McCarthy wins Circuit of Wicklow

Cork driver, John McCarthy kept his one hundred per cent record in the KBB Doors National Forest

Cork driver, John McCarthy kept his one hundred per cent record in the KBB Doors National Forest

Championship intact with victory in the Circuit of Wicklow, the third round of the series.

In difficult conditions, McCarthy, in his Subaru Impreza 555 led all the way through the day’s six

stages. Initially, former champion, Dermot Kelly was his closest rival – he trailed the leader by six

seconds after two stages but his rally ended on the third stage when he crashed out.

Edie Kinirons slotted his Toyota Celica into second a position he maintained until the finish as McCarthy went on to extend his winning margin to 38 seconds.

Kevin O’Kane brought his Subaru home in third place – ahead of the Group N Subaru of John Shanahan, who had a minor excursion on the sixth and final stage.

The rear wheel drive category was won by John Reid, his Escort was 38 seconds ahead of Paul Staunton.

Apart from Kelly, retirements included John Donnelly (Escort WRC) and James Murphy (Escort Cosworth).

1. J. McCarthy/D. Maguire (Subaru Impreza) 48m. 34s.

2. E. Kinirons/G. Shinnors (Toyota Celica) 49m. 12s.

3. K. O'Kane/F. Regan (Subaru) 49m. 51s.

4. J. Shanahan/J. McLoughlin (Subaru) 50m. 10s.

5. B. McCloskey/D. Duffin (Escort WRC) 50m. 25s.

6. K. Lynch/M. McNicholl (Subaru WRC) 50m. 50s.

7. J. Reid/B. Green (Escort) 52m. 24s.

8. P. Staunton/B. Burgess (Escort) 53m. 04s.

9. N. Driver/J. Shinnors (Escort) 53m. 47s.

10. B. Lawlor/P. Kavanagh (Escort) 54m. 04s.

Nicholas and Philip Doherty (Peugeot 205) won the Munster Navigation Trial, the final navigation of the season held in Macroom.

1. N. Doherty/P. Doherty (Peugeot 205) 9 penalties.

2. K. O'Sullivan/J. Deasy (Primera) 29 penalties.

3. D. Creedon/M. O'Riordan (Corsa) 77 penalties.

In the Cavan Autocross, Ronnie Coulter (Astra) set the fastest time of the day, his Astra was some two seconds ahead of the Opel Tigra of Dessie Tierney.

1. R. Coulter (Astra) 4m. 18.53s.

2. D. Tierney (Opel Tigra) 4m. 20.59s.

3. M. Moffett (Peugeot 205) 4m. 21.73s.

More in this section

Price info

Subscribe to unlock unlimited digital access.
Cancel anytime.

Terms and conditions apply


Sat, Sept 25

Eire Og

PSFC Round 2


Sun, Sept 26

Clyda Rovers

SAFC Round 2


Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up