Sexton wins Timoleague thriller

Seamus Sexton beat Pat Butler by a bowl in a brilliant Munster intermediate championship quarter-final at Timoleague.

This was on a knife-edge through the early stages, with several lead changes. Butler had five metres odds after five to Bateman’s, Sexton led after seven, but Butler took a big lead with a great ninth to O’Leary’s avenue.

Sexton levelled with his next, but Butler pushed almost a bowl clear after a great 12th. Sexton fought back with three huge bowls. The first to sight at Deasy’s had him back in contention and he raised a bowl with his next two to just short of the line.

Willie O’Donovan also secured his place in the semi-final when he beat Michael Bohane at Macroom. In the semi-final, he plays PJ Cooney at Carrigaline, while Sexton will play the winner of Friday’s clash between Donal Riordan and Dave Fitzgerald.

Jerry Murphy will represent Munster in the All-Ireland veteran final after two good wins to claim the Munster Junior veteran title against Bernie Chambers, and the overall final against Connie Connolly at Bauravilla. Connolly was in contention to Dekkers, but Murphy increased the intensity from there and won comfortably.

Murphy beat Bernie Chambers in the Junior Veteran final at Kildee.

Connolly beat Eddie Buckley by over a bowl in the Novice Veteran final at Castletownkenneigh. Connolly was almost two clear at the second cross and was over two in front at the triangle. Buckley got a great bowl from there to bring the lead under two and gradually cut it back to just over a bowl. Connolly steadied things again and increased his lead to win by more than a bowl.

Ger O’Driscoll and Michael O’Callaghan (Munster) won the Michael Cusack Cup at the Thurles Sarsfields Festival of Gaelic Sport. A big second last shot from O’Driscoll turned a tight final against Joe O’Malley and Kevin McGinn (Connacht). They beat Conor Grimley and Kevin Cullen (Ulster) in the semi-final. Louth (Donal Lucey, Noel Carr, Eamonn Nugent) won the inaugural John Enright Shield.

The pairings for the Munster Junior A championship semi-finals are Peter Nagle versus John Cahalane at Shannonvale and Patrick Butler against Sean Murphy at Carrigaline.

At Macroom, Peter Nagle beat Humphrey O’Leary in the last shot. O’Leary started well but his form dipped to the gap and Nagle hit back. Nagle led with a great bowl towards Glasheen cross. A nice touch with his bowl at the cross gave him a vital advantage for the final shots.

In his quarter-final at the clubhouse, John Cahalane had things his own way against Kieran O’Driscoll.

Patrick Butler was locked in a very close contest with Darren Oliver for most of their quarter-final at Templemartin, breaking the deadlock from the monument to win comfortably.

Claire O’Sullivan beat Emer O’Donovan by almost a bowl in the Munster intermediate final at Kildee.

Stephen O’Shea won the Munster U16 final against Michael Faulkner at Ballinacurra. After a blip, O’Shea regained the bowl with a great throw to Brinny cross and romped home in three more to win by almost two.

The impressive Patrick Flood beat Anthony Lynch by two bowls in the Munster U12 final at Donoughmore.

In the senior women’s Munster quarter-final, Emma Fitzpatrick came with a late surge to beat Catriona Kidney in the last shot at Jagoes Mills.

Fitzpatrick plays Megan Collins in the semi-final at Ballinacarriga, while defending champion Carmel Ryan plays Geraldine Daly at Killumney.

James O’Donovan beat Raymond Ryan in the Mick Barry Cup at Ballincurrig and Andrew O’Leary advanced in the Jim O’Driscoll Cup at the expense of Nicholas Carey.

More in this section

CourtsPlace: TimoleaguePlace: MacroomPlace: CarrigalinePlace: BauravillaPlace: KildeePlace: CastletownkenneighPlace: ShannonvalePlace: TemplemartinPlace: BallinacurraPlace: DonoughmorePlace: Jagoes MillsPlace: BallinacarrigaPlace: KillumneyPlace: BallincurrigPerson: SextonPerson: Séamus SextonPerson: Pat ButlerPerson: ButlerPerson: DeasyPerson: Willie O’DonovanPerson: Michael BohanePerson: PJ CooneyPerson: Donal RiordanPerson: Dave FitzgeraldPerson: Jerry MurphyPerson: Bernie ChambersPerson: Connie ConnollyPerson: ConnollyPerson: MurphyPerson: Eddie BuckleyPerson: BuckleyPerson: Ger O’DriscollPerson: Michael O’CallaghanPerson: O’DriscollPerson: Joe O’MalleyPerson: Kevin McGinnPerson: Conor GrimleyPerson: Kevin CullenPerson: Donal LuceyPerson: Noel CarrPerson: Eamonn NugentPerson: Peter NaglePerson: John CahalanePerson: Patrick ButlerPerson: Seán MurphyPerson: Humphrey O’LearyPerson: O’LearyPerson: NaglePerson: Kieran O’DriscollPerson: Darren OliverPerson: Claire O’SullivanPerson: Emer O’DonovanPerson: Stephen O’SheaPerson: Michael FaulknerPerson: O’SheaPerson: Patrick FloodPerson: Anthony LynchPerson: Emma FitzpatrickPerson: Catriona KidneyPerson: FitzpatrickPerson: Megan CollinsPerson: Carmel RyanPerson: Geraldine DalyPerson: James O’DonovanPerson: Raymond RyanPerson: Andrew O’LearyPerson: Nicholas CareyEvent: All-Ireland veteranEvent: Munster juniorEvent: Junior Veteran finalEvent: Novice VeteranEvent: Michael Cusack CupEvent: Thurles Sarsfields FestivalEvent: Munster Junior A championshipEvent: MunsterEvent: Munster U16Event: Munster U12Event: Munster quarter-Event: Mick Barry CupEvent: Jim O’Driscoll CupOrganisation: DekkersOrganisation: MunsterOrganisation: Ulster
ieStyle Live 2021 Logo
ieStyle Live 2021 Logo

IE Logo
Outdoor Trails

Discover the great outdoors on Ireland's best walking trails

IE Logo
Outdoor Trails

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up