Changes to Clare’s winning formula

CLARE have made two changes from the side that defeated Waterford for next Sunday’s Bank of Ireland Munster senior football championship semi final with Cork at Cusack Park, Ennis.

Ronan Slattery, now fully recovered after undergoing surgery for a groin injury, and Stephen Hickey, another groin injury victim, are first team choices on this occasion.

Slattery came on as a substitute in the Waterford game and takes over the left half back position with Mark O’Connell moving to left corner back to the exclusion of Brendan Moloney.

Hickey is a direct replacement for David Nealon, who was forced to retire with a leg injury during the last Decies game on what was his senior intercounty championship debut.

Meanwhile 17-year-old Michael Boyle will make his senior championship debut in goal for Donegal in next Sunday’s Ulster SFC semi-final clash with Armagh at Clones.

Boyle takes over from Paul Durkan, ruled out with an ankle injury, and the teenager will be joined by newcomers Karl Lacey, at left corner back, and Neil Gallagher, at midfield.

Kilkenny have delayed the announcement of their team to play Offaly in the Leinster SHC semi-final at Croke Park on Sunday until tomorrow in the hope that Derek Lyng will pass a fitness test on his damaged ankle.

Leitrim boss Dessie Dolan has a full-strength panel for Sunday’s Connacht semi-final against Galway in Pearse Stadium. While the team won’t be announced until tomorrow night all of the players who figured in the surprise 1-11 to 0-5 win over Sligo are available.

Additionally, regular corner-forward Donal Brennan is available, having recovered from a broken collar bone sustained in the final round of the League.

CLARE (SF V CORK): D. O’Brien; P. Gallagher, K. Dilleen, M. O’Connell; A. Clohessy, D. Kelly, R. Slattery; G. Quinlan, David Russell; O. O’Dwyer, P, O’Dwyer, E. Coughlan; R. Donnelly, S. Hickey, M. O’Dwyer.

DONEGAL (SF V ARMAGH): M. Moyle; E. McGee, R. Sweeney, K. Lacey; D. Diver, B. Monaghan, S. Carr; N. Gallagher, K. Cafferty; C. Toye, M. Hegarty, B. Roper; C. McFadden, A. Sweeney, B. Devanney.

CORK (JFC v Clare): A. Quirke (Valley Rovers); C. Murphy (St. Michaels), D. Wiseman (Castletownbere), M. Prout (Shamrocks); N. Buckley (Aghabullogue), G. Spillane (Ballygarvan), E. Wiseman (CTB); A. O’Connor (St. Colms), S. O’Sullivan (Dromtarriffe); N. O’Riordan (Glenville), C. Brosnan (Ballinora), J. Russell (Grenagh); D. Goulding (Eire Og), V. Hurley (Courcey Rovers), P. Dunlea (Canovee).

Subs: D. Moynihan (Aghabullogue), M. Fehilly (O’Mathunas), E. O’Connor (Kildorrery), P. Brophy (Nemo Rangers), T. O’Neill (Aghada), D. O’Connor (Ballydesmond), P. O’Connell (Delanys), J. Buckley (St. Vincents), J. White (Kilmurry).

More in this section

CourtsGaaFootballPlace: Cusack ParkPlace: ClonesPlace: Croke ParkPlace: Pearse StadiumPerson: Ronan SlatteryPerson: Stephen HickeyPerson: SlatteryPerson: Mark O’ConnellPerson: Brendan MoloneyPerson: HickeyPerson: David NealonPerson: Michael BoylePerson: BoylePerson: Paul DurkanPerson: Karl LaceyPerson: Neil GallagherPerson: Derek LyngPerson: Dessie DolanPerson: Donal BrennanPerson: D. O’BrienPerson: P. GallagherPerson: K. DilleenPerson: M. O’ConnellPerson: A. ClohessyPerson: D. KellyPerson: R. SlatteryPerson: G. QuinlanPerson: David RussellPerson: O. O’DwyerPerson: PPerson: O’DwyerPerson: E. CoughlanPerson: R. DonnellyPerson: S. HickeyPerson: M. MoylePerson: É. McGeePerson: R. SweeneyPerson: K. LaceyPerson: D. DiverPerson: B. MonaghanPerson: S. CarrPerson: N. GallagherPerson: K. CaffertyPerson: C. ToyePerson: M. HegartyPerson: B. RoperPerson: C. McFaddenPerson: A. SweeneyPerson: B. DevanneyPerson: CorkPerson: A. QuirkePerson: C. MurphyPerson: D. WisemanPerson: M. ProutPerson: N. BuckleyPerson: G. SpillanePerson: BallygarvanPerson: E. WisemanPerson: A. O’ConnorPerson: S. O’SullivanPerson: N. O’RiordanPerson: C. BrosnanPerson: J. RussellPerson: D. GouldingPerson: V. HurleyPerson: P. DunleaPerson: D. MoynihanPerson: AghabulloguePerson: M. FehillyPerson: O’MathunasPerson: E. O’ConnorPerson: KildorreryPerson: P. BrophyPerson: RANGERSPerson: T. O’NeillPerson: AghadaPerson: D. O’ConnorPerson: P. O’ConnellPerson: DelanysPerson: J. BuckleyPerson: J. WhitePerson: KilmurryEvent: Bank of IrelandEvent: Munster senior football championship semiEvent: ChampionshipEvent: Ulster SFCEvent: Leinster SHCEvent: ConnachtOrganisation: WaterfordOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: DonegalOrganisation: ArmaghOrganisation: KilkennyOrganisation: OffalyOrganisation: LeitrimOrganisation: GalwayOrganisation: SligoOrganisation: JFCOrganisation: Valley RoversOrganisation: St. MichaelsOrganisation: CastletownbereOrganisation: ShamrocksOrganisation: AghabullogueOrganisation: St. ColmsOrganisation: GlenvilleOrganisation: BallinoraOrganisation: GrenaghOrganisation: Courcey RoversOrganisation: CanoveeOrganisation: NemoOrganisation: BallydesmondOrganisation: St. Vincents
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.

Execution Time: 0.253 s