Euro record smashed as Dafne Schippers wins

Dafne Schippers smashed the European record to win the world 200m title in 21.63 seconds at the IAAF World Championships in Beijing moving her to Number 3 on the world all-time 200m list.

Euro record smashed as Dafne Schippers wins

Elaine Thompson of Jamaica led the race for all of 195m before the Dutch sprinter surpassed her on the line taking the title in a time of 21.63 seconds to Thompson’s 21.66. Thompson’s time put her number 6 on the world all-time 200m list.

Veronica Campbell-Brown (Jamaica) took the bronze medal with a time of 21.97, while Candyce McGrone (USA) set a personal best of 22.01 in fourth. Great Britain’s Dina Asher-Smith ran a national record of 22.07 seconds in fifth.

Russia’s Sergey Shubenkov claimed the world 110m Hurdles title with a superb race and a national record of 12.98 seconds, his first sub-13 second run. World record holder Aries Merritt, who will be having a kidney transplant in a couple of days time ran a season’s best of 13.04 for bronze, with Jamaica’s Hansle Parchement snatching silver by 1/100th of a second in 13.03.

Great Britain’s Tiffany Porter lead for most of the women’s 100m Hurdles final before being upstaged by Jamaican Danielle Williams who took the title in 12.57 seconds, with German Cindy Roleder in second in 12.59 and Bulgaria’s Alina Talay third in 12.66.

USA’s Tianna Bartoletta took the long jump world title with a dramatic final effort of 7.14 metres. Bartoletta, who previously won the world title 10 years ago in Helsinki and trained in Dublin in 2011, was sitting in third going into the final round. Britain’s Sarah Proctor claimed silver with 7.07m and Serbia’s Ivana Spanovic won bronze with 7.01m.

The “world’s best athlete” Ashton Eaton sits comfortably clear at the top overnight in the decathlon with 4703 points – 173 points to spare over Canada’s Damian Warner, with Germany’s Rico Freimuth in third. Eaton set a decathlon world record in the 400m with a blistering run of 45.00 seconds. His USA teammate Trey Hardee withdrew from the competition after sustaining an injury during the long jump.

Earlier in the day Hong Liu won China’s first gold of the championships in the 20km Race Walk in 1:27:45 with Xiuzhi Lu also winning silver for the host nation recording the same time. Lyudmyla Olynovska (Ukraine) in 1:28:13.

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up