Boxing: Casey steps closer to claiming Elite title

Limerick’s Myles Casey advanced to within one win of becoming the first St Francis BC boxer since Jimmy Moore and current WBO World middleweight champion Andy Lee to claim an Elite title last night.

Boxing: Casey steps closer to claiming Elite title

Moore beat Paddy Barnes — the last time Barnes was beaten at an Irish Championships — in the 2006 light-fly final, a year after Lee claimed his final middleweight crown before turning pro with the Detroit Kronk.

Casey, a brother of ex European pro champion and World title challenger Willie “Big Bang”, beat Antrim’s TJ Waite on a unanimous decision to set up next Friday’s clash with Evan Metcalfe.

Metcalfe saw off the challenge of Adam Courtney in a fiery all-Dublin derby at the home of Irish boxing last evening.

Kristina O’Hara, Kurt Walker, Sean Higginson, Joanne Lambe, Dervla Duffy and ex-Elite champion Sean McComb and defending light-welter champion Dean Walsh also had their hands raised in victory last night.

But ex-European Youth champion Gary Cully crashed out of the tournament at the last-four stage after dropping a unanimous decision to George Bates.

Meanwhile, London 2012 Olympian Darren O’Neill, a four-time Elite champion at middleweight, will make his Elite debut at heavyweight against John Joe McDonagh at the National Stadium tonight.

Irish Youth Olympian Christina Desmond has received a walkover into the welterweight final after Tina Donnelly withdrew from tonight’s 69kg last-four meeting.

Desmond now awaits either Jillian Duffy or European Elite bronze medallist Claire Grace, who is ranked No. 8 in the world by AIBA, in the welter final next Saturday. Tonight’s semi-finals begin at 7pm tonight.

Elsewhere, Olympic bronze medallists Paddy Barnes and Michael Conlan will line out for Italia Thunder versus Baku Fires in the World Series of Boxing (WSB) in Baku, Azerbaijan tonight.

Seventeen direct Olympic places are up for grabs in the WSB this season.

51kg Kristina O’Hara (Emerald) beat Elaine Harrison (Ballina) 3-0

52kg Myles Casey (St Francis) beat TJ Waite (Cairn Lodge) 3-0

52kg Evan Metcalfe (Crumlin) beat Adam Courtney (St Marys) 3-0

56kg Kurt Walker (Canal) beat Jamie Higgins (St Brigids) 3-0

56kg Sean Higginson (St John Bosco) beat Anthony O’Rawe (Braid) 3-0

57kg Joanne Lambe (Carrickmackross) beat Moira McElligot (Rathkeale) 3-0

57kg Dervla Duffy (St Brigids/DF) beat Carly McNaul (Holy Trinity) 2-0

60kg Sean McComb (Holy Trinity) beat Gerard Matthews (St Pauls Antrim) 3-0

60kg George Bates (St Marys Dub) beat Gary Cully (St Davids Naas) 3-0

64kg Dean Walsh (St Ibars) beat Patrick Mongan (Olympic) 3-0

More in this section

ieStyle Live 2021 Logo
ieStyle Live 2021 Logo

IE Logo
Outdoor Trails

Discover the great outdoors on Ireland's best walking trails

IE Logo
Outdoor Trails

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Execution Time: 0.238 s