Erins Own far too classy for Aghada

Erins Own1-11 Aghada0-2

Using their physical advantage to good effect and inspired by outstanding midfielder Kieran Murphy they left an out-of-sorts Aghada struggling to find their rhythm.

Driven on by a tenacious half-back line of brothers Cian and Mark O'Connor and captain Joe Lyons, they continuously pushed forward and after 15 minutes of play were 0-5 to 0-0 to the good.

They increased this lead to 0-7 to 0-2 by half-time the highlight being two wonderful points from Murphy and three excellent efforts from hard-working full-forward Fergus Murphy.

In contrast, it took Aghada 19 minutes to register their opening point through Derek Bowler and 20 minutes to kick their first wide.

And to make matters worse their second score five minutes from the break should have been a goal after corner-forward Brian Morrissey had only the keeper to beat.

Then, in a cruel twist of fate Aghada were forced to switch Bowler into goals for the second-half thus weakening their advantage in attack.

But, realistically, it would have taken an exceptional side to compete with the prowess of Erins Own.

This year they look as if they could go one step further than contesting last season's county final.

And when Paul Fenton netted a magnificent kick from Kieran Murphy four minutes after the restart that was batted down into his path by substitute Cian O'Leary, Aghada's hope of a revival looked very slim.

To further compound their misery, a late penalty kick by J P O'Connor was superbly saved by goalkeeper Shea Bowen just moments before his captain Lyons collected the silverware for the second year-in-a-row.

Scorers: Erins Own: P Fenton 1-1, S Murphy 0-4 (frees), F Murphy and K Murphy (0-1 sideline) 0-3 each.

Aghada: D Bowler and B Morrissey 0-1 each.

ERINS OWN: S Bowen; J Coughlan, A Finn, A Lane; C O'Connor, M O'Connor, J Lyons (capt); P Fitzgerald, K Murphy; E Murphy, S Murphy, P Walsh; B O'Flynn, F Murphy, P Fenton.

Subs: C O'Leary for B O'Flynn (30 mins), B Poland for E Murphy (56 mins), E O'Neill for P Fenton (57 mins).

AGHADA: B Wall; D O'Hanlon, C Scanlon, S Cashman; J Wall, B Crowley, B Hennessy; T O'Neill, J P O'Connor; J Connolly, B Wall, S O'Keeffe; T Wall, D Bowler, B Morrissey. Subs: D O'Keeffe for T Wall (13 mins inj), C Hickey for B Wall (h/t), D Morrissey for J Connolly (37 mins), E Cotter for J Wall (38 mins).

Referee: G Sweeney (Glenville).

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.212 s