South Kerry take charge

South Kerry 2-20 Rathmore 1-6

South Kerry were generally in charge except for the few occasional periods when Rathmore attempted to lift their challenge.

At the break, it was 1-6 to 0-5 for South Kerry, but the game ceased to be a contest when Ronan O’Connor’s 40th minute goal opened up a gap of seven points, following which they didn’t concede another score. It meant that there was never a need to call on Maurice Fitzgerald, who was sidelined with a back injury.

Scorers: South Kerry - D. O’Sullivan 1-2; R. O’Connor 1-1; S. Hussey 0-4; B. Sheehan 0-4 (0-2 frees, 0-1 ’45); A. O’Sullivan 0-3; D. O’Dwyer and S. Fogarty (0-1 free) 0-2 each; A. O’Connell and B. Hickey 0-1 each. Rathmore: M. Riordan 0-4 (0-2 frees); J. Murphy 1-0; I. Kelleher and A. O’Mahony 0-1 each.

SOUTH KERRY: M. Drummond (Sneem); G. O’Driscoll (St. Mary’s), S. O’Sullivan (Skellig Rangers), K. Burns (Sneem); P. Sheehan (Dromid Pearses), B. Hickey (Skellig Rangers), A. O’Connell (St. Michael’s/Foilmore); S. Hussey (Sneem), J. Sugrue (Renard); A. O’Sullivan (Skellig Rangers), B. Sheehan (St. Mary’s), D. Dwyer (Waterville); S. Fogarty (St. Michael’s/Foilmore), D. O’Sullivan (Dromid Pearses), R. O’Connor (St. Michael’s/Foilmore). Subs: G. Galvin (Waterville) for G. O’Driscoll (55th); N. O’Driscoll (St. Mary’s) for A. O’Sullivan (56th); W. O’Sullivan (Skellig Rangers) for O’Connell (57th); B. Teahan (Sneem) for Dwyer and K Granfield (St. Michael’s/Foilmore) for Sheehan (59th).

Laune Rangers 0-15 Dr Crokes 1-10

LAUNE Rangers’ fighting spirit earned them victory over Dr Crokes in yesterday’s absorbing AIB Kerry senior football championship quarter-final in Fitzgerald Stadium.

It might have been a different story had Eoin Brosnan managed to goal from a good opportunity in the 50th minute. However, on the basis of their greater consistency, the Killorglin side were more deserving of a place against Gaeltacht in the semi-final.

Scorers: Laune Rangers - P. O’Sullivan 0-4 (0-2 frees); M.F. Russell 0-3 (0-1 free); J. Coffey and B. O’Shea 0-2 each; S. Foley, B. Gannon, L. Hassett and J. Lynch 0-1 each. Dr Crokes: C. Cooper 0-6 (0-3 frees); A. Kennelly 1-0; C. Brosnan, M. Moriarty, E. Brosnan and J. Fleming 0-1 each.

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd