Cody makes two changes from side that beat Dubs for clash with Galway

KILKENNY coach Brian Cody has made two changes from the side that defeated Dublin in round one of the All-Ireland qualifiers for Sunday’s clash with Galway in the second round.

James Ryall comes in at right corner-back to the exclusion of Michael Kavanagh, while Conor Phelan is preferred to Aidan Fogarty at left half-forward. Phelan who was a member of the successful U21 team of last year, is making his championship debut. UCC student Tommy Walsh is again named as a defender at left corner-back, while Ken Coogan, who won a Fitzgibbon Cup medal at full-back with Waterford IT this year, will partner Derek Lyng at midfield.

Galway coach Conor Hayes has kept faith with the team that defeated Down in the opening All-Ireland qualifer for Sunday’s clash with Kilkenny in round two.

All but one of the team figured in the recent National League final win over Waterford. The only change from that team sees David Tierney come in for Adrian Cullinane.

Offaly make one change for Saturday’s All-Ireland football qualifier against Wexford at Wexford Park. John Reynolds comes in at left corner-forward for the injured Tomás Deehan.

Wexford manage Pat Roe also makes two changes in his team. Colm M orris comes in for John hudson while Darren Browne takes over from Darren Foran at full-forward.

Limerick football coach Liam Kearns has postponed naming his team for Sunday’s Munster final against Kerry because of the Munster U21 HC semi-final at the Gaelic Grounds. As a result, training was put back, and Kearns will announce his team tonight at the end of the session.

With Séamus O’Donnell and Jason Stokes finally injury-free, Kearns will have a full side to choose from for the first time this season, which is isn’t going to make it easy for him and his selectors to pick the starting 15.

Tyrone goalkeeper Jonathan Curran is a doubt for Sunday’s Ulster Minor Championship final clash with Down.

Curran sprained an ankle in training, but has been named in the starting line-up, and hopes to be able to take his place for the Croke Park decider.

Managers Liam Donnelly and Martin Coyle have named an unchanged side for the clash with the Mourne teenagers as Tyrone defend their title in unfamiliar surroundings.

KILKENNY (SH v Galway): J. McGarry; J. Ryall, N. Hickey, T. Walsh; R. Mulally, P. Barry, JJ Delaney; D. Lyng, K. Coogan; M. Comerford, H. Shefflin, C. Phelan; E. Brennan, DJ Carey, J. Coogan.

GALWAY (SHC v Kilkenny): L. Donoghue; D. Joyce, D. Cloonan, O. Canning; D. Hardiman, D. Hayes, F. Moore; F. Healy, T. Regan; A. Kerins, D. Forde, D. Tierney; D. Hayes, E. Cloonan, K. Broderick.

OFFALY (SF v Wexford): P. Kelly; S. Sullivan, C. Evans, S. Brady; B. Mooney, C. Daly, C. Slattery; M. Daly, T. Grennan; N. McNamee, P. Kellehan, C. McManus; J. Coughlan, N. Coughlan, J. Reynolds.

WEXFORD (SF v Offaly): J Cooper; C. Morris, P. Wallace, N. Murphy; D. Breen, D. Murphy, L. O’Brien; W. Carley, P. Colfer; R. Barry, P. Forde, D. Fogarty; J., Lawlor, D. Browne, M. Forde.

TYRONE (MFC v Down): J Curran, N McGinn, P Marlow, D Burke, B Boggs, N Kerr, M Murray, R Mulgrew, S O'Hagan, C O'Neill, M Cunningham, S Donaghy, G Devlin, C Cavanagh, R McCrory.

More in this section

CourtsGaaPlace: Wexford ParkPlace: Gaelic GroundsPlace: Croke ParkPerson: CodyPerson: Brian CodyPerson: James RyallPerson: Michael KavanaghPerson: Conor PhelanPerson: Aidan FogartyPerson: PhelanPerson: Tommy WalshPerson: Ken CooganPerson: Derek LyngPerson: Conor HayesPerson: David TierneyPerson: Adrian CullinanePerson: John ReynoldsPerson: Tomas DeehanPerson: Pat RoePerson: Colm M orrisPerson: John HudsonPerson: Darren BrownePerson: Darren ForanPerson: Liam KearnsPerson: KearnsPerson: Seamus O’DonnellPerson: Jason StokesPerson: Jonathan CurranPerson: DownPerson: CurranPerson: Liam DonnellyPerson: Martin CoylePerson: MournePerson: J. McGarryPerson: J. RyallPerson: N. HickeyPerson: T. WalshPerson: R. MulallyPerson: P. BarryPerson: JJ DelaneyPerson: D. LyngPerson: K. CooganPerson: M. ComerfordPerson: H. ShefflinPerson: C. PhelanPerson: E. BrennanPerson: DJ CareyPerson: J. CooganPerson: L. DonoghuePerson: D. JoycePerson: D. CloonanPerson: O. CanningPerson: D. HardimanPerson: D. HayesPerson: F. MoorePerson: F. HealyPerson: T. ReganPerson: A. KerinsPerson: D. FordePerson: E. CloonanPerson: BroderickPerson: P. KellyPerson: S. SullivanPerson: S.Person: B. MooneyPerson: DalyPerson: C. SlatteryPerson: M. DalyPerson: T. GrennanPerson: N. McNameePerson: P. KellehanPerson: C. McManusPerson: J. CoughlanPerson: J. ReynoldsPerson: J CooperPerson: C. MorrisPerson: D. BreenPerson: L. O’BrienPerson: W. CarleyPerson: P. ColferPerson: R. BarryPerson: P. FordePerson: D. FogartyPerson: J.Person: LawlorPerson: D. BrownePerson: M. FordePerson: TyronePerson: J CurranPerson: N McGinnPerson: P MarlowPerson: D BurkePerson: B BoggsPerson: N KerrPerson: M MurrayPerson: R MulgrewPerson: S O'HaganPerson: C O'NeillPerson: M CunninghamPerson: S DonaghyPerson: G DevlinPerson: C CavanaghPerson: R McCroryEvent: All-IrelandEvent: National leagueEvent: All-Ireland footballEvent: Munster finalEvent: Munster U21 HCEvent: Ulster minor championshipOrganisation: DubsOrganisation: Galway KILKENNYOrganisation: DublinOrganisation: GalwayOrganisation: U21Organisation: UCCOrganisation: WaterfordOrganisation: DownOrganisation: KilkennyOrganisation: OffalyOrganisation: WexfordOrganisation: LimerickOrganisation: KerryOrganisation: TyroneOrganisation: SHOrganisation: SHCOrganisation: SF
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.