Watergrasshill capture inaugural title

Watergrasshill 2-13, Dromina 2-8

They went into this final on the back of losing to Dromina in last year's junior championship by three points, and without a key player in Noel O'Riordan, but the east Cork side produced a power-packed display and won this game far more convincingly than the scoreline suggests.

John O'Keeffe was outstanding at centre back, team captain Patrick O'Regan turned in a flawless display at midfield and deservedly won the man of the match award, while Paudie Cahill was superb at centre-forward with his excellent ball control and surging runs.

But this was a team performance. The 'Hill wanted this title far more than Dromina and their performance reflected that as they chased their opponents all over the park.

Scorers Watergrasshill: J Foley 1-1; E O'Reilly 1-0; J Halbert (0-2 frees), P O'Regan (0-2 frees, 0-1 65) 0-3 each; P Cahill, W O'Leary 0-2 each; E Coakley, R Cahill 0-1 each.

Dromina: M Finn 2-3 (1-2 frees); J Finn 0-2 (0-1 free); A O'Shaughnessy, R Crowley (65) 0-1 each.

BALLYGARVAN just never give in. As in the first game, they again struck with a goal in the final minute of extra time, earning a 4-8 to 2-14 draw in this thrilling permanent tsb Cork County JAHC semi-final replay with Kilbrin at Páirc Uí Chaoímh yesterday.

It was their tremendous finish, their stunning second half recovery, plus the clinching score from Stephen White that ensured they will have a third joust with Kilbrin a result that will be difficult for the Duhallow champions to digest after dominating a marvellous battle.

Scorers for Kilbrin: D Crowley 2-7 (0-4 frees), N O'Callaghan 0-3, I O'Sullivan, S O'Riordan, D Aherne and T O'Riordan 0-1 each.

Ballygarvan: S White 1-2 (0-2 frees), K Ashman 1-1, C Ó Conchúir and A Butler 1-0 each, S O'Leary 0-3, W O'Halloran and F Barry 0-1 each.

BEARA champions Adrigole defeated North Cork representatives Ballyclough 1-14 to 1-6 at Inchigeela yesterday in the Co JFC quarter final.

Played in a constant downpour, both teams, with the aid of sensible refereeing from Richard Murphy, overcame the difficulties and served up an interesting encounter, with Adrigole fully deserving their victory.

Two years ago at this venue Adrigole lost a county final to Kiskeam. But on this latest visit they were always shaping like winners.

Scorers: Adrigole: P O'Sullivan 1-0, BJ O'Sullivan 0-6 (0-2, frees), F Carey 0-3, K O'Neill, T O'Shea, EJ O'Sullivan, K O'Sullivan and J Goggin, 0-1 each.

Ballyclough: C O'Neill 1-3 (0-1,a free), T O'Neill, J O'Shea and T O'Connor 0-1 each.

PAYBACK time for Erin's Own U21 hurlers arrived at Rostellan on Saturday and although county aspirations are for another day, this 2-15 to 0-12 extra-time East Cork final victory over champions Sarsfields will have given them a huge fillip for that quest which begins against Kilbrittain on Saturday.

Having 'won' and lost the county to Sars last year, this divisional final was a huge test for Erin's Own but they came through with flying colours after Ciaran O'Leary's extra-time goal.

Scorers for Erin's Own: E Murphy 0-7 (0-6 frees), C O'Leary 1-0, C Coakley, F Murphy 0-2 each, D O'Flynn, S Bowen (free), C O'Connor, A Lane 0-1 each.

Sarsfields: K. Murphy 0-7 (frees), P Barry 0-2, M Cussen, C Mulvihill, C Duggan 0-1 each.

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Discover the

Install our free app today

Available on


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.