PB gives Ciara Mageean perfect Rio send-off

Ciara Mageean gave herself the perfect send-off ahead of the Olympic Games by running a lifetime best of 2:00.79 at the Morton Games in Santry last night, the third fastest time in history by an Irishwoman.
PB gives Ciara Mageean perfect Rio send-off

The 24-year-old finished second in the women’s 800m behind Britain’s Alex Bell, who won in 2:00.53.

“That’s a huge positive before Rio,” said Mageean. “I’m a bit disappointed with second place and I was hoping to go a little bit faster there’s more to come. I know I can go a little bit faster. Sub-two is what it’s all about. That’s what I want.”

In the men’s 800m in Santry, Kevin McGrath broke the Irish youth record, running 1:48.89, while there was more good news for the Irish at the IAAF Diamond League meeting in London. Mark English bounced back to form by clocking 1:45.36 for 800m to finish eighth.

Further afield, a horde of Irish athletes broke new ground at the IAAF World U20 Championships in Bydgoszcz, Poland. The women’s 4x100m quartet of Molly Scott, Sharlene Mawdsley, Gina Akpe-Moses, and Ciara Neville finished second in their heat in 45.09 to advance to the final at 6:50pm Irish time today.

The Irish men’s 4x100m team of Sean Lawlor, Cillian Greene, Eoin Doherty, and Joseph Ojewumi smashed the national U20 record when finishing fifth in their heat in 40.48, which was not enough to advance.

Adam King broke his own national U20 hammer record by throwing 71.70m in the final, good enough for 11th.

Earlier in the day Mawdsley was disqualified after finishing second in her 200m heat in 23.78 for a lane infringement.

In other news, the Court of Arbitration for sport (CAS) yesterday dismissed the appeal of Irish marathon runner Sergiu Ciobanu against his non-selection for the Olympics on grounds of jurisdiction.

The arbitrator indicated that, had jurisdiction been established, the case would have been dismissed as he did not consider there was “any failure on behalf of Athletics Ireland to either follow or apply the relevant selection policy”.

Ciobanu released a statement which noted: “I fully respect the decision of CAS and wish each and every member of the Irish marathon team every success.”



1. Joe Morris (USA) 10.23, 2. Dentarius Locke (USA) 10.27, 3. Bismark Boateng (CAN) 10.40

IMC 800m A 1. Elliot Slade (Wales) 1:

47.70. 2. Kevin McGrath (Bohermeen) 1:48.89, 3. Niall Tuohy (Ferrybank) 1:49.18

800m 1. Kyle Langford (GBR) 1:

46.73, 2. Zak Curran (DSD) 1:46.78, 3. Shaquille Walker (USA) 1:46.79

800m wheelchair 1. Patrick Monahan 1:

48.38, 2. Jack Agnew 1:50.69, 3. Isaac Towers 1:50.93

IMC vs BMC 1500m 1. Jack Hallas (BMC) 3:

46.35, 2. Eric Keogh (IMC) 3:47.08, 3. Cameron Field (BMC) 3:47.83

Albie Thomas 3,000m 1. Johnny Taylor (GBR) 7:

56.06, 2. Richard Weir (GBR) 7:56.66, 3. Matt Bergin (DSD) 7:58.63

400m Hurdles men

1. Rhys Williams (GBR) 49.50, 2. Quincy Downing (USA) 49.88, 3. Christian Morton (NGR) 50.02

Pole Vault

1. Jeff Coover (USA) 5.57m, 2. Jack Phipps (GBR) 5.10, 3. Cameron Walker-Shepherd (GBR) 4.90m

High Jump

1. David Smith (GBR) 2.22m, 2. Milos Todosijevic (SRB) 2.18m, 3. Dion Ryan (IRL) 1.95m



1. Stephani Kalu (NGR) 11.60, 2. Niamh Whelan (Ferrybank) 11.72, 3. Joan Healy (Bandon) 11.73

800m 1. Alexandra Bell (GBR) 2:00.53,

2. Ciara Mageean (UCD) 2:00.79, 3. Baylee Mires (USA) 2:02.60

1 mile 1. Katie Mackey (USA) 4:

25.48, 2. Heather Kampf (USA) 4:27.33, 3. Cory McGee (USA) 4:28.55


1. Clare Fitzgerald (Tralee Harriers) 52.83m, 2. Sophie Parkinson Brown (Gowran) 43.11m 3. Emma Owens (St Paul’s) 36.91m

More in this section

athleticsolympicsplace: santryplace: londonplace: bydgoszczplace: usaplace: canplace: walesplace: bohermeenplace: gbrperson: ciara mageeanperson: alex bellperson: mageeanperson: kevin mcgrathperson: markperson: molly scottperson: sharlene mawdsleyperson: gina akpe-mosesperson: ciara nevilleperson: sean lawlorperson: cillian greeneperson: eoin dohertyperson: joseph ojewumiperson: adam kingperson: mawdsleyperson: sergiu ciobanuperson: ciobanuperson: joe morrisperson: dentarius lockeperson: bismark boatengperson: elliot sladeperson: niall tuohyperson: kyle langfordperson: zak curranperson: shaquille walkerperson: patrick monahanperson: jack agnewperson: isaac towersperson: jack hallasperson: eric keoghperson: cameron fieldperson: albie thomasperson: johnny taylorperson: richard weirperson: matt berginperson: rhys williamsperson: quincy downingperson: christian mortonperson: jeff cooverperson: jack phippsperson: cameron walker-shepherdperson: david smithperson: milos todosijevicperson: dion ryanperson: stephani kaluperson: niamh whelanperson: joan healyperson: alexandra bellperson: baylee miresperson: katie mackeyperson: heather kampfperson: cory mcgeeperson: clare fitzgeraldperson: sophie parkinson brownperson: emma owensevent: olympic gamesevent: morton gamesevent: rioevent: iaaf diamond leagueevent: iaaf world u20 championshipsevent: olympicsorganisation: pborganisation: court of arbitration for sportorganisation: casorganisation: athletics irelandorganisation: ferrybankorganisation: imcorganisation: bmcorganisation: srborganisation: irl

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up