Murphy and McCarthy strike for Demons

Basketball: C & S Blue Demons 62 Moycullen 59: President’s Cup Final: Three-pointers from David Murphy and Shane McCarthy sealed a famous win for C & S Blue Demons over Moycullen in a magnificent President’s cup final.

It proved a memorable day for Demons’ former Castleisland star Dan Griffin who finished twith 18 points and was named MVP.

Scorers for C & S UCC Demons: Dan Griffin 18, Andrew Fitzgerald 14, Shane McCarthy 12.

Scorers for Moycullen: Dylan Cunningham 20, Ronan O’Sullivan 11, Stephen O’Brien 9.

MOYCULLEN: R Gilson, K Cunningham, S O’Brien, C McNairney, J Loughnane, S Candon, D Mulkeerrins, R O’Sullivan, J Tummon, D Cunningham, I Cunnigham, I Burke, P Freeman, G Lyons.

C& S BLUE DEMONS: C Duggan, S Lynch, A Fitzgerald, S McCarthy, L Carmody, R Murphy, B O’Neill, S Rodgers, R McGowan, M O’Leary, N Browne, D Murphy, D Griffin, G O’Leary.

Referees: Maciek Nazimek (Dublin), Paul Dempsey (Dublin), Emma Perry (Dublin).

MVP: Dan Griffin (C& S Blue Demons).

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Home Delivery


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.