. O’SullivanPerson: F. CollinsPerson: D. DugganPerson: J. WhooleyPerson: E. SheehyPerson: F. O’DriscollPerson: D. MurphyPerson: M. HopkinsPerson: K. GogginPerson: B. O’CallaghanPerson: BallygarvanPerson: Declan HayesPerson: Seamus Hayes’Person: CarberyPerson: J. HayesPerson: D. HayesPerson: M. MoorePerson: N. HayesPerson: S. HayesPerson: J. MurphyPerson: G. WycherleyPerson: K. AshmanPerson: J. SpillanePerson: D. SweeneyPerson: S. O’LearyPerson: C. O ConchubhairPerson: A. MurphyPerson: BearaPerson: BallincolligPerson: K “Ger” O’SullivanPerson: DPerson: C O’SullivanPerson: P O’SullivanPerson: P KellyPerson: CPerson: M.J AhernPerson: B CotterPerson: D McCarthyPerson: DonovanPerson: Michael WalshPerson: Michael O’CallaghanPerson: D. DorganPerson: A. O’NeillPerson: T. KennyPerson: J. RussellPerson: D. DalyPerson: P. McDonnellPerson: M. WalshPerson: B. HartePerson: N. CooneyPerson: M. O’CallaghanPerson: D. DorrisPerson: D. BusteedPerson: B. CorcoranPerson: G. CallananPerson: G. MoylanPerson: J. GardinerPerson: S. O’SullivanPerson: A BradyPerson: A. Ó ’hAilpínEvent: Permanent TSB IFCEvent: TSB Cork County JFCEvent: Cork County Premier MFCEvent: Cork County JAHC finalOrganisation: BrideOrganisation: Bride RoversOrganisation: St ColumsOrganisation: St. ColumsOrganisation: Ilen RoversOrganisation: GlanmireOrganisation: West CorkOrganisation: IlenOrganisation: Carbery RangersOrganisation: CarberyOrganisation: RangersOrganisation: GrenaghOrganisation: ArgideenOrganisation: Glen RoversOrganisation: Cork City DivisionOrganisation: Na Piarsaigh
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.