Donncha O’Brien blitzes Denis Wilmot in Clarke Cup at Derrinasafa

Donncha O’Brien made an explosive start to his Marshall Clarke Cup quarter-final clash with Denis Wilmot at Derrinasafa, which set him on the way to a comprehensive win.

Donncha O’Brien blitzes Denis Wilmot in Clarke Cup at Derrinasafa

His first two were critical in creating the platform for his win. His second was razor tight, but it got a perfect run. By contrast Wilmot got poor third and fourth shots which left him a bowl of odds down. O’Brien gave him no respite and when his fifth one brushed to sight at Ross, he was two bowls clear. He came home an easy winner by three bowls of odds.

Martin Coppinger beat Edmond Sexton in the last shot in the closely contested feature score of the North Cork- Gaeltacht fundraiser at Béal na Marbh on Sunday.

Sexton forged an early lead after two good bowls to sight. He built on this advantage with two more good throws, which had him almost a bowl of odds clear. He misplayed his fifth though, which put Coppinger back in the frame.

Coppinger exploited this and hit the front at the rock. He looked to be cruising on the straight but lost momentum when he missed sight at the last bend. Sexton seized this opening to cut the lead to a few metes for the last shot. His last bowl was wayward though and Coppinger had an easy target for victory.

Earlier brothers Denis and Chris Cronin had a double. Denis Cronin bowled brilliantly to beat Garret Burke by two bowls. Chris Cronin completed the double by beating Celestine Spillane Jnr in the last of the return score. Jerry Hubbard closed the series with a last shot win over Darren Burns, giving him three wins over two days.

The series opened at Clondrohid on Saturday. Liam McCarthy completed a double and Jerry Hubbard had the first two wins in his triple. McCarthy teamed up with Simon O’Connell to beat Darren Burns and Colm Drummy in the last shot. He then beat Drummy in the last shot of a singles score. Hubbard had two last-shot wins. In the first, he beat Dan Kelly and followed with a win over Joe Creedon.

Shane Shannon is on track to retain the Mikie Hourihane Cup after beating Muiris Buttimer and Finbarr Coughlan by a bowl of odds at Bauravilla.

Buttimer started best of the three, but didn’t build on the lead he gained with a super first shot. Shannon settled quickly and took the lead with his fourth to the netting. Coughlan found his feet too and pressed into second place. There was no deflecting Shannon though as he extended his lead to a bowl at the bridge. He held that lead to the line, with Buttimer second and Coughlan third.

Cian Boyle beat Dan O’Halloran in the last shot of the Ballinacurra semi-final. Although this was a relatively tight and exciting contest, both players made unforced errors. Boyle seemed to be taking control into the second half. O’Halloran raised his challenge and forced it to a last shot. Boyle will face either Seán Murphy or Kieran Murphy in the final.

Brendan O’Neill advanced in the Jagoes Mills tournament with a last-shot win over Mick Hurley. This was a close contest throughout, but O’Neill had an extra edge to bounce back from his defeat to Thomas Boyle the previous week at Ballinacurra.

Connie Connolly added another win to his good run when he beat Tommy Butler by a bowl at Ballinacarriga.

Declan O’Leary and Paddy Kinsella shared the spoils at Carraig na bhFear. O’Leary was trailing by close to two bowls in the first one, but fought back to take it in the last shot. The second score was on a knife edge too to the line, this time Kinsella got the verdict by two metres.

Both Eugene Murphy and Liam Lynch had good doubles. Murphy beat Michael Dwyer twice at Jagoes Mills. He won the first by a bowl and the second one in the last shot. Lynch had two wins over Noel Hegarty at the Bog Road, both in the last shot.

Paul Walsh scored a good last-shot win over recent Denis Trunwit Cup winner, Mick Murphy, at Ballinacurra. PJ McCarthy suffered a double defeat at the same venue. Michael Crean beat him and Tom Browne by a bowl in the first and then Browne beat McCarthy in the last shot.

David O’Connor, who holds both the Carbery U16 and U18 titles, successfully stepped up from underage to adult competition. He beat James Hurley at the Marsh Road. Barry O’Donovan beat Denis Murphy at the same venue. At Rosscarbery, Noel O’Regan beat Michael Mennis by a bowl.

Jim MacDonald was announced as the Armagh Construction Hall of Fame recipient for 2016 by the Ulster branch of Ból-Chumann at its annual awards dinner. He is the founder, secretary, and a life member of St Michael’s club in Newtownhamilton. The Munster annual awards dinner will be held later this month at Dunmore House.

More in this section

CourtsRoad BowlingSportPlace: DerrinasafaPlace: Béal na MarbhPlace: ClondrohidPlace: BallinacurraPlace: BallinacarrigaPlace: Carraig na bhFéarPlace: Bog RoadPlace: Marsh RoadPlace: RosscarberyPerson: Donncha O’BrienPerson: Denis WilmotPerson: DonnchaPerson: BrienPerson: WilmotPerson: O’BrienPerson: RossPerson: Martin CoppingerPerson: Edmond SextonPerson: SextonPerson: CoppingerPerson: DenisPerson: CHRIS CRONINPerson: Denis CroninPerson: Garret BurkePerson: Celestine Spillane JnrPerson: Jerry HubbardPerson: Darren BurnsPerson: Liam McCarthyPerson: McCarthyPerson: Simon O’ConnellPerson: Colm DrummyPerson: DrummyPerson: HubbardPerson: Dan KellyPerson: Joe CreedonPerson: Shane ShannonPerson: Muiris ButtimerPerson: Finbarr CoughlanPerson: ButtimerPerson: ShannonPerson: CoughlanPerson: Cian BoylePerson: Dan O’HalloranPerson: BoylePerson: O’HalloranPerson: Seán MurphyPerson: Kieran MurphyPerson: Brendan O’NeillPerson: Mick HurleyPerson: O’NeillPerson: Thomas BoylePerson: Connie ConnollyPerson: Tommy ButlerPerson: Declan O’LearyPerson: Paddy KinsellaPerson: O’LearyPerson: KinsellaPerson: Eugene MurphyPerson: Liam LynchPerson: MurphyPerson: Michael DwyerPerson: LynchPerson: Noel HegartyPerson: Paul WalshPerson: Denis Trunwit CupPerson: Mick MurphyPerson: PJ McCarthyPerson: Michael CreanPerson: Tom BrownePerson: BrownePerson: David O’ConnorPerson: James HurleyPerson: Barry O’DonovanPerson: Denis MurphyPerson: Noel O’ReganPerson: Michael MennisPerson: Jim MacDonaldEvent: Clarke CupEvent: Marshall Clarke Cup quarter-Event: - GaeltachtEvent: Mikie Hourihane CupEvent: BallinacurraOrganisation: Jagoes MillsOrganisation: CarberyOrganisation: Armagh Construction Hall of FameOrganisation: Ból-Chumann
ieStyle Live 2021 Logo
ieStyle Live 2021 Logo

IE Logo
Outdoor Trails

Discover the great outdoors on Ireland's best walking trails

IE Logo
Outdoor Trails

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up